Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans
Español    Idaho.gov    About Us    Contact Us  

Frequently Asked Questions

Please refer to the information and links below. If you can't locate the information you're looking for, please use the contact information at the bottom of this page.

Important Note: You will need Adobe Reader in order to view some answers. Answers which require Adobe Reader are identified by this icon:
To download Adobe Reader, click here: Get Adobe Reader 

$25 Collection Fee
The Federal Budget Deficit Reduction Act (BDRA) of 2005 requires each state to pay a $25 fee on each case that receives over $500 in child support collections within a federal fiscal year.  Effective October 1, 2007, Child Support Services began charging the $25 fee to the parent who is court ordered to pay support.  This fee is charged on each of the parent's cases that qualify.

The federal rule for this fee is contained in the Budget Deficit Reduction Act 2005 as amended under sections 454 (6) (b) of the Social Security Acts, codified at 42 United States code 654 (6) (b) (ii) and the Idaho State Administrative Rule 16.03.03.304.05.

See Frequently Asked Questions for further information on the $25 Collection Fee.

 How Are Federal Tax Refunds Attached?
Federal Tax Refund AttachmentClick here for Federal Tax Refund Attachment information.

How Are State Tax Refunds Attached?
State Tax Refund AttachmentClick here for State Tax Refund Attachment information.

How Can I Have My License Reinstated (or Stop the License Suspension Process?)
Child Support Services begins the process to suspend a parent’s drivers, occupational, or Fish and Game license when he or she owes more than $2,000.00 or the equivalent of three months child support.

A license is reinstated or the process to suspend a license is stopped when the parent signs a repayment agreement with Child Support Services. The parent must comply with the terms of the repayment agreement or Child Support Services will once again begin the process to suspend his or her license(s).

A lien has been filed against my property, how is a Lien Removed?
When Child Support Services files a lien against a parent, he or she is unable to sell any property (real estate) in Idaho until the lien is removed. Liens are filed when a parent . . .

  • Owes $2,000.00 or the equivalent of three months child support, and
  • Owns real estate in Idaho.

All liens are filed with the Idaho Secretary of State.  When a lien is filed, the parent is notified. Liens are removed only when all child support debts are paid or when the child support case is closed. 

To have a lien removed immediately, pay the total amount of child support you owe with cash, a money order, cashier’s check, or online credit card payment.  If you pay the debt using a personal check, it may take up to 30 days to process the payment and remove the lien.

Can Child Support Services Make Sure a Parent Pays Child Care or Medical Costs?
If the total amount of past due child care or medical costs are identified in a child support order, Child Support Services can help make sure that amount, called a “judgment”, is paid.

Child Support Services can help make sure a parent pays child care costs if the child support order sets a specific dollar amount for such costs.  If the order does not provide a specific dollar amount for child care, or does not mention child care costs, Child Support Services cannot help.

Can Child Support Services Make Sure Spousal Support is Paid?
Child Support Services can help make sure spousal support is paid only under the following circumstances:

  • Spousal support is included in the child support order,
  • The child lives with the parent to whom spousal support is owed, and
  • Child support is still due each month.

Can I refuse to put information about my husband on my child's birth certificate?
If you, the child’s biological mother, and your husband (or ex-husband) do not complete an acknowledgment form and you refuse to list your husband’s information, Vital Statistics places your child’s birth certificate in a pending file. Vital Statistics does not register the birth certificate and they cannot issue copies until your child’s paternity is resolved.

Can I sign an acknowedgment if I do not live in Idaho or if our child was not born in Idaho?
Yes. If your child was born in Idaho, the father’s name will be added to your child’s birth certificate. If the child was not born in Idaho, contact the Vital Records office in the state where your child was born for instructions.

Can we complete an acknowledgement form before our baby is born?
Yes. Complete the entire form, except the space for the baby’s first and middle names. The baby’s last name must be agreed upon. Each signature must be notarized. The mother must take this form with her to the hospital when the baby is born and give it to the hospital staff member who completes the birth certificate information. The acknowledgment form is attached to the baby’s birth record and filed with Vital Statistics.

How Can I Make Payments?
You can make a payment online by clicking here. You can also mail a personal check or money order to:
Idaho Child Support Services Receipting
PO Box 70008
Boise, ID 83707-0108

To make sure payments are applied correctly, please write the name of the other parent and the case number, if available, in the notes section of the check or money order.

If you pay child support to more than one family, include any special instructions with the check or money order.If you do not indicate how you wish the money to be distributed, or if the families have all requested Child Support Services, payments will pay all current child support obligations, then any past due child support.

How Can I Stop Receiving Monthly Statements?
As a courtesy, Child Support Services sends a monthly statement to parents who are ordered to pay child support. The statements indicate the amount due for the current month and any payments received during the previous month.

If you do not wish to receive monthly statements, contact Child Support Services at (208) 334-2479. If you are outside the Boise area, call 1-800-356-9868.

I married the other parent after our baby was born. What do we need to do to establish legal fatherhood?
You may still sign the acknowledgment form.  Or, if the mother would like her married name on the birth certificate or the parents want to change the child’s last name, the Acknowledgment of Paternity and Subsequent Marriage Affidavit (HWH0142) may be completed to establish the child's paternity and change the mother's and/or the child's last name on the child's birth certificate. The form is available at Vital Statistics or Child Support Services.

