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General 
Q1.  Do I need to notify the state when I make changes at my ASC (such as 

changes of ownership, changes in location, etc.)?  
 
A1.  Yes.  Most change processes can be found on the Non-Long Term 

Provider's page of the BFS web site. 
 
Q2.  What is the survey frequency for ASCs in Idaho?  
 
A2.  ASCs are surveyed per the direction of CMS.  Current CMS direction can be 

found in the ASC survey process section of the Non-Long Term Provider's 
page of the BFS web site. 

 
Q3.  Are ASCs licensed in the State of Idaho?  
 
A3.  No.  In the State of Idaho, ASC are Federally Certified only.   
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§416.2 Definitions  
 
Q1.  What are the separation requirements for an ASC that shares a 

physical location with a physician’s office?  
 
A1.  The regulation at Q02 addresses distinct entity requirements for ASCs.  

Additional information can also be found in the CMS Survey and 
Certification letter S&C-10-20-ASC, dated May 21, 2010.  

 
Q2.  If an ASC is within a physician’s office, must it have a separate 

entrance?  
 
A2.  No.  The ASC and the physician office must be separate entities and have 

separate waiting rooms but they may share a common entrance.   
 
Q3.  Are there any time limits for surgeries in ASCs?  
 
A3.  Yes.  In accordance with Q02, an ASC means any distinct entity that 

operates exclusively for the purpose of providing surgical services to 

http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Providers/ProvidersFacilities/StateFederalPrograms/NonLongTermCare/tabid/427/Default.aspx
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Providers/ProvidersFacilities/StateFederalPrograms/NonLongTermCare/tabid/427/Default.aspx
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Providers/ProvidersFacilities/StateFederalPrograms/NonLongTermCare/tabid/427/Default.aspx
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Providers/ProvidersFacilities/StateFederalPrograms/NonLongTermCare/tabid/427/Default.aspx
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Portals/0/Medical/LicensingCertification/2010-05%20ASC%20Waiting%20Area%20Separation%206-30-2010%20ATTACHMENT.pdf
http://www.healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Portals/0/Medical/LicensingCertification/2010-05%20ASC%20Waiting%20Area%20Separation%206-30-2010%20ATTACHMENT.pdf
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patients not requiring hospitalization and in which the expected duration of 
services would not exceed 24 hours following an admission.  
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§416.40 Condition for Coverage: Compliance with State 

Licensure Laws  
 
Q1.  Must a health facility employee report suspected child abuse, or is the 

legal obligation restricted to observed acts?  
 
A1.  The reporting requirement extends to health care workers “having reason to 

believe” that a child has been abused, neglected or abandoned, as well as 
those who observe conditions or circumstances [Idaho Code 16-1619 (a)].  
Therefore, a health facility employee and anyone else who suspects or 
observes abuse, is required to report.   
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§416.41 Condition for Coverage: Governing Body and 

Management  
 
Q1.  Are CRNAs required to register with the DEA if they intend to 

independently administer controlled substances, or do CRNAs needed 
such a registration only if they intended to prescribe? 

 
A1.  A CRNA may not independently administer, dispense, or prescribe 

controlled substances without being registered with DEA. 
 

Title 21 CFR §130l.22(b) states: "(b) An individual practitioner who is an 
agent or employee of another practitioner (other than a mid-level 
practitioner) registered to dispense controlled substances may, when acting 
in the normal course of business or employment, administer or dispense 
(other than by issuance of prescription) controlled substances if and to the 
extent that such individual practitioner is authorized or permitted to do so by 
the jurisdiction in which he or she practices, under the registration of the 
employer or principal practitioner in lieu of being registered him/herself.'' 
 
Although this regulation does allow an agent or employee of a DEA 
registered practitioner, including a CRNA, to administer or dispense (but not 
prescribe) a controlled substance without having to obtain a separate DEA 
registration while acting in the normal course of business or employment, it 
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is important to note that ''administer," as defined in 21 USC §802(2), places 
limits on the actions of this agent or employee: 
 
''(2) The term 'administer' refers to the direct application of a controlled 
substance to the body of a patient or research subject by (A) a practitioner 
(or, in his presence, by his authorized agent), or (B) the patient or research 
subject at the direction and in the presence of the practitioner, whether such 
application be by injection, inhalation, ingestion, or any other means." 
 
