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Record Retention Requirements 
March 2011 
 

The requirement to retain care records varies by provider type and 
regulatory authority.  The following requirements were gleamed from both 
Idaho and Federal regulatory requirements: 
 
SNF  (16.03.02 - Rules and Minimum Standards for Skilled Nursing and Intermediate 

Care Facilities) 

 

IDAPA 16.03.02.203.04 requires 7 years 

04. Retention. (7-1-93) a. There shall be adequate filing equipment and space to 

store closed charts and facilitate retrieval. (1-1-88) b. Records shall be preserved 

in a safe location protected from fire, theft, and water damage for a period of time 

not less than seven (7) years. If the patient/resident is a minor, the record shall be 

preserved for a period of not less than seven (7) years following his eighteenth 

birthday. (1-1-88) 05. Confidentiality. The facility shall safeguard medical record 

information against loss, destruction, and unauthorized use. (1-1-88) 

 

42 CFR 483.75(1)(2) states 5 years when there is no state requirement.  

Clinical records must be retained for the period of time required by state law; or 

five years from the date of discharge when there is no requirement in State law; 

or, for a minor, three years after a resident reaches legal age under State law. 

 

Hospitals 

Short answer—there is no definitive time frame except below.  Joint Commission states 

that they must meet state and federal requirements and the best interests of their patients.  

So—you will see a variety of retention requirements depending on services delivered, 

policies and procedures with input from legal counsel.  For minors the national standard 

is the age of majority plus 3 years.  There are other entities that also influence record 

retention such as FDA.  

 

IDAPA 16.03.14.360.07 states 

07. Retention.  Records shall be retained to conform with Section 39-1394, Idaho 

Code.  (10-14-88) 

Idaho Code at 39-1394 requires 39-1394.PATIENT CARE RECORDS -- 

RETENTION -- AUTHENTICATION.  (1) Retention. 

(a)  Hospital records relating to the care and treatment of a patient may be 

preserved in microfilm, other photographically reproduced form or electronic 

medium.  Such reproduced and preserved copies shall be deemed originals for 

purposes of section 9-420, Idaho Code. 

http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/16/0302.pdf
http://adminrules.idaho.gov/rules/current/16/0302.pdf
http://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/CFR-2011-title42-vol5/pdf/CFR-2011-title42-vol5-sec483-75.pdf
http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title9/T9CH4SECT9-420.htm
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(b)  Clinical laboratory test records and reports may be destroyed five (5) years 

after the date of the test recorded or reported therein, pursuant to paragraph (d) of 

this subsection. 

(c)  X-ray films may be destroyed five (5) years after the date of exposure, or five 

(5) years after the patient reaches the age of majority, whichever is later, pursuant 

to paragraph (d) of this subsection, if there are in the hospital record written 

findings of a physician who has read such x-ray films. 

(d)  At any time after the retention periods specified in paragraphs (b) and (c) of 

this subsection, the hospital may, without thereby incurring liability, destroy such 

records, by burning, shredding or other effective method in keeping with the 

confidential nature of their contents, provided, however, that destruction of such 

records must be in the ordinary course of business and no record shall be 

destroyed on an individual basis. 

(e)  For purposes of this section, the term "hospital" shall include all facilities 

defined as hospitals in chapter 13, title 39, Idaho Code. 

 

42 CFR 485.638(c) for Critical Access hospitals requires—6 years. 

The records are retained for at least 6 years from date of last entry, and longer if 

required by State statute, or if the records may be needed in any pending 

proceeding.  

Medical records are retained in their original form or legally reproduced form in 

hard copy, microfilm, or computer memory banks.  The CAH must be able to 

promptly retrieve the complete medical record of every individual evaluated or 

treated in any part or location of the CAH within the last 6 years. 

In accordance with Federal and State law and regulations, certain medical records 

may have retention requirements that exceed 6 years (for example:  FDA, OSHA, 

EPA). 

 

 

42 CFR 482.24(b)(1)  for Acute Care Hospitals—requires 5 years 

Medical records must be maintained in their original or legally reproduced form 

for a period of at least 5 years. 

