2018-19 GUIDE TO IMMUNIZATIONS REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL ENTRY m
|
Pres ChO 01 & Grade S K—12

REFERENCE Section 39-4801, Idaho Code; Idaho Administrative Procedures Act (Administrative Code), IDAPA 16,
Title 02, Chapter 15 “Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children.”

INSTRUCTIONS Post this guide on a wall or desktop as a quick reference to help you determine whether children
seeking admission to your school meet Idaho’s school immunization requirements. If you have any
guestions, contact the Idaho Immunization Program or visit www.immunizeidaho.com.

IMMUNIZATION To enter or transfer into public or private schools, all children in preschool and grades K-12 must
REQUIREMENTS meet immunization requirements outlined below at registration and before attendance. No child
shall attend school without proof of immunization status.

MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ENTRY

Immunization Requirement by Age Doses of Vaccines Required

4) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)
1) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
3) Polio

3) Hepatitis B

Children born on or before September 1, 1999 must have a
minimum of:

Children born after September 1, 1999 through September
1, 2005 must have a minimum of:

5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)?
2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
3) Polio

3) Hepatitis B

5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, Pertussis (DTaP)?
2) Measles, Mumps, and Rubella (MMR)
4) Polio®

3) Hepatitis B

2) Varicella (Chickenpox)*

2) Hepatitis A

7" GRADE IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

Immunization Requirement by Grade® Doses of Vaccines Required

Children born after September 1, 2005* must have a
minimum of:
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Children admitted to 7" grade must meet the following
minimum immunization requirements in addition to school
entry requirements:

(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap)
(1) Meningococcal

1. Preschool children need only be age-appropriately immunized with the required vaccines.

2. DTaP: The 5t dose is not necessary if the 4t dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.

3. Polio: The 4™ dose is not necessary if the 3" dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
For children born after 9/1/2005, at least one dose of polio should be given at age 4 years or older.

4. Varicella: History of chickenpox disease documented by a physician or licensed health care professional meets the requirement.

5. 7th Grade Requirements: These requirements apply to all 7t"- 12" grade students.

EXEMPTIONS Idaho law allows a parent/guardian to claim an exemption from immunization requirements for their
child for medical, religious, or other reasons. A medical exemption requires the signature of a
licensed physician and certification that the child has a medical condition which prevents him or her
from receiving required vaccinations. It is recommended that exemptions for religious or other
reasons be documented on the form provided for school use by the Idaho Department of Health and
Welfare Immunization Program and available at www.ImmunizeldahoSchools.com. Parents may also
claim a school immunization exemption by providing a signed written statement to school officials.
Schools should maintain an up-to-date list of pupils with exemptions so they can be excluded quickly
if an outbreak occurs.
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CONDITIONAL The Schedule of Intended Immunizations Form is required by IDAPA 16.02.15 to document the

ADMISSION intended immunization schedule of a child who has not received all required immunizations for
school admission. To be eligible for conditional admission, a child must have received at least one
dose of each required vaccine and currently be on schedule for subsequent immunizations following
the intervals listed below. Failure to receive still-needed doses of required vaccines as indicated on
the Schedule of Intended Immunizations Form will result in exclusion of the child from school until
the child is back on schedule with no required vaccine doses due.

ABBREVIATED CATCH-UP IMMUNIZATION SCHEDULE*

(for full version, visit www.immunizeidaho.com)

Minimum Minimum Interval Between Doses
Vacci Age f
accine Dii:; Dose 1 to Dose 2 Dose 2 to Dose 3 Dose 3 to Dose 4 | Dose 4 to Dose 5
DTaP 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months'
Polio 6 wks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months?
MMR 12 mo 4 weeks
Hepatitis B Birth 4 weeks 8 weeks®
Varicella 12 mo 3 months
Hepatitis A 12 mo 6 months

DTaP: The 5™ dose is not necessary if the 4t dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
Polio: The 4t dose is not necessary if the 3™ dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous dose.
Hep B: Minimum age for the 3 dose is 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after first dose.

To enter the 7t grade, students are required to have one dose of Tdap and one dose of Meningococcal vaccine; because a child must
have received at least one dose of each required vaccine to be eligible for conditional admission, Tdap and Meningococcal are not
included on the Idaho Conditional Admission to School form.
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DOCUMENTATION All children must present a valid immunization record to school officials, unless exempted.

What is it? A valid immunization record is an electronic medical health record, an immunization
registry document, or a written immunization certificate confirmed (signed, stamped, or provided
on official letterhead) by a licensed health care professional which states the month, day, and year
of each immunization a child has received. A record with check marks instead of dates or saying
only “up-to-date,” “all requirements met,” or “series complete” is inadequate and should not be
accepted. The record must show that all required vaccine doses have been received and minimum
ages and intervals have been met. Laboratory proof of immunity to a disease for which a vaccine is
required is valid and meets the requirement for that disease. For varicella, a statement by a licensed
health care professional indicating the child has had chickenpox disease meets the requirement.

Who must present it? The parent/guardian of a child in preschool and grades K-12 must present
proof of immunization status to the school official.

When must it be presented? The parent/guardian must present the proof of immunization status at
the time of registration and before attendance for a child entering or transferring into preschool
and grades K-12.

What do schools do with it? School staff must carefully review the record to ensure that all
requirements have been met and retain a hardcopy of the record on file at the school.
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