My child is in Foster Care and no Court Order for child support exists, what actions will CSS take?
As a parent, you are legally responsible for financially supporting your child, even if you are not living together.  If your child is, or will be, in foster care for more than one month, Child Support Services will work with you to establish a child support order — if one does not already exist — then collect support to help pay for the cost of care for the time your child is away from home. 

If a Child Support Order Does Not Exist
Child Support Services will work with you to establish a child support order.  The amount of child support you pay is based on Idaho Supreme Court guidelines.  These guidelines consider the income of both parents and the number of children each parent supports.  Each parent is responsible to pay a share of the total amount required to raise their children.

When a child lives with one parent, that parent’s share is considered to be paid by supporting the child in the home. The other parent is ordered to pay his or her share of the child’s support to the custodial parent.

When a child is placed in foster care, both parents pay child support to help cover the cost.

My child is in Foster Care, a child support order exists, what actions will CSS take?
As a parent, you are legally responsible for financially supporting your child, even if you are not living together.  If your child is, or will be, in foster care for more than one month, Child Support Services will work with you to establish a child support order — if one does not already exist — then collect support to help pay for the cost of care for the time your child is away from home. 

If a Child Support Order Already Exists
If you were ordered to pay child support before your child was placed in foster care, continue to pay the amount indicated in your child support order.  Mail all payments to:

Idaho Child Support Receipting
P.O. Box 70008
Boise ID 83707-0108

You can also make a payment online.
Child Support Services will record the payment and send the money to the agency providing care for your child.
To make sure you get credit for every payment; write your name, Social Security number, and your child’s name on your check or money order.  If more than one child is listed in the child support order, and not all of the children are in foster care, contact Child Support Services for instructions.

If either parent feels the order should be modified because of a change in circumstances, such as a change in income or to accommodate special needs of the child, he or she may request that Child Support Services review the order to determine whether a modification is appropriate.

What Happens When Monthly Child Support Ends?
Your child support order indicates when child support is no longer due.  If the child support order lists more than one child, but does not indicate how the child support obligation changes when one or more of the children turns 18 or 19 years old, it may be necessary to change the child support order. 

If a parent owes past due child support when he or she is no longer ordered to pay monthly child support, Child Support Services continues to take action to make sure past due child support is paid until the youngest child’s 23rd birthday, or, in some cases, even longer.

What if a Parent Pays Child Support to More Than One Family?
When a parent has more than one Child Support case, the money is applied in the following order:

  1. Pay child support owed for the current month. 
    If the amount of the payment is not enough to pay the total child support owed to the family, the money is distributed on a percent-of-total basis.  For example, if a parent owes $60 to one family and $40 to another, the first family receives 60% of each payment and the other family receives 40%.
  2. Pay past due child support. 
    If the parent owes past due child support to more than one family, the money is distributed on a percent-of-total basis.
  3. Pay amounts owed to the state if the custodial parent received cash benefits.
    There is one exception.  Payments received by intercepting tax refunds are used to pay debts owed to the state before applying payments owed to the family.  Money received by intercepting tax refunds cannot be used to pay the current month’s child support.

What if I am not 18 years old yet or I am still in school?
You should establish legal fatherhood and finish high school. Discuss this issue with your parents or a guardian before you sign the acknowledgement. We realize you cannot work a full-time job and concentrate on classes, but you do need to help support your child.  You, and perhaps your parents, may be required to pay a reasonable amount of child support.  After you graduate, you can help more.

What if I Get Called to Active Duty?
If you are ordered to pay child support and get called to active duty, contact Child Support Customer Service and provide the following information:

  • Branch of military,
  • Activation date, and
  • A telephone number where you can be reached.

Contact Child Support Customer Services at (208) 334-2479.  If you are outside the Boise area, call 1‑800‑356‑9868.

Child Support Services issues a new income withholding order to the military branch.  This helps avoid any lapse in support to your children while you serve our country.

What if the Parent Who Lives With the Child Receives State Benefits (Cash, Food, Medical)?
If a parent who lives with the child receives benefits from the state; such as cash, food stamps, or medical benefits, Child Support Services automatically becomes involved to make sure the other parent provides financial and medical support.

The parent who receives benefits must cooperate with Child Support Services to continue receiving benefits. Fees are not charged to parents who receive benefits from the state.

If State medical benefits pay for the birth of your child, Child Support Services will ask a judge to order the other parent to pay for part or all of the birth costs.

Why Must I Send Payments to Child Support Services?
State and federal laws require all child support payments to be paid through Child Support Services.  Child Support Services keeps records of each child support payment.  Courts consider this to be the “official payment record.” 

If payments are not sent through Child Support Services, parents may later disagree about how much was paid or whether the payments were child support payments, a gift, or payment something other than child support.  Paying child support through Child Support Services can avoid conflict and confusion. 

 

 


Contact Child Support Services:

Mail your Child Support payments:

Toll free: 1-800-356-9868
Boise area: 334-2479 
Fax: (855) 349-2408
e-mail Child Support Services

Idaho Child Support Receipting Services
P.O. Box 70008
Boise, Idaho  83707-0108