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Adult & Children’s Mental Health 

For more information, contact your 
Regional Office: 

REGION 1 

Children: 208-769-1515 

Adults: 208-769-1406 

 

REGION 2 

Children: 208-799-4360 

Adults: 208-799-4440 

 

REGION 3 

Children: 208-459-0092 

Adults: 208-459-0092 

 

REGION 4 

Children: 208-334-6800 

Adults: 208-334-0894 

REGION 5 

Children: 208-734-1635 

Adults: 208-736-2177 

 

REGION 6 

Children: 208-234-7900 

Adults: 208-234-7900 

 

REGION 7 

Children: 208-528-5700 

Adults: 208-528-5700 

CENTRAL OFFICE 

PHONE: 208-334-6997 

FAX: 208-334-5738 

FEE DETERMINATION SCALE 

 

The amount paid for mental health services is determined using the Department’s “Sliding Fee 

Scale.” After the adjusted income is calculated, the client or family percentage of the cost of mental 

health services is determined according to household size.   

 

Instructions: Navigate to the appropriate column based on the household size. Then use the 

adjusted gross family income to determine which row and corresponding percentage will be client 

responsibility.  

 

For families with more than 8 persons in the household, please contact your Health and Welfare 

office for the client percentage. 

 
Source: http://aspe.hhs.gov/poverty/14poverty.cfm 



FINANCIAL 

RESPONSIBILITY 

FOR MENTAL 

HEALTH SERVICES 
 

The Department of Health and Welfare 

(DHW) uses state and federal funds to provide a 

variety of mental health services. 

The Idaho legislature has authorized DHW to 

determine the financial responsibility of adult 

clients and the parents of child clients. 

 

Adult clients and parents of child clients are 

responsible for providing this information when 

filling out a “Fee Determination Form” prior to the 

delivery of services.  

 

DHW accepts Medicaid as payment in full for 

covered services. Deductibles and amounts not paid 

by other insurances are the responsibility of the 

client or family. 

 

Parental share of costs associated with placing a 

child in foster care or other alternate-care setting is 

determined through the Child Support Services 

program using Idaho Child Support Guidelines. 

 

Financial responsibility is based on income, family 

size, and allowable deductions including the 

following: court ordered obligations, childcare 

necessary for employment, medical expenses, 

transportation necessary for travel to work and 

other specific destinations, extraordinary 

rehabilitative expenses, and state and federal tax 

payments. 

 

ESTABLISHED FEE 

The following chart provides an example of the 

hourly fee for commonly billed services. For a 

complete list of services and associated hourly fees, 

please contact your local Department of Health and 

Welfare office. 

 

Hourly Charges for Common Mental 

Health Services 
Service Hourly 

Change 

a. Psychosocial Rehabilitation Services 

i. Individual Psychosocial 

Rehabilitation  

$74 

ii. Group Psychosocial 

Rehabilitation  

$18 

iii. Rehabilitative Evaluation  $74 

iv. Task Plan Development $74 

v. Community Crisis Support  $74 

vi. Psychopharmacological 

Management 

$52.91 

vii. Psychological Test  $63, 

$86.72* 

viii. Medical Report (new)  $63 

ix. Medical Report (past record)  $63 

x. Consultation/Collateral  $63 

xii. Diagnostic Interview/Screening  $69.32 

$150.40* 

b. Psychotherapy 

i. Individual  $63 

$117.64* 

ii. Group Psychotherapy  $24, 

$35.56* 

iii. Family Psychotherapy  $63, 

$117.32* 

* M.D. Rate 

 

Adult clients or parents of a child client are 

responsible for the percentage that is determined 

through the sliding fee scale. For example, if a 

family of 4 earns $32,000 gross income annually 

and they have $5,000 in allowable deductions 

annually; the family’s adjusted annual income 

would be $27,000. Using the adjusted annual 

income on “Fee Determination Scale”, the family 

would be responsible for 10% of the hourly fee for 

mental health services. If the individual received 

individual psychosocial rehabilitation services, the 

financial responsibility would be $7.40 per hour. 

 
 

DHW uses the following guidelines to determine 

household income: 

 

• For adults, only the earned and unearned 

income of the individual applying for services 

and the earned and unearned income of the 

individual’s spouse is considered. 

 

• For children, only the earned and unearned 

income of the birth or adoptive parents and 

the unearned income of the child for whom 

services are being requested are considered. 

 

• Income from SSI, SSDI, and adoption subsidy 

is not considered in calculating family income. 

The individual receiving SSI or SSDI is not 

counted in calculating the size of the 

household. 

 

• The assets of the adult applying for services 

and the assets of the parents of a child, for 

whom services are being requested, are not 

used in calculating household income. 


