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PART I: PROGRAM OVERVIEW

Purpose

The purpose of this manual is to provide eligible professionals (EPs) with an overview of the Idaho
Medicaid Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Program, information about what needs to be done to
receive payments, and step-by-step instructions about how to enroll and attest.

Introduction

Through provisions of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA), the Centers for
Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has implemented incentive payments to EPs that are participating
in Medicare and Medicaid programs and are meaningful users of certified EHR technology. The incentive
payments are not a reimbursement, but are intended to encourage EPs to adopt, implement, or upgrade
certified EHR technology and use it in a meaningful manner.

Use of certified EHR systems is required to qualify for incentive payments. The Office of the National
Coordinator (ONC) for Health Information Technology has issued rules defining certified EHR systems and
has identified entities that may certify systems. More information about this process is available at
http://www.healthit.hhs.gov.

Goals for the national program include: 1) enhance care coordination and patient safety; 2) reduce
paperwork and improve efficiencies; 3) facilitate electronic information sharing across providers,
payers, and state lines; and 4) enable data sharing using the state Health Information Exchange (HIE) and
the National Health Information Network (NHIN). Achieving these goals will improve health
outcomes, facilitate access, simplify care, and reduce the costs of health care nationwide.

Idaho Medicaid staff will work closely with federal and state partners to ensure the Idaho Medicaid EHR
Incentive Program fits into the overall strategic plan for the Idaho HIE, thereby advancing Idaho and
national goals for HIE.

Eligibility

A provider’s eligibility to receive EHR incentive payments is based on the provider type and specialty,
patient volume, state of licensure and good standing, and verification that a qualifying EHR system is in
place.

Provider Type and Specialty

The first tier of provider eligibility for the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program is based on provider type

and specialty. At this time, CMS has determined that the following providers are potentially eligible to

enroll in the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program:

e Physicians (primarily doctors of medicine and doctors of osteopathy)

e Nurse practitioners

o Certified nurse-midwives

e Dentists

e Physician assistants who furnish services in a federally qualified health center (FQHC) or rural health
clinic (RHC) that is led by a physician assistant

The EHR incentive payments will only be made to Idaho Medicaid providers (EPs with an Idaho Medicaid
Provider Agreement), unless the provider predominantly practices in an RHC or FQHC.
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Patient Volume

Patient volume thresholds must be established every year a provider applies for an incentive payment. To
qualify for an EHR incentive payment for each year the EP seeks the incentive payment, the EP must not
be hospital-based (hospital-based means an EP who furnishes 90 percent or more of covered professional
services in a hospital, inpatient, or emergency room setting in the year preceding the payment year) and
must meet one of the following patient volume criteria:

Have a minimum of 30 percent Medicaid patient volume attributable to individuals receiving Medicaid
funded services.

Have a minimum of 20 percent patient volume attributable to individuals receiving Medicaid
funded services and be a pediatrician.

Practice predominantly in an FQHC or RHC and have a minimum of 30 percent patient volume
attributable to needy individuals.

o To practice predominantly means an EP for whom the clinical location for over 50 percent of his or
her total patient encounters over a period of six months in the most recent calendar year occurs at
an FQHC or RHC. In Idaho, the most recent calendar year is defined as the previous completed
calendar year. This is a statutory requirement that is not subject to the interpretation of the state.
If an FQHC or RHC must use non-Medicaid encounters to reach the minimum 30 percent
threshold, an EP hired in the current calendar year should have the appropriate track record for a
six month period in the previous calendar year. This attestation will be subject to post-payment
audit. Examples of non-eligible professionals include:

=  Adoctor who is on staff at the FQHC but who was on sabbatical last year and didn’t practice at
all.