Consequently, if a CRNA intends to administer a controlled substance, and 
said administration will not be in the presence of the practitioner, then the 
CRNA is independently administering a controlled substance and therefore 
must be separately registered with DEA prior to any such administration. 
 
For additional information regarding the DEA's Diversion Control Program, 
please visit the website at www.DEAdiversion.usdoj.gov. 
 
Furthermore, in addition to DEA registration, a CRNA must also obtain a 
Controlled Substance Registration from the Idaho Board of Pharmacy. 

 
Q2.  Are physicians required to have admitting privileges at a hospital in 

the event that a patient requires emergency medical care beyond the 
capabilities of the ASC?   

 
A2.  No.  The Federal regulation at Q42 requires the ASC to have a written 

transfer agreement with an appropriate hospital or ensure that all physicians 
performing surgery in the ASC have admitting privileges at an appropriate 
hospital. 
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§416.42 Condition for Coverage: Surgical Services  
 
Q1.  Is Idaho exempted from the requirement for physician supervision of 

CRNAs in accordance with Q-0063? 
 
A1.  Yes. CMS was notified of Idaho's election for a state exemption as of March 

8, 2002.    
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§416.43 Condition for Coverage: Quality Assessment and 

Performance Improvement  
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§416.44 Condition for Coverage: Environment  
 
Q1.  Can surgical blades marked "single-use" be reprocessed?   
 
A1.  In accordance with the interpretive guidance at Q241, some devices marked 

for single use can be reprocessed.  However, the single use device must be 
sent to an FDA-approved vendor for reprocessing. 

 
Q2.  How often does operating room equipment need to be inspected?    
 
A2.  Per the interpretive guidance at Q101, the OR equipment must be 

inspected, tested and maintained by the ASC in accordance with Federal 
and State law (including regulations) and manufacturer's recommendations. 

 
Q3.  What is the acceptable humidity level for ORs? 
 
A3.  CMS expects ASCs to follow the instructions for use for the sterile supplies 

and electro-medical equipment used in the operating rooms.  For additional 
information, please refer to the CMS S&C 15-27 letter, dated 2/20/15. 

 
Q4.  What emergency equipment is required in an ASC? 
 
A4.  No specific list of emergency equipment is specified in the regulations.  

However, as stated in the interpretive guidance at Q105, the ASC is 
expected to maintain a comprehensive, current and appropriate set of 
emergency equipment, supplies and medications that meet current 
standards of practice and are necessary to respond to a patient emergency 
in the ASC. 

Q5.  There is a recommendation for ACLS renewal, but no actual expiration date.  
What are the regulatory requirements for ACLS renewal?  

 
A5.  The Interpretive Guidance at Q105 states "The ASC must provide the 

appropriate emergency equipment and supplies and qualified personnel 
necessary to meet the emergency needs of the ASC’s entire patient 
population in accordance with acceptable standards of practice in the ASC 
industry. Acceptable standards of practice include adhering to State laws as 
well as standards or guidelines issued by nationally recognized professional 
organizations, etc…"  
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 If the facility chooses not to follow the ACLS renewal recommendation, the 
facility's policies must include what the facility has determined to be an 
appropriate renewal timeframe and the reasoning behind the decision.   

 
Q6.  Is there a standard or CfC that covers TV monitors stating that all 

equipment, including monitors in ORs and other locations in patient care 
areas of health care facilities have to be listed/labeled for the intended use 
and therefore need to be listed/labeled for health care use or listed as a part 
of a system that is listed/labeled for health care use (e.g. part of a digital 
viewing system by a vendor)? 

