GUIDE TO THE IDAHO IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR

Child Care

REFERENCE

ITdahno

Immunization
Program

Section 39-1118, Idaho Code: Idaho Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 02,
Chapter 11 “Immunization Requirements for Children Attending Licensed Daycare Facilities in Idaho.”

INSTRUCTIONS

Post this guide on a wall or desktop as a quick reference to help you determine whether children
seeking admission to your child care facility meet Idaho’s school immunization requirements. If you
have any questions, contact the Idaho Immunization Program or visit www.immunizeidaho.com.

IMMUNIZATION
REQUIREMENTS

Parents/guardians must present their child’s immunization record to the child care provider within
14 days of the child’s initial attendance. To attend a licensed child care facility in Idaho, a child must
receive the required immunizations outlined below no later than the age-deadline specified.

SUMMARY OF IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS

Age-Deadline Required Shots According to Idaho Law
to Obtain All doses must meet minimum ages and intervals
Required Doses | prgp« Polio MMR Hep B ActHIB! PedvaxHIB!
3 months 1 1 1 1 1
5 months 2 2 2 2 2
7 months 3 3
16 months 1 4 3
19 months 4 3 3
7 years 5 2

* 4 doses of DTaP meet requirement if at least one dose was given on or after the 4" birthday.
T Number of Hib doses required depends on the vaccine type (ActHIB or PedvaxHIB) administered.

CONDITIONAL Children who lack one or more required vaccine doses that are not currently due may be admitted on
ADMISSION the condition that they receive the remaining dose(s) when due, according to the catch-up schedule
below. If the minimum time interval between doses has passed and the needed dose is not received,
the child must be excluded until the next immunization is obtained.
Vaccine Minimum Age Minimum Interval Between Doses
for Dose 1 Dose 1 to Dose 2 | Dose 2 to Dose 3 | Dose 3 to Dose 4 | Dose 4 to Dose 5
MMR 12 months 4 weeks
DTaP 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months 6 months
Polio 6 weeks 4 weeks 4 weeks 6 months
Hepatitis B Birth 4 weeks 8 weeks*
Hib 6 weeks varies’ varies' varies’
* Minimum age 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after dose 1
T Minimum intervals for Hib vary based on the age of the child and vaccine type; please refer to www.immunizeidaho.gov
EXEMPTIONS Idaho law allows a parent/guardian to claim an exemption from immunization requirements for their

child based on religious or personal beliefs. A medical exemption will be granted for those children
who present a letter from their physician stating that the child has a medical condition preventing
them from receiving required vaccinations. The law does not allow parents/guardians to claim an
exemption because the shot record is lost or incomplete, or because it is too much trouble to contact
the physician or clinic and obtain a copy. For children with an exemption, a sighed exemption form
(available through the Idaho Immunization Program) or physician letter must be on file for the child
(Section 39-4802, Idaho Code). Facilities should maintain an up-to-date list of pupils with
exemptions, so they can be excluded quickly if an outbreak occurs.
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