= Anew EP whose last job in the previous calendar year was at a university medical center.
= Astaff EP who performed only 1-49 percent of his or her encounters at an FQHC last year.
o Services attributable to needy individuals are defined as those that meet one of the following:

= Services rendered to an individual who is receiving assistance under Title XIX, who is receiving
assistance under Title XXI, who is furnished uncompensated care by the provider, or for whom
charges are reduced by the provider on a sliding scale based on the individual’s ability to pay.

= Services rendered on any one day to an individual where Medicaid or the Children’s Health
Insurance Program (CHIP) or a Medicaid or CHIP demonstration project under section 1115 of
the Social Security Act paid all or part of their premiums, co-payments, or cost sharing.

= Services rendered to an individual on any one day that were on a sliding scale or that were
charity care.



CHIP Encounters for Patient Volume and Payment Calculation

Encounters with Medicaid participants receiving services funded by Title XXI cannot be included in the
patient volume calculation unless the EP practices predominantly in an FQHC or RHC and is basing the
patient volume on needy patient encounters. Because EPs can’t always distinguish between funding
sources, Idaho Medicaid has received permission from CMS to use a “CHIP patient volume average”
strategy to help EPs determine their Medicaid patient volume.

Idaho’s payment system differentiates the paying source using detailed codes for eligibility that are
traceable to the claim. Using this information, Idaho Medicaid has identified a statewide average
proportion for CHIP encounters for professionals. The CHIP patient volume average is currently seven
percent. This is based on an analysis of three years of claims history. This percent gives the statewide
average of CHIP-to-total Medicaid encounters. Eligible professionals must identify their total number of
Medicaid encounters and reduce that by the CHIP patient volume average percent when applying for
incentives.

Using this method will benefit some providers whose actual CHIP patient encounters are higher than the
statewide average, and may disadvantage those whose CHIP volume is lower than average. Idaho
Medicaid wants to work with EPs to ensure that they are not falsely denied eligibility based on this
strategy. Providers can request the state provide them with the actual number of Medicaid and CHIP
encounters for the 90-day period of their choosing if they are unable to meet the patient volume
threshold with the CHIP patient volume average reduction and believe that they could meet it otherwise.
Medicaid staff will give the number to the provider making the request. Professionals can contact the
Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Help Desk staff at (208) 332-7989 for more information about this
process.

Eligible Professionals Patient Volume Calculator

To calculate Medicaid patient volume, EPs who are not practicing predominantly in an FQHC or RHC must
divide:

e Thetotal Medicaid patient encounters in any representative, continuous 90-day calendar period in
the preceding calendar year reduced by the seven percent CHIP average; by

e The total patient encounters in the same 90-day period.

To calculate Medicaid patient volume, EPs practicing predominantly in an FQHC or RHC and basing patient
volume on needy encounters must divide:

e The total needy individual patient encounters in any representative, continuous 90-day period in the
preceding calendar year; by

e The total patient encounters in the same 90-day period.

Medicaid will count only claims where Medicaid has paid $.01 or more. If there is a SO paid claim, it will not
be counted as an eligible encounter. If an EP believes the omission of S0 paid claims for participants whose
premiums were paid by Medicaid will push them under the 30 percent threshold, Idaho Medicaid staff can
run a unique report that includes the amount of S0 paid claims for the 90 days where Medicaid paid the
premium. Medicaid will also include any claim for a Medicare dual eligible when Medicaid paid at least
S.01.



Statewide Average for CHIP and Impact on Auditing

For EPs that are audited and have used the CHIP patient volume average, the auditor will assess whether
the total Idaho Medicaid encounters were accurately represented and will not attempt to evaluate an EP’s
actual Medicaid-only encounters. There would be no penalty for EPs who have an actual CHIP patient
volume higher than the statewide patient volume average. For EPs who request their specific data, the
audit will assess whether the Medicaid-only encounters were accurately represented, given the
information provided by the state.

