Medicaid Incentive Payment

Medicaid Eligible Professionals (EPSs)

The Medicaid EHR incentive payment is a fixed payment amount and is made
based on the calendar year. In Idaho, the EHR Incentive Program runs from
2012 through 2021. The last year a Medicaid provider may begin
participation in the program is 2016. Participation years do not need to be
consecutive so providers may skip years without penalty; however, the last
year to receive an incentive payment is 2021. Each EP can only receive one
incentive payment per year, regardless of how many practices or locations at
which they provide services. Providers serving populations in more than one
state can participate only in one state. EPs must choose to participate in
only one program; Medicare or Medicaid. Before 2015, an EP may switch
between the two programs only once after the first incentive payment is
initiated.

An EP can receive up to a total of $63,750 in Medicaid incentive payments
over a six year period. The maximum payment the first year is $21,250 and
then $8,500 for each of the following payment years two through six.

For pediatricians that do not meet the 30% Medicaid patient volume but
meet the 20% Medicaid patient volume the first payment year, the incentive
payment would be $14,167, and in subsequent payment years would be
$5,667. The maximum incentive payment amount for a pediatrician with
20% Medicaid patient volume over 6 years would not exceed $42,500.

Medicaid EPs Incentive Payment Chart
Ca\'(igcr’ar 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016

2011 $21,250

2012 $8,500 | $21,250

2013 $8,500 | $8,500 | $21,250

2014 $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500 | $21,250

2015 $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500 | $21,250

2016 $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500| $8,500| $8,500 | $21,250

2017 $8,500 | $8,500| $8,500| $8,500 | $8,500
2018 $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500| $8,500
2019 $8,500 | $8,500 | $8,500
2020 $8,500 | $8,500
2021 $8,500

Total $63,750 | $63,750 | $63,750 | $63,750 | $63,750 | $63,750




Providers are free to assign their incentive payment to a clinic or
organization. To learn more about how to reassign an incentive payment,
please read the informational paper “Payment Reassignment for EPS” under
the Educational & Training Materials section of ldaho Medicaid’s EHR Web

page.

Medicaid Eligible Hospitals (EHs)

The last year a Medicaid EH may begin participation in the program is 2016.
After 2016, a Medicaid EH can only receive payments if a payment was
received in the previous year. In Idaho the Idaho Medicaid Incentive
Payment Program runs from 2012 through 2021.

Once an EH decides to participate in the program, an aggregate incentive
payment is determined and is paid out over at least three years. States can
pay out no more than 50% of the hospital’s aggregate incentive payment in
any one year. In addition, over a two year period, the state cannot pay
more than 90% of the aggregate incentive. In Idaho the payments will be
made using the following proportions:

e Year 1 — 50% of the hospitals aggregate incentive payment
e Year 2 — 40% of the hospitals aggregate incentive payment
e Year 3 — 10% of the hospitals aggregate incentive payment

EH payments are based on a complex calculation that includes a number of
factors. Hospitals do not have to meet meaningful use to receive their first
Medicaid payment. They must adopt, implement, or upgrade to certified
EHR technology. EHs that have met meaningful use for Medicare are
deemed to have met meaningful use for Medicaid. EHs, in this case, will still
have to meet the state’s eligibility criteria of patient volume and average
length of stay.

To read about how hospital payment calculations are done, please take a
look at the informational paper “Hospital Payment Calculations” under the
Educational & Training Materials section of Idaho Medicaid’s EHR Web page.

For more information about incentive payments, refer to the following
resources:

¢ Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Tip Sheet for Eligible Professionals
e Tip Sheet for Medicaid Hospitals
e CMS Path to Payment web page



