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August 31, 2012

Dear Idaho Vaccines for Children (VFC) Provider:

Currently pediatric vaccine supplied by the Idaho Immunization Program (lIP) can be used to vaccinate
children 0 through 18 years of age. Due to a change in funding from the Centers for Disease Control and
Prevention (CDC), beginning October 1, 2012, state-supplied vaccine can no longer be used for the
following populations:

e Insured children who are not residents of Idaho
e Children who have TRICARE as their only insurance

Insured children who do not live in Idaho may be vaccinated with privately purchased vaccine or
referred to their state of residence for immunizations. Pediatric vaccine supplied by the IIP may no
longer be used to vaccinate insured children who are not Idaho residents.

Patients insured by TRICARE only may also be vaccinated with privately purchased vaccine or may be
referred to a military base. Pediatric vaccine supplied by the IIP may no longer be used to vaccinate
these children.

In addition, private providers may no longer supply pediatric vaccines received by the IIP to
underinsured patients 0 through 18 years of age. Underinsured children may still receive state-supplied
vaccine at Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHC), Rural Health Centers (RHC), or deputized VFC
providers. Due to the changes in CDC'’s policy, only Public Health Districts (PHD) will be deputized after
October 1, 2012. The Delegation of Authority, currently in place for all VFC providers in Idaho, will be
valid through September 30, 2012. Idaho’s Immunization Assessment Statute (Idaho Code 39-48)
requires insurance carriers to pay into a Dedicated Vaccine Assessment fund for all children under 19
years of age who are Idaho residents. Vaccines are covered for all insured children who reside in Idaho.
Because of the Immunization Assessment, Idaho children with private health insurance benefits will not
be considered underinsured for the purpose of state-supplied pediatric vaccine.

Included with this letter are frequently asked questions about TRICARE, out-of-state insured children,
and underinsured children. The frequently asked questions are designed to help you ensure state-
supplied vaccines are administered only to eligible populations. Please take some time to review the
documents.
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Finally, the table below can be used as a quick reference to determine who may receive pediatric
vaccines supplied by the IIP.

. From
Who Can Receive State-Supplied F’::‘;v':;';’fste FQHCs/RHCs/
Pediatric Vaccines in Idaho? PHDs*
YES NO YES NO
Idaho-resident children 0 through 18 years of age, regardless 4 v
of VFC eligibility
Out-of-state VFC-eligible children 0 through 18 years of age 4 4
- Uninsured
- Medicaid
- American Indian/Alaska Native
Underinsured out-of-state children 0 through 18 years of age 4 v
Insured out-of-state residents v v
Children 0 through 18 years of age insured by TRICARE only v v

*FQHC=Federally Qualified Health Center; RHC=Rural Health Center; PHD=Public Health District

The IIP is working with Washington State health officials to see if a solution can be found to allow Idaho
providers to vaccinate insured Washington children. If your offices see a significant number of
Washington children, you will receive a call from the IIP with additional information. If you have any
guestions regarding the enclosed information, please contact the IIP by phone (208) 334-5931 or by
email lIP@dhw.idaho.gov.

The Idaho Immunization Program staff would like to thank you for your continued participation in the
Idaho Vaccines for Children Program. The work you do to help protect the health of Idaho’s children is
appreciated.

Thank you,

Mitch Scoggins, MPH
Program Manager
Idaho Immunization Program

Enclosures
Frequently Asked Questions about TRICARE, Out-of-State Insured Children,
and Underinsured Children
Who Can Receive State-Supplied Pediatric Vaccines in Idaho? Table
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Frequently Asked Questions
TRICARE, Out-Of-State Insured Children, and Underinsured Children

(Answers to the questions listed below can be found on pages 2 — 5)

Who may receive state-supplied vaccines?

Who may not receive state-supplied vaccines?

Who is eligible for the Idaho Immunization Assessment vaccine supplied by the IIP?
Who is eligible for VFC vaccine supplied by the IIP?

Why can we no longer provide state-supplied vaccine to children who have only TRICARE
insurance?

How is “Idaho resident child” defined?
A new family in my practice just moved to Idaho this week. Are they residents of Idaho?

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho, but is insured by Blue Cross of Oregon. Can | use
state-supplied vaccine for him?

A child in my practice is a resident of Oregon, but is insured by Blue Shield of Idaho. Can | use
state-supplied vaccine?

A child in my practice is a Washington resident, is enrolled in Medicaid, and has private
insurance. Can she receive state-supplied vaccine?

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho and is insured by both TRICARE and Blue Cross.
Can | use state-supplied vaccine?

I want to continue to provide vaccines for children covered by TRICARE and non-ldaho
children who have insurance. How can | do that?

I mistakenly administered a dose of state-supplied vaccine to a child who is covered by
TRICARE. What do | do?