Group Proxy Calculation

The Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program has developed a group proxy calculation worksheet to help
facilitate consistent attestation of patient volumes by eligible professionals and to streamline patient
volume verification. It is important for EPs to remember that:

e The entity responsible for the group must complete a group proxy calculation worksheet and make it
available to all eligible professionals.

e Every eligible professional must attach a copy of the group proxy calculation worksheet and its
supporting patient encounter report during the application/attestation process for the Idaho Incentive
Management System (IIMS).

Note: The 90-day patient encounter report of needy/total patient encounters is required to support
the proxy calculation.

e A new group proxy calculation worksheet must be completed every year the group's EPs apply for a
Medicaid incentive if using the group proxy calculation approach that year.

The group proxy calculation can be set at the organizational level or the clinic level. If using an
organizational level proxy calculation, the clinics that are included cannot be an arbitrary group of clinics to
maximize patient volumes. An organizational level proxy must include all of the organization’s clinics that
are within the state of Idaho. No out-of-state clinics will be allowed to be included in the proxy.

After the group proxy calculation worksheet is completed, it needs to be converted to a PDF format and
submitted during application/attestation in the IIMS.

Institutional License and Good Standing

All participating EPs must have a current institutional license (provisional licenses will be accepted) and
must be free of both state- and federal-level sanctions and exclusions to be eligible for incentive payments.

Adopt, Implement, or Upgrade

All EPs must verify that they have adopted, implemented, or upgraded to a certified EHR system. Below
are the criteria for each:

e Adopt: “acquire, purchase, or secure access to certified EHR technology.”
There is evidence that an EP demonstrated actual installation prior to the incentive, rather than
“efforts” to install. This evidence serves to differentiate between activities that may not result in
installation (for example, researching EHRs or interviewing EHR vendors) and actual
purchase/acquisition or installation.



¢ Implement: “install or commence utilization of certified EHR technology.”
The EP has installed certified EHR technology and has started using the certified EHR technology in his
or her clinical practice. Implementation activities would include staff training in the certified EHR
technology, the data entry of their patients’ demographic data into the EHR, or establishing data
exchange agreements and relationships between the EP’s certified EHR technology and other EPs,
such as laboratories and pharmacies.

e Upgrade: “expand the available functionality of certified EHR technology.”
The EP has added clinical decision support, electronic prescribing functionality, or other enhancements
that facilitate the meaningful use of certified EHR technology. An example of upgrading that would
qualify for the EHR incentive payment would be upgrading from an existing EHR to a newer version
that is certified per the EHR certification criteria promulgated by the ONC related to meaningful use.
Upgrading may also mean expanding the functionality of an EHR in order to render it certifiable per
the ONC's EHR certification criteria (http://onc-chpl.force.com/ehrcert).

Please see the “Preparing the Documentation Required for Attestation” section of this handbook for
details about what documentation will meet verification needs.

Getting Your EHR Certification

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs require the use of certified EHR technology.
Standards, implementation specifications, and certification criteria for EHR technology have been adopted
by the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services. The EHR technology in use by the EP
must be tested and certified by an ONC Authorized Testing and Certification Body (ATCB) in order for that
EP to qualify for EHR incentive payments. Once certified, the product is listed on the ONC's website, often
referred to as the Certified Health IT Product List (CHPL), where an EP may obtain a unique CMS EHR
Certification ID Number. This certification number must be provided as part of the attestation process for
either the Medicare or Medicaid incentive program.

Eligible professionals can obtain the CMS EHR Certification ID Number for their EHR product by following
these steps:

1. Gotothe ONC CHPL website: http://healthit.hhs.gov/chpl.

2. Select the practice type by selecting either the “Ambulatory” or “Inpatient” button.

3. Search for EHR products by browsing all products, searching by product name, or searching by criteria.
4. Add products to your cart to determine if they meet 100 percent of the CMS required criteria.
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Request a CMS EHR Certification ID Number for CMS attestation (this number should contain 15
alphanumeric characters).

