
FEE DETERMINATION SCALE 

The amount paid for mental health services is determined using the Department’s “Sliding Fee 
Scale.” After the adjusted income is calculated, the client or family percentage of the cost of mental 
health services is determined according to household size. 

 
Instructions: Navigate to the appropriate column based on the household size. Then use the 
adjusted gross family income to determine which row and corresponding percentage will be client 
responsibility. 

 
For families with more than 8 persons in the household, please contact your Health and Welfare 
office for the client percentage. 

 
Source: https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines  
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For more information, contact your 
Regional Office: 

 

 

REGION 1 
Children: 208-769-1406 
Adults: 208-769-1406 

 

REGION 2 
Children: 208-799-4440 
Adults: 208-799-4440 

 

REGION 3 

Children: 208-459-0092 
Adults: 208-459-0092 

 
REGION 4 

Children: 208-334-6800 
Adults: 208-334-0894 

REGION 5 
Children: 208-734-1635 
Adults: 208-736-2177 

 

REGION 6 
Children: 208-234-7900 
Adults: 208-234-7900 

 

REGION 7 
Children: 208-528-5700 
Adults: 208-528-5700 

 

CENTRAL OFFICE 
PHONE: 208-334-6997 

FAX: 208-334-5738 

https://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty-guidelines


FINANCIAL 
RESPONSIBILITY 
FOR MENTAL 
HEALTH SERVICES 

The Department of Health and Welfare 
(DHW) uses state and federal funds to provide a 
variety of mental health services. 
The Idaho legislature has authorized DHW to 
determine the financial responsibility of adult 
clients and the parents of child clients. 

 

Adult clients and parents of child clients are 
responsible for providing this information when 
filling out a “Fee Determination Form” prior to the 
delivery of services. 

 

DHW accepts Medicaid as payment in full for 
covered services. Deductibles and amounts not paid 
by other insurances are the responsibility of the 
client or family. 

 

Parental share of costs associated with placing a 
child in foster care or other alternate-care setting is 
determined through the Child Support Services 
program using Idaho Child Support Guidelines. 

 

Financial responsibility is based on income, family 
size, and allowable deductions including the 
following: court ordered obligations, childcare 
necessary for employment, medical expenses, 
transportation necessary for travel to work and 
other specific destinations, extraordinary 
rehabilitative expenses, and state and federal tax 
payments. 

 

ESTABLISHED FEE 
 

The following chart provides an example of the 
hourly fee for commonly billed services. For a 
complete list of services and associated hourly fees, 
please contact your local Department of Health and 
Welfare office. 

Adult clients or parents of a child client are 
responsible for the percentage that is determined 
through the sliding fee scale. For example, if a 
family of 4 earns $32,000 gross income annually 
and they have $5,000 in allowable deductions 
annually; the family’s adjusted annual income 
would be $27,000. Using the adjusted annual 
income on “Fee Determination Scale”, the family 
would be responsible for 10% of the hourly fee for 
mental health services. If the individual received 
individual psychosocial rehabilitation services, the 
financial responsibility would be $7.40 per hour. 

 

 

DHW uses the following guidelines to determine 
household income: 

 

• For adults, only the earned and unearned 
income of the individual applying for services 
and the earned and unearned income of the 
individual’s spouse is considered. 

 

• For children, only the earned and unearned 
income of the birth or adoptive parents and 
the unearned income of the child for whom 
services are being requested are considered. 

 

• Income from SSI, SSDI, and adoption subsidy 
is not considered in calculating family income. 
The individual receiving SSI or SSDI is not 
counted in calculating the size of the 
household. 

 

• The assets of the adult applying for services 
and the assets of the parents of a child, for 
whom services are being requested, are not 
used in calculating household income. 

Hourly Charges for Common Mental 
Health Services 

Service Change 

Community Based Rehabilitative 
Services (1 hour) 

$45.40 

Group Skill Training (1 session) $15.00 
Behavioral Health Nursing Services 
(1 hour) 

$44.48 

Established Outpatient (1 hour) $195.32 

Psychotherapy (1 hour) $82.77 

Group Psychotherapy (1 session) $21.00 

Injection (each injection) $19.79 

Case Management (1 hour) $48.36 

Psychotherapy (30 minutes) $40.39 
Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation (1 
evaluation) 

$99.00 

Psychotherapy (45 minutes) $60.60 

BH Treatment Plan (1 hour) $45.40 

Established Outpatient (1 session) $99.46 

Peer Support (1 hour) $54.52 

New Outpatient (1 hour) $142.50 

Crisis Psychotherapy (1 hour) $82.77 

Family Therapy (1 Session) $77.00 
Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation 
with Medical Services (1 evaluation) 

$108.55 

 