We saw a patient in our office three months ago and he was eligible for VFC vaccine. Do we
need to check his eligibility again today?

My practice used to have a “Delegation of Authority” agreement which allowed us to
vaccinate underinsured children. Is this agreement still in effect?

How is “Deputization” defined?
Who is considered underinsured for the Vaccines for Children (VFC) program?

One of my out-of-state patients has an insurance plan with a $5,000 deductible, but it will
cover vaccines once the deductible is met. He has not yet met that deductible for this year
and would have to pay out-of-pocket for his vaccines today. Is he underinsured?

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho and is privately insured. Do | need to confirm
whether or not her policy covers vaccines?

A child in my practice is a resident of Montana and is insured. Do | need to confirm whether
or not her policy covers vaccines?

Can an underinsured child receive state-supplied vaccine in Idaho?
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Frequently Asked Questions
TRICARE, Out-Of-State Insured Children, and Underinsured Children

Who may receive state-supplied vaccines?

Patients eligible for the federal Vaccines for Children (VFC) program and children eligible for the
Idaho Immunization Assessment may receive state-supplied vaccines from the Idaho
Immunization Program.

Who may not receive state-supplied vaccines?

Insured children who are not residents of Idaho and children who have TRICARE as their only
insurance may not receive state-supplied vaccines from the Idaho Immunization Program.

Who is eligible for the Idaho Immunization Assessment supplied by the IIP?

Any child, natural or adopted, who is under 19 years of age, whose custodial parent or legal
guardian resides in Idaho, and who is not eligible for the federal Vaccines for Children program
is eligible for the Idaho Immunization Assessment.

Who is eligible for VFC vaccine supplied by the IIP?

A child is eligible for the VFC Program if he or she is younger than 19 years of age and is one of
the following:

e Enrolled in Medicaid

e Uninsured

e American Indian or Alaska Native

e Underinsured

0 A child who has commercial (private) health insurance but the coverage does not

include vaccines, a child whose insurance covers only selected vaccines (VFC-eligible for
non-covered vaccines only), or a child whose insurance caps vaccine coverage at a
certain amount. Once that coverage amount is reached, the child is categorized as
underinsured. Underinsured children are eligible to receive VFC vaccine only through a
Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), Rural Health Clinic (RHC), or Public Health
District (PHD)

Why can we no longer provide state-supplied vaccine to children who have only TRICARE
insurance?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) provides funding for most vaccines
provided through the state immunization program. The CDC no longer allows federal funds to
be used to purchase vaccines for children with insurance. ldaho has a system where insurance
carriers are “assessed” a fee for Idaho-resident children covered by their plans. TRICARE, the
national military insurer, does not pay into this insurance assessment, nor do insurance
companies pay into the assessment for children who are not residents of Idaho. There is no
funding mechanism to pay for state-supplied vaccines for non-resident insured children, or for
the children covered by TRICARE. If your practice wishes to provide vaccines to these children,
then you must privately purchase those vaccines and bill insurance for the cost of the vaccine.
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Frequently Asked Questions
TRICARE, Out-Of-State Insured Children, and Underinsured Children

How is “ldaho resident child” defined?

If the child’s residence address is in Idaho, then that child is an Idaho resident. Also, if the child
resides outside of Idaho, but at least one of the child’s parents or guardians resides in Idaho,
then that child can be treated as an Idaho resident.

A new family in my practice just moved to Idaho this week. Are they residents of Idaho?

Yes. As soon as the family has an Idaho address they can be considered Idaho residents for the
purposes of the vaccine program.

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho, but is insured by Blue Cross of Oregon. Can | use
state-supplied vaccine for him?

Yes. Almost any insured Idaho resident child can receive state-supplied vaccine regardless of
where their insurance is from. The exception is a child covered only by TRICARE insurance; he is
not eligible for state-supplied vaccine.

A child in my practice is a resident of Oregon, but is insured by Blue Shield of Idaho. Can | use
state-supplied vaccine?

No. Even though the insurance carrier is from Idaho, the child resides outside of Idaho and is
fully insured. State-supplied vaccine may not be used.

A child in my practice is a Washington resident, is enrolled in Medicaid, and has private
insurance. Can she receive state-supplied vaccine?

Yes. If a child is eligible for the Vaccines for Children (VFC) program then she can receive state-
supplied vaccine regardless of state residency.

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho and is insured by both TRICARE and Blue Cross.
Can | use state-supplied vaccine?

Yes. As long as the child has another insurance plan in addition to TRICARE, then he or she is
eligible for state-supplied vaccine.

I want to continue to provide vaccines for children covered by TRICARE and non-ldaho
children who have insurance. How can | do that?