 
A6.  The Federal regulations include the Q100 Condition For Coverage: 

Environment at 416.44.  The regulations under that Condition require “Each 
operating room must be designed and equipped so that the types of surgery 
conducted can be performed in a manner that protects the lives and assures 
the physical safety of all individuals in the area.”  Further, the Interpretive 
Guidelines at §416.44(a)(1) states “…Operating rooms must be designed in 
accordance with industry standards for the types of surgical procedures 
performed in the room...”  Listings become a concern with LSC when they 
are in the patient care vicinity and the cord is connected to the patient or 
when it does not have a grounded plug.  Electrical equipment within the 
patient care vicinity would be reviewed to ensure it is grounded and checked 
for the latest biomed testing label to ensure it is regularly checked for safety 
and current leakage by bio medical staff. 
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§416.45 Condition for Coverage: Medical Staff  
 
Q1.  How often do reappraisals need to be done? 
 
A1.  The regulations do not specify a specific timeframe.  However, the 

interpretive guidance at Q122 states "CMS recommends a reappraisal at 
least every 24 months." 
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§416.46 Condition for Coverage: Nursing Services  
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Q1.  Would having a CRNA caring for a patient who is receiving anesthesia 
meet the nursing staffing requirements if no other patients are in the 
ASC?    

 
A1.  The regulations require the ASC to have an RN available at all times a 

patient is in the ASC.  In the scenario described, only one patient is being 
cared for.  The regulations are silent about the specific situation in question.  
CMS believes the intent of the regulation to have an RN immediately 
available for emergency responses would be met by the CRNA in the case 
described.  If any other patients were receiving care in any other part of the 
ASC, a second RN would be necessary; as the CRNA would not be 
immediately available should an emergency arise with the second patient.   

 
Q2.  The CMS requirements state "There must be a registered nurse available 

for emergency treatment whenever there is a patient in the ASC." Would it 
be acceptable to have a PA in place of the RN?  

 
A2.  No.  The regulation at Q141 specifically requires an RN. 
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§416.47 Condition for Coverage: Medical Records  
 
Q1.  Is there a specific form that needs to be used for operative reports? 
 
A1.  No.  The Federal regulation at Q162 specifies what information is required to 

be in the medical records, but does not prescribe a specific form which must 
be used. 
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§416.48 Condition for Coverage: Pharmaceutical Services  
 
Q1.  Are Physician's Assistants (PAs) considered licensed independent 

practitioners for the purposes of medication administration?   
 
A1.  No.  In accordance with the Idaho Board of Medicine rules governing PAs 

(IDAPA 22.01.03), PAs are not licensed independent practitioners in Idaho 
as they are an agent of, and work under the supervision of, a licensed 
physician.  The supervising physician must review patient care with the PA 
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at least monthly and periodically review a representative sample of records 
completed by the PA. 

 
 Additionally, there must be a Delegation of Service Agreement. This 

agreement defines the services (scope of practice) that the supervising 
physician has agreed to delegate to the PA and should be consistent with 
the expertise and regular scope of practice of the supervising physician. 

 
 
Q2.  Is there a standard stating how long multi-dose vials are good for after 

they are opened?  
 
A2.  Yes.  United States Pharmacopeia (USP) 797: Guidebook to 

Pharmaceutical Compounding - Sterile Preparations, Second Edition, 
6/01/08, states if a multi-dose vial has been opened or accessed, the vial 
should be dated and discarded within 28 days unless the manufacturer 
specifies a different date for that opened vial.   

 
Q3.  Do controlled substances need to be double locked?  
 
A3.  No.  The ASC regulation at Q180 requires drugs and biologicals to be stored 

in a safe manner.  When determining effective controls and procedures to 
prevent against diversion of controlled substances the Idaho Board of 
Pharmacy and the DEA both use any or all of the security requirements set 
forth in CFR §1301.72-1301.76. 

