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About the Preschool Immunization Requirement 
 
 

What is considered “preschool”? 

According to the Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children (IDAPA 16.02.15), 
preschool is defined as: 
 

Preschool.  The provision of education for children before the commencement of statutory 
and obligatory education, differing from traditional daycare in that the emphasis is learning 
and development rather than enabling parents to work or pursue other activities. 
Preschools may include, but are not limited to, federally-funded Head Start centers, state-
funded preschools, government-funded special education programs, public school 
preschool programs, and for-profit and not-for profit preschool programs. 
 

Please note that licensed daycare facilities offering preschool, but not meeting the definition of 
preschool above, should refer to the Immunization Requirements for Children Attending Licensed 
Daycare Facilities (IDAPA 16.02.11). 

 

What are the preschool immunization requirements? 

According to IDAPA 16.02.15, preschool students must be age-appropriately immunized with the 
required school vaccines.  This means that preschool students, who are oftentimes 3-4 years of age, 
are only required to meet the preschool age-deadlines in the table below.  The following age-
deadlines do NOT apply to students in grades K-12.  Students in grades K-12 must have proof of 
receiving all required immunizations at the time of registration and before attendance.   
 
The table below outlines the preschool age-deadlines to obtain the required vaccine doses:   
 

Preschool Age-
Deadlines to 

Obtain 
Required 

Vaccine Doses 

Required Shots According to Idaho Law 
All doses must meet the minimum age and interval 

DTaP Polio MMR 
Hepatitis 

B 
Varicella 

Hepatitis 
A 

3 months 1 1  1   

5 months 2 2  2   

7 months 3      

16 months   1  1 1 

19 months 4 3  3   

2 years      2 

7 years (or 
school entry) 51 42 2  2  

1. The 5th dose of DTaP is not necessary if the 4th dose was administered on or after the 4th birthday. 
2. The 4th dose of polio is not necessary if the 3rd dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at 

least 6 months following the previous dose. 


