Scope of Practice, Floor Skills, and Optional Modules Print

  • Describes what interventions a licensed individual legally can and cannot do.
  • Idaho’s SoP is established by the EMS Physician Commission (EMSPC).

Learn More: EMSPC Standards Manual

  • Four separate but related activities:

-    Education (trained to do)

-    Certification (certified as competent)

-    Licensure (state licensed to practice)

-    Credentialing (agency medical director)

  • The skills and interventions that all personnel of a certain license level can perform. 
  • The fundamental skills at each level that define the minimum standard of service.
  • Floor skills are marked with an “X” in the SoP grid.
Learn More: EMSPC Standards Manual

  • Optional skills that can be authorized by an agency’s medical director.
  • Optional modules are marked with an “OM” in the SoP grid.
Learn More: EMSPC Standards Manual

  • The agency medical director chooses to incorporate OMs.
  • Agency must: report patient care, submit addendum to medical supervision plan MSP) indicating which OMs will be implemented, and submit verification of OM credentialing to the EMS Bureau.

Learn More: EMSPC Standards Manual > pg 14       
                 Idaho EMS Webpage > Education > Optional Modules

  • OMs are independent of the scope transition. 
  • Transitioning does not automatically give an agency authority to implement OMs.
  • Even if currently authorized to use OMs, providers will still have to transition before practicing the new SoP.
  • There are some select OMs that will become floor skills in the new scope (see below).
  • EMR-2011: Tourniquet
  • EMT-2011: Pulse Oximetry, Asprin, Epi Auto Injector
  • AEMT-2011: Pulse Oximetry, Intraosseous-Adult, IM medication admin, Subcutaneous medication admin, Aspirin, Epi Auto Injector, Glucagon
  • Paramedic: BiPAP, CPAP, PEEP-Therapeutic, Blood Chemistry Analysis, Maintenance of Blood Admin
Learn More: EMSPC Standards Manual > SoP Grid, Appendix A