 
 CFR, §1301.75(b) states that controlled substances in Schedules II-V shall 

be stored in a securely locked, substantially constructed cabinet. There is no 
specific requirement that mandates a “double lock & key.” However, access 
of controlled substances is to be restricted to a minimum number of 
authorized individuals.  Recognizing that unauthorized individuals may need 
to access locked medication rooms, nurses' stations, or other drug storage 
room locations, it is logical to further restrict the controlled substances within 
the drug storage room; thus the “double lock and key” expression. 

 
Q4.  Are CRNAs required for the administration of Propofol when it is used 

for moderate or conscious sedation? 
 
A4.  No.  In accordance with the interpretive guidance at Q101, a physician or 

other qualified member of the medical staff acting within their scope of 
practice must issue an order for all drugs or biologicals administered in the 
ASC. The administration of the drugs or biologicals must be by, or under the 
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supervision of, nursing or other personnel in accordance with applicable 
laws, standards of practice and the ASC's policies. 

 
 The Idaho Board of Nursing Rules do not expressly prohibit RNs from 

administering moderate or conscious sedation.  A trained RN, under the 
direct supervision of a qualified physician or anesthesiologist, can administer 
moderate or conscious sedation if the RN has no other duties than to 
monitor the patient and the ASC's policies permit it.  

 
Q5.  Is there any guidance regarding the appropriate disposal of 

medications?  
 
A5.  Yes.  Both the FDA and DEA include drug disposal information. 
 
Q6. Due to drug shortages, we are not always able to replace emergency 

medications when they expire.  The expired medications are kept until 
they can be replaced as even expired medications are better than 
having nothing during an emergency situation.  Will this practice 
always result in a citation?  

 
A6.  No.  In cases of medication shortages, the facility must have documentation 

regarding their attempts to obtain the medication and a plan in place to 
address a prolonged shortage.  For additional information on current drug 
shortages, please refer to the Drug Shortage Index can be found on the 
FDA website. 

 
Q7.  Is it acceptable for meds to be drawn from multi-dose vials in the OR, as this 

is a patient care area?   
 
A7.  Typically, it is not acceptable for multi-dose vials to be drawn in the OR.  

However, the regulation at Q181 requires drugs to be prepared and 
administered according to established policies and acceptable standards of 
practice.  There are specific situations that include the use of multi-dose 
vials in the patient care area as a standard of practice. For example, the use 
of multi-dose eye drops administered using the APIC "No touch method" is a 
nationally recognized standard of practice.  The facility policies would be 
required to reflect the nationally recognized standard and periodically review 
its use to ensure the method continued to be recognized and accepted.  
Additionally, the facility is required to continuously monitor and evaluate the 
practice to ensure it is being implemented correctly and safely as part of the 
facility's total infection control and QAPI programs.   

 
Q8.  Are ASCs required to label saline bags and tubing?   

http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/BuyingUsingMedicineSafely/EnsuringSafeUseofMedicine/SafeDisposalofMedicines/ucm186187.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/ResourcesForYou/Consumers/BuyingUsingMedicineSafely/EnsuringSafeUseofMedicine/SafeDisposalofMedicines/ucm186187.htm
http://www.fda.gov/Drugs/DrugSafety/DrugShortages/ucm050792.htm
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A8.  While it is always good practice to date and time the saline bag, the 

regulation at Q180 states the ASC must provide drugs and biologicals in a 
safe and effective manner.  For a time-limited procedure where the saline is 
not adulterated for a specific patient and the IV is not going to infuse over an 
extended time period, labeling may not be required as long as the saline 
was being administered safely and effectively.  Additionally, the practice 
would be required to be incorporated into facility policy and reflective of 
nationally recognized standards of practice.    
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§416.49 Condition for Coverage: Laboratory and Radiology 

Services 
 
Q1.  How often does radiology equipment need to be inspected?  
 
A1.  Per the interpretive guidance at Q202, radiology equipment must be 

inspected in accordance with manufacturer’s instructions, Federal and State 
laws, regulations, and guidelines, and facility policy. 

 
Q2.  Are dosimetry badges and shielding required when using fluoroscopic 

equipment?   
 
A2.  Yes.  The Federal regulation at Q202 requires radiologic services meet 

professionally approved standards for safety.   
 