Note: The "Get CMS EHR Certification ID" button will not be activated until the products in your cart
meet 100 percent of the CMS required criteria. If the EHR products don’t meet 100 percent of the
CMS required criteria to demonstrate meaningful use, a CMS EHR Certification ID Number will not be
issued.

Important Clarifications

e The ONC CHPL Product Number issued to your vendor for each certified technology is different than
the CMS EHR Certification ID Number issued to a professional for attestation purposes. Only a CMS
EHR Certification ID Number (also obtained from the CHPL site) that is unique to the practice will be
accepted at attestation.
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e Itis not enough for a provider’s EHR product to be certified by the Certification Commission for Health
Information Technology (more commonly known as CCHIT certification). The product must be
certified by an ONC-ATCB specifically for the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs and
listed on the ONC’s website.

e AnEPdoesn’t need to have a certified EHR technology in place to register with CMS for the Medicare
and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs. However, the professional must adopt, implement, or upgrade
to a certified EHR system under the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program or successfully demonstrate
meaningful use of certified EHR technology under the Medicare EHR Incentive Program before the
professional can receive an EHR incentive payment.

The ONC's website of certified products has the final rules related to certification standards, fact sheets,
frequently asked questions, a list of ONC-ATCBs, and a wealth of information about certified products and
obtaining certification.

Special Eligibility Issues for FQHCs and RHCs
EPs that practice at FQHCs and RHCs encounter special eligibility issues other EPs do not.

Physician Assistants

Unlike other eligible provider types, physician assistants (PAs) can apply for an EHR incentive only if they
are practicing at an FQHC or RHC. In addition, the FQHC or RHC where they practice must be led by a PA.
The definition of PA leadership is the key to PA eligibility.

In the Federal Register (volume 75, number 144, page 44483, 7/28/2010: 42 CFR 495.302), CMS interprets
the statutory language regarding “PA-led” as follows:

“We believe a PA would be leading an FQHC or RHC under any of the following
circumstances:

1) When a PA is the primary provider in a clinic (for example, when there is a part-
time physician and full-time PA, we would consider the PA as the primary
provider);

2) When a PAis a clinical or medical director at a clinical site of practice; or
3) When a PA is an owner of an RHC.

We agree that FQHCs and RHCs that have PAs in these leadership roles can be
considered PA-led. Furthermore, since RHCs can be practitioner owned (FQHCs
cannot), we will allow ownership to be considered PA-led.”

Circumstances (2) and (3) above can usually be validated with internal data, public documents, and even
clinic websites. Circumstance (1), in which a PA is the primary provider, is more difficult and cumbersome
to authenticate, especially given the simplicity of the CMS example. In some cases - for instance, when full-
time PAs outnumber full-time physicians, or a small rural clinic has only a single EP - primary providership
may be easily established. To avoid making improper payments in cases that are less clear, the state will
request dated, documented evidence from FQHCs and RHCs from which one or more PAs apply.
Documentation might include position descriptions, work schedules, appointment calendars, emails,
meeting minutes, and other organizational documents that yield conclusive indications of clinical
leadership.



CMS has offered the following guidance to FQHCs and RHCs as they evaluate if the clinic is PA-led when a
PA does not have the title of Medical Director. Consider if the PA:

e Setsthe amount of clinical time and administrative time for the other EPs.
e Reviews and signs the policies and procedures for clinical practices.

e Setsthe schedule for the other EPs.

e Leadsthe EP meetings.

e Sets quality goals for the clinic.

e Completes performance evaluations for the other EPs.

Provider Roster

Many EPs may not be enrolled as individual Idaho Medicaid EPs, but likely are identified as rendering
providers for FQHCs or RHCs. It’s difficult to verify if EPs are currently active or if they are one of the
eligible provider types when they’re not fully enrolled in the Medicaid system. The Idaho Medicaid EHR
Incentive Program plans to leverage EP rosters completed by the FQHCs and RHCs as the initial point of
reference for verification.

