
Division of Medicaid 
Administration of Licensing & Certification 
Certified Family Home Program 
 

 

Certified Family Homes 
 
Q&A Regarding Application and Certification Fees  
 
Q: Why is the Department pursuing application and certification fees for Certified 

Family Home (CFH) providers? 
 
A: The Department is pursuing this because it received legislative direction to do so.  House 

Bill 260 directed this change.  This bill was passed by the legislature and signed into law 
by the Governor.  The 61st Idaho Legislature had to address a reduction of about $34.5 
million in state general funds allocated to the Medicaid program.  Their solution is 
detailed in House Bill 260.  The approach was to preserve as many Medicaid benefits as 
possible, even those that were optional, including the Certified Family Home Program.  
Cuts were targeted in various ways for various programs.  While no cuts were made 
specifically to the CFH Program, funding for operation of the program was shifted from 
state general funds directly to CFH providers, reflected in application and certification 
fees.  

 
Q: Are CFH providers the only entities targeted for certification fee? 
 
A: While HB 260 only handled the funding shortfall in this way for the CFH program, this 

approach may be adopted for other programs in the future. 
 
Q: Are the application and certification fees part of temporary rules, or have they been 

signed into law? 
 
A: House Bill 260 was signed into law on sine die of the 2011 legislative session: April 7, 

2011. 
 
Q: What do the application and certification fees pay for? 
 
A: The one-time application fee of $150 pays for orientation training, training materials, 

consultation, and an on-site inspection of the home proposed as a Certified Family Home.  
The orientation fee should cover all Department expenses up to moving a resident into 
the home. 

 
 The monthly certification fee of $25 pays for personnel and operating costs to run the 

Certified Family Home Program.  The CFH team is tasked with protecting the health and 
safety of Idahoans residing in Certified Family Homes.  The team consists of seven (7) 
Medical Program Specialists based in various regions throughout the state, one (1) 
Program Manager, and one (1) Administrative Assistant.  Among their duties, they are 
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responsible for conducting recertification surveys for 2,200 CFHs at least biannually, 
investigating complaints, writing reports of their findings, reviewing plans of correction, 
issuing certificates, initiating enforcement actions, approving placements, considering 
waivers, providing consultation, and assisting providers with the necessary tools and 
resources to be successful.  

 
Q: I currently operate a CFH in good standing.  Will I have to go through orientation 

again, and be assessed the $150 application fee? 
 
A: No.  All CFH providers who are currently certified will not be assessed the $150 

application fee, nor will they be required to undergo orientation training again. 
 
Q: What if I move?  Will I have to pay the $150 application fee to be certified at my 

new residence? 
 
A: No.  The application fee only applies to new prospective CFH providers.  
 
Q: With respect to the $25 per month certification fee, can I pay $300 for the year and 

not have to mess with a quarterly statement? 
 
A: Yes.  All payments should be sent to the Central Revenue Unit at P.O. Box 5579, Twin 

Falls, ID  83303-5579.  The Department will invoice all CFH providers on a quarterly 
basis.  If you opt to pay more than the invoiced amount, additional invoices will be 
immediately created and the remaining amount applied to them.  Providers who have paid 
for the entire year will be designated in the system as “paid in full”, and no further 
invoices will be created for the year. 

 
Q: When are my certification fees due? 
 
A: The invoice will list the payment due date at thirty (30) days from the billing date.  If 

payment has not been received when the Revenue Unit invoices for the next quarter, the 
names of those providers will be forwarded to the Certified Family Home Program and 
processed for further action. 

 
Q: What happens if I don’t pay the certification fee? 
 
A: Nonpayment of certification fees will be cause for revocation of the provider’s CFH 

certificate.  An outside agency may be used to collect unpaid fees or bounced checks. 
 
Q: What if I cease operating my CFH?  Will I be refunded the certification fee? 
 
A: Yes, depending on the date you cease operation.  The Department will consider the fee 

refundable if the home operates for 15 days or less during the month.  Thus, if a provider 
pays $75 for the quarter, covering the months of July, August, and September, and ceases 
operation on August 16, the provider will be refunded $25 for September.  Requests for 
refunds should be made to the CFH Program Manager. 
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