 Additionally, the Idaho Radiation Control Rules (IDAPA 16.02.27) require the 

use of dosimetry badges and shielding of operators unless they can 
demonstrate that under normal usage there would be no (zero) exposure to 
operators of said equipment.  Zero exposure would need to be established 
by using dosimetry for a one year period with no exposure recorded.  Only 
then would a written exemption be issued which would be kept on file at the 
facility. 

 
Q3.  Does the State of Idaho have standards in place for the receiving of 

Allografts for surgical procedures in an ASC?   
 
A3.  Idaho does not have State licensure rules for ASCs and we are not aware of 

Idaho allograft requirements beyond those established by the FDA.  There 
are some instances where donors are tested for various infectious diseases 
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prior to donation and that testing is covered by CLIA regulation.  In Idaho, 
that would be regulated by the Idaho Bureau of Laboratories.   

 
 Additionally, the ASC Federal regulations do not specifically address 

requirements for the shipping and receiving of graft materials.  However, 
regulatory requirements related to Lab services (Q200) and the Conditions 
for Coverage for Governing Body (Q40) require that the facility policies and 
programs are administered so as to provide quality healthcare in a safe 
environment.  Should concerns regarding the receipt, storage, and use of 
allografts be identified during the survey process, those regulatory 
requirements as well as others (e.g. Condition for Coverage Surgical 
Services, etc.) may be cited.   
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§416.50 Condition for Coverage: Patient Rights  
 
Q1.  Can you please provide me with the contact information for the state 

representative to whom patients and/or their representatives can 
report complaints as required in Q0222, Notice of Rights? 

 
A1.  Complaints can be made to: 
   Bureau of Facility Standards 
    Non-Long Term Care Co-Supervisor 
    PO Box 83720 

Boise, ID 83720-0036 
(208) 334-6626 Option 4 
 
 

Q2.  Must ASCs honor patients' advanced directives? 
 
A2.  No.  Since ASCs are facilities that primarily perform elective surgeries, 

ASCs may choose to adopt a policy that does not support advanced 
directives in their facility for elective procedures.  However, the facility and 
its policy must reflect the acknowledgement and implementation of the 
patient’s advanced directive wishes in the event a patient is transferred to a 
hospital for unanticipated emergency treatment.  It is the intent of the rule 
that patients be able to make informed decisions regarding their care, 
including the right to execute advanced directives.  It was never the intent to 
allow a blanket advanced directive refusal policy.  The ASC must address 
advanced directives even if they do not wish to honor them except in the 
event of an emergency transfer.  This must also be clearly communicated to 
the patient. 
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Q3.  Are patients required to sign the Notice of Rights indicating their 
understanding of their rights as patients? 
  
A3.  No.  While some ASCs use this method to document the patients' 
understanding of rights, it is not required by the ASC regulations. 
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§416.51 Condition for Coverage: Infection Control  
 
Q1.  Is it permissible to repackage single-dose vials or single use vials into 

smaller doses, each intended for a single patient? 
 
A1.  Yes, under very specific guidelines.  Please refer to CMS Survey and 

Certification letter S&C-12-35-ALL, dated June 15, 2012 for additional 
information.   
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§416.41 Condition for Coverage: Patient Admission, Assessment 

and Discharge  
 
Q1.  Can a CRNA complete the H&P?  
 
A1.  Yes.  The Federal Regulation at Q0261 states the H&P has to be completed 

by the physician or another "qualified practitioner in accordance with 
applicable state health and safety laws, standards of practice, and ASC 
policy."  In accordance with the Idaho Board of Nursing Rules, CRNAs are 
considered an advanced practitioner.  Therefore, completing the H&P is 
within their scope of practice in Idaho and may be done as long as the 
ASC's policies permit it.   
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http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Survey-and-Cert-Letter-12-35.pdf
http://www.cms.gov/Medicare/Provider-Enrollment-and-Certification/SurveyCertificationGenInfo/Downloads/Survey-and-Cert-Letter-12-35.pdf

