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CHECKLIST FOR A RESIDENTIAL ASSISTED LIVING FACILITY (RALF) LICENSE  

Use this checklist to track what you send to the Licensing & Certification (L&C).  This form is for your use only and need not be returned. 

Additional information and guidelines are available at www.assistedliving.dhw.idaho.gov    

Note:  If your proposed building is currently in operation as an existing licensed residential assisted living facility, you will need to 

complete the application process and receive your license prior to executing the purchase agreement.   

 

REQUIREMENTS 

Date 

Completed 

APPLICATION PART A 

STEP 1 Thoroughly read and review IDAPA 16.03.22, Residential Care or Assisted Living Facilities in Idaho and Idaho 

Code Title 39, Chapter 33, Idaho Residential Care or Assisted Living Act. 

 

STEP 2 Send us a completed Application Part A.  All individuals with 10% ownership must be disclosed.  Use Application 

Part A addendum if there is more than one business entity involved. 

 

STEP 3 

                     

Send us $500 for the building evaluation.  Make your check payable to “Licensing & Certification – DHW.”  DO 

NOT SEND CASH!! 

 

STEP 4 

 

Change of Ownership and Conversions: Send us a detailed floor plan for your facility, including all room 

measurements.  Please ensure there is at least one (1) private tub or shower for every eight (8) residents. 

New Construction, Additions and Additional Buildings: Send a plan submittal form with construction plans that are 

signed and stamped by an Idaho licensed Architect or Engineer (1 set only).  Plan review can take up to 60-90 days. 

Caution is advised in proceeding with construction before plans are reviewed and approved.  Deferred submittal of 

shop drawings for Sprinkler and Fire Alarm are allowed but must be submitted and approved.   Incomplete 

application packages will not be processed. 

 

POLICIES AND PROCEDURES        

STEP 5 Send us a complete set of your policies and procedures.  A review worksheet is included in the application packet 

for minimum acceptable policies and procedures. Note on the worksheet the page number where each 

requirement is addressed in your policies and procedures and submit the worksheet with your policies and 

procedures. 

 

BUILDING EVALUATION   Allow at least 60-90 days for the first building evaluation to be completed. 

STEP 6  BUILDING EVALUATION-CHANGES OF OWNERSHIP AND CONVERSIONS: Allow at least 45 days to 

schedule the evaluation.  L&C will schedule and conduct a building evaluation and provide an evaluation letter 

(maximum 30 days from exit).  Make corrections directed in the letter and notify in writing when all corrections 

have been made.   

PLAN REVIEW - NEW CONSTRUCTION, ADDITIONS and ADDITIONAL BUILDINGS:  New 

Construction plan review period can be 60-90 days. Although not precluded by rule, we strongly caution against 

construction beginning prior to plan review.  Site visits may be conducted if travel is cost effective, but not required, 

nor guaranteed.  Make necessary modifications as identified in plan review; ensure deferred submittals are sent in. 

 

APPLICATION PART B 

STEP 7 Send completed Application Part B to L&C.  

STEP 8 Send copy the administrator’s Residential Care Administrator License and Criminal History and Background check 

to L&C.  (see requirements IDAPA 16.03.22.009.02). 

 

STEP 9 Send copy of the Operating Agreement AND Certificate of Assumed Business Name from the office of the 

Secretary of State to L&C. 

 

STEP 10 Send copy of the Lease Agreement, Purchase Agreement, or Warranty Deed to L&C.  If changing ownership of an 

existing licensed facility, DO NOT sign the lease/closing documents until the date the Department issues you a 

license. NOTE: The applications AND legal documents must reflect the same, consistent, legal entity name. 

 

 

FINAL BUILDING EVALUATION/RELEASE OF BUILDING   Allow at least 60-90 days to schedule 

STEP 11 FINAL INSPECTIONS AND BUILDING EVALUATIONS 

CHOW/CONVERSION: After L&C receives notification that corrections identified in the building evaluation 

letter have been made, a final evaluation will be scheduled for the next cost effective trip to that area which could be 

60-90 days. 

NEW CONSTRUCTION, ADDITIONS AND ADDITIONAL BUILDINGS: Submit; Certificate of Occupancy, 

Fire Alarm Record of Completion, Sprinkler Contractors Material and Test Certificate for Aboveground Piping, and 

if applicable, installers letter of code compliance for fuel fired appliances, elevator inspection certificates, record of 

installation of special fire protection systems, etc.  Upon receipt of the required certifications and reports, L&C will 

schedule a final inspection for continuation of the licensing process for the next cost effective trip to the area/region, 

which could be up to 60-90 days.  The applicant will be notified of the date and time when it is scheduled. 

Note: A final inspection does not license a facility to operate; it only releases a building to continue the licensing 

process.  

If a re-inspection is required it will be scheduled at the discretion of L&C and only when cost effective travel can be 

scheduled. 

Note: a license must be issued to the facility before residents may be admitted. 

 

LICENSE     Allow at least 5 working days after completion of steps 1-11 for application review and issuance of license 

http://www.assistedliving.dhw.idaho.gov/

