Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans
Español    Idaho.gov    About Us    Contact Us  

Other Services

Child Support Services can help to help make sure children receive financial and medical support from both parents in a variety of ways. Before we can help you, please complete an application to apply for services. A $25 application fee is due with the application. The application fee is waived when the child receives public assistance.

The $25 Budget Deficit Reduction Act (BDRA) fee is assessed annually to a parent obligated to pay support when Child Support Services processes more than $500 in payments for a case. This fee is due each federal fiscal year, meaning that the year is counted beginning in October instead of January. Parents who have a MyChildSupport account or who provided Child Support Services an email address receive an email when this fee is assessed on a case. Other parents receive a letter with the same instructions on how to pay this fee.

Locate the other parent

If you have lost contact with the other parent, Child Support Services may be able to find the other parent. To ensure that children are supported by both parents, Child Support Services can access resources that may provide information about where the other parent lives or works. This information may be used to enforce a court order.

Make sure medical support is provided

Providing medical insurance coverage is another part of raising children. Child Support Services can enroll children on a parent’s medical insurance policy, available through their employer at a reasonable cost, if the parent was ordered to provide medical coverage.

Establish a legal bond between your child and his or her other parent

If you were not married to the other parent when your child was born, a legal bond may not yet exist between your child and his or her father. This legal bond, called paternity, is necessary to establish a child support obligation and benefits children in many other ways. Child Support Services can help establish legal fatherhood. If you are not sure who is the father, genetic testing is available.

Establish child support obligations

If you do not have a child support order, we can help you with the legal process to get an order. Child support obligations are based on Idaho Supreme Court Guidelines. These guidelines take into account each parent’s income and how many children they support. There are some fees for legal services, but these services are generally provided for less than hiring a private attorney.

Make sure child support is paid

Once a child support order exists, Child Support Services can help make sure the order is followed. Child Support Services has access to information about parents’ income and assets and may take actions such as withholding income, intercepting tax refunds, suspending licenses, or reporting debts to credit agencies.  

Make sure child care or medical costs are paid

Child Support Services can help make sure a parent pays child care and medical costs if the child support order sets a specific dollar amount for such costs. If the order does not provide a specific dollar amount for child care or medical costs, does not mention these costs, or does not specify that Child Support Services collects these costs, Child Support Services cannot help.

If an amount owed toward child care or medical costs is specifically listed in the support order, Child Support Services can help make sure that amount, or judgment, is paid.

Make sure alimony is paid

In the following circumstances, Child Support Services can help collect spousal support:

    • Spousal support is included in the child support order,
    • The child lives with the parent to whom spousal support is owed, and
    • Child support is due each month.

Alimony is collected and paid along with the monthly child support obligation.

Change a child support order

Sometimes, a family’s situation changes so much that an existing child support order needs to be changed. Unless major changes have occurred, Child Support Services will not review child support orders until it has been three years since the order was signed, changed, or last reviewed to determine whether it should be modified to better reflect your family’s current situation. If so, Child Support Services can help you through the process to change your order.

Work with other child support agencies to enforce an order

When a parent lives in another state or country, or when an order was created in another state, Child Support Services works with the other agency to provide consistent service.

Fees for services

There is a $25 fee to process an application and open a case. Additional fees are charged if legal action is needed or if fees are charged to Idaho Child Support Services. To help make payment easier, these fees (except the application fee) are usually subtracted from child support payments before child support payments are sent to parents.

The $25 Budget Deficit Reduction Act (BDRA) fee is assessed annually to a parent obligated to pay support when Child Support Services processes more than $500 in payments for a case. This fee is due  each federal fiscal year, meaning that the year is counted beginning in October instead of January. Parents who have a MyChildSupport account or who provided Child Support Services an email address receive an email when this fee is assessed on a case. Other parents receive a letter.

If you have further questions, you can view a complete list of fees.

Customer service is always available

We understand that child support is important to your family. Contact Customer Service to ask questions or provide any new information. The automated voice response system is available 24 hours a day and can:

    • Provide general information about Child Support Services;
    • Provide some specific information about your case, such as if you have received a payment; and
    • Allow you to leave a message for a case manager.

You can speak with a customer service representative during business hours.

You can reach Child Support Customer Services by calling (208) 334-2479. If you are outside the Boise area, call 1-800-356-9868.

You can make payments online at any time. You can also view a payment history from MyChildSupport whenever it is convenient for you.