You may maintain a separate supply of privately purchased vaccine for children covered by
TRICARE or for insured children from out-of-state. Insurance may be billed for this vaccine.
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Frequently Asked Questions
TRICARE, Out-Of-State Insured Children, and Underinsured Children

I mistakenly administered a dose of state-supplied vaccine to a child who is covered by
TRICARE only. What do | do?

You must privately purchase a dose of the same vaccine and replace the misused dose. You
must also complete and submit the Vaccine Replenishment Report available on the IIP
Healthcare Provider page at www.immunizeidaho.com. The form is available under “Provider

Forms” on the right side of the screen.

We saw a patient in our office three months ago and he was eligible for VFC vaccine. Do we
need to check his eligibility again today?

Yes. VFC eligibility must be checked and documented at every immunization visit.

My practice used to have a “Delegation of Authority” agreement which allowed us to
vaccinate underinsured children. Is this agreement still in effect?

No. For private providers all Delegation of Authority agreements will end on October 1, 2012.
New CDC rules regarding Deputization (formerly call Delegation of Authority) go into effect on
October 1, 2012. Only Federally Qualified Health Centers, Rural Health Centers, and Public
Health Districts can administer state-supplied vaccine to underinsured children.

How is “Deputization” defined?

Deputization is an extension of authority to vaccinate underinsured Vaccines for Children (VFC)
eligible children from Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) and Rural Health Clinics (RHCs)
to other VFC providers. Extension of this VFC authority is intended to provide underinsured
VFC-eligible children with greater access to VFC vaccines.

Who is considered underinsured for the Vaccines for Children (VFC) program?

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) define underinsured as “a child who has
commercial (private) health insurance but the coverage does not include vaccines, a child whose
insurance covers only selected vaccines (VFC-eligible for non-covered vaccines only), or a child
whose insurance caps vaccine coverage at a certain amount. Once that coverage amount is
reached, the child is categorized as underinsured.”

Idaho’s Immunization Assessment Statute (Idaho Code 39-48) requires insurance carriers to pay
into a Dedicated Vaccine Assessment fund for all children under 19 years of age who are Idaho
residents. Vaccines are covered for all insured children who reside in Idaho. Because of the
Immunization Assessment, Idaho children with private health insurance benefits will not be
considered underinsured for the purpose of state-supplied pediatric vaccine.
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Frequently Asked Questions
TRICARE, Out-Of-State Insured Children, and Underinsured Children

One of my out-of-state patients has an insurance plan with a $5,000 deductible, but it will
cover vaccines once the deductible is met. He has not yet met that deductible for this year
and would have to pay out-of-pocket for his vaccines today. Is he underinsured?

No. Having not met his plan’s deductible is not considered underinsurance.

A child in my practice is a resident of Idaho and is privately insured. Do | need to confirm
whether or not her policy covers vaccines?

Because Idaho’s Immunization Assessment Statute (Idaho Code 39-48) requires that insurance
companies pay into the Dedicated Vaccine Assessment fund for all children under 19 years of
age who are ldaho residents, vaccines are covered for all insured children residing in Idaho.
State-supplied vaccine can be used without confirming benefits in this case.

A child in my practice is a resident of Montana and is insured. Do | need to confirm whether
or not her policy covers vaccines?

State-supplied vaccine cannot be used for an insured Montana resident. If you are going to
administer privately purchased vaccine and you need to know if the child’s insurance will
reimburse your office, then you need to confirm benefits.

If you are trying to decide whether to refer the child to a Montana vaccine source, or to a Public
Health District (PHD), Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), or Rural Health Center (RHC) in
Idaho, then you will need to confirm benefits. If the child is underinsured, then she should be
referred to an Idaho PHD, FQHC, or RHC, or to a provider in Montana. Fully insured, non-ldaho
residents may not receive pediatric vaccines supplied by the Idaho Immunization Program.

Can an underinsured child from another state receive state-supplied vaccines in Idaho?

An underinsured child (0 through 18 years of age) can receive state-supplied vaccines at a Public
Health District (PHD), Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC), or Rural Health Center (RHC).
An underinsured child cannot receive state-supplied vaccines from a private medical provider.
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Sl Tdaho Who Can Rec.ewe From Private FQHl(:Z;c/)rI:HCs/
ooy State-Supplied Providers PHDs*
Pediatric Vaccines in Idaho? [ ves [ NO YES NO

Idaho-resident children 0 through 18 years of age, regardless v v
of VFC eligibility
Out-of-state VFC-eligible children 0 through 18 years of age v v

- Uninsured

- Medicaid

- American Indian/Alaska Native
Underinsured out-of-state children 0 through 18 years of age v v
Children 0 through 18 years of age insured by TRICARE only 4 4
Insured out-of-state residents v v
*FQHC=Federally Qualified Health Center; RHC=Rural Health Center; PHD=Public Health District
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Fold on the line.
Post as a reference.