Medical records are retained in their original or legally reproduced form in hard 

copy, microfilm, computer memory, or other electronic storage media. The 

hospital must be able to promptly retrieve the complete medical record of every 

individual evaluated or treated in any part or location of the hospital within the 

last 5 years.  

 

In accordance with Federal and State law and regulations, certain medical records 

may have retention requirements that exceed 5 years (for example: FDA, OSHA, 

EPA). 

 

42 CFR 482.60(c) 

Psychiatric hospitals must maintain clinical records on all patients, including 

records sufficient to permit  CMS to determine the degree and intensity of 

treatment furnished to Medicare beneficiaries, as specified  in §482.61. 

http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title39/T39CH13.htm
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2005/octqtr/pdf/42cfr485.639.pdf
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2007/octqtr/pdf/42cfr482.24.pdf
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2005/octqtr/pdf/42cfr482.60.pdf
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42 CFR 418.104(d) Hospice 

 Patient clinical records must be retained for 6 years after the death or discharge of 

the patient, unless State law stipulates a longer period of time. If the hospice discontinues 

operation, hospice policies must provide for retention and storage of clinical records. The 

hospice must inform its State agency and its CMS Regional office where such clinical 

records will be stored and how they may be accessed.  

42 CFR 494.170(c) ESRD 

 In accordance with 45 CFR §164.530(j)(2), all patient records must be retained 

for 6 years from the date of the patient's discharge, transfer or death. These retention 

requirements also apply to the records of machine maintenance, dialyzer 

reprocessing/reuse, water treatment and dialysate preparation as each of these records is 

part of the medical record for the patients on service at the time those records were 

completed. Documentation of these processes is retained in logs rather than individual 

patient records. Since many patients are treated on the equipment each day, determination 

of the retention period may be difficult. Facility policy should address retention of these 

records."  

 

42 CFR 491.10(c) Rural Health Clinic 

 The patient's records are retained for at least 6 years from the date of last entry, 

and longer if required by State statute.  

 

42 CFR 485.721(d) OPT/OSP  

 Clinical records are retained for at least: (1) The period determined by the 

respective State statute, or the statute of limitations in the State, or  (2) In the absence of a 

State statute: (i) Five years after the date of discharge, or (ii) In the case of a minor, 3 

years after the patient becomes of age under State law or 5 years after the date of 

discharge, whichever is longer.  

The Medicaid Provider Handbook states—5 years 

2.1.2.1. Medical Record Requirements  

Idaho Code Section 56-209h requires that providers generate records at the time 

the service is delivered, and maintain all records necessary to fully document the 

extent of services submitted for Medicaid reimbursement. This includes 

documentation of referrals made or received on behalf of Medicaid participants 

enrolled in the Healthy Connections (HC) Program.  

Providers are required to retain records to document services submitted for 

Medicaid reimbursement for at least five years after the date of service. 

 

http://ecfr.gpoaccess.gov/cgi/t/text/text-idx?c=ecfr&rgn=div5&view=text&node=42:3.0.1.1.5&idno=42#42:3.0.1.1.5.4.5.3
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2009/octqtr/pdf/42cfr494.170.pdf
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2004/octqtr/pdf/42cfr491.10.pdf
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/cfr_2008/octqtr/pdf/42cfr485.721.pdf
https://www.idmedicaid.com/Provider%20Guide/Forms/AllItems.aspx
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Example of others that influence record retention: 

FDA’s POLICY 

“The QS regulation in section 820.180(b) requires that all records 

pertaining to a device shall be retained for a period of time equivalent to 

the design and expected life of the device, but in no case less than two 

years from the date of release for commercial distribution by the 

manufacturer.  Manufacturers of longlife products should make prudent 

decisions as to how long to keep records.” 

HIPAA 

Health care providers billing Medicare must retain required medical 

records for a period of “six years from the date of its creation or the date 

when it last was in effect, whichever is later.” 

HIPAA requirements preempt State laws if the State laws require a shorter 

medical records retention period. 

 

The Association of Health Information recommends a minimum of 10 years.  A study 

completed in 2008 finds that many hospitals keep records permanently, the next most 

frequent standard was 20 years.   

 

Other References 

 

AHIMA Best Practices - Federal Record Retention Practices 

 

http://library.ahima.org/xpedio/groups/public/documents/ahima/bok1_012546.pdf