The Idaho EHR Incentive Program has developed a Provider Roster Workbook with two tabs. The first tab is
the provider roster template for FQHCs and RHCs to complete to document their active providers. The
second tab is a sample of a completed provider roster template. Clinic staff must decide who will complete
and submit the provider roster, as only one is needed from each clinic. This should be done before clinic
providers register for an incentive payment. The provider roster should list all eligible professionals at that
clinic location, not all practitioners. This reflects a change in policy by Idaho Medicaid effective June 1,
2012. Professionals can contact the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Helpdesk at (208) 332-7989
with questions.

After the provider roster is completed, please email it to the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
(please see the directions included with the provider roster template).

The provider roster will serve as a key initial reference that will facilitate preliminary verification that an EP
is active and is the correct eligible provider type. It's important to remember that:

e FQHCs, RHCs, and Tribal clinics will be required to complete an EP provider roster and send it to the
Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. The program will use the EP provider roster as a reference to
perform initial verification of EPs from these clinics.

e |daho Medicaid will ask for an updated provider roster every calendar quarter in order to have it as a
handy reference when an eligible provider represented in the roster applies for an incentive payment.

The EP provider roster template and instructions are posted on the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive
Program website at www.MedicaidEHR.dhw.idaho.gov. This Provider Roster Workbook contains the
template, a guide about how to complete the template, an example of a completed form, and information
about how to submit the form to Idaho Medicaid staff.
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Payments

How to Become a Vendor With the State

Idaho Medicaid is using the state fiscal system to set up financial transactions for incentive payments.
This fiscal system is not the same payment system that is used to process Medicaid payments to current
EPs. Providers will need to ensure they are enrolled as a vendor in this system in order to receive
payments. If EPs are unsure of prior vendor enrollment, they can call the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive
Program Help Desk at (208) 332-7989 to see if they have previously enrolled.

e Toenroll as a vendor who receives paper warrants and paper remittance advices (RAs), the EP must
complete a W-9 form (http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf) and submit it to the Idaho Medicaid
EHR Incentive Program using one of three methods:

Mail:  EHR Incentive Payments Fax:  (208)334-6515
Division of Medicaid
PO Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720-0009 Email: EHRIncentives@dhw.idaho.gov

e Toenroll as a vendor who receives direct deposits (EFT), the EP must complete the Combined
Substitute W-9/EFT Direct Deposit Authorization Form (on the Idaho Office of the State Controller’s
website). This form must be mailed along with a voided check (originals only, copies/faxes/scanned
documents will not be accepted) to:

EHR Incentive Payments
Division of Medicaid

PO Box 83720

Boise, ID 83720-0009

Processing of the completed EFT form includes verifying the vendor’s tax identification number (TIN) and
name with the IRS to make sure they match, and verifying the vendor’s financial institution. This process
usually takes a few weeks. Once the submitted EFT paperwork and voided check have been processed,
the controller’s office sends the EP a letter or email with their logon information, password, and
instructions for accessing the state controller’s vendor website so the EP can view the RAs.

Note: EPs who sign up for EFT will not receive paper warrants or paper RAs. If an EP is reassigning
payment, the clinic or group to whom the payment is reassigned must be enrolled as a vendor with the
state of Idaho and follow the instructions above to receive a paper warrant or EFT.

Understanding Payment Timelines

The maximum incentive payment an EP could receive from Idaho Medicaid equals $63,750 over a period
of six years, or $42,500 for pediatricians with a 20-29 percent CMS patient volume as shown below.

Provider EP: Patient Volume 30 Percent  |EP-Pediatrician (Medicaid): 20-29 Percent
Year 1 $21,250 $14,167

Year 2 $8,500 $5,667

Year 3 $8,500 S5,667

Year 4 $8,500 S5.667

Year 5 $8,500 S5,667

Year 6 $8,500 S5,667

Total Incentive $63,750 $42,500

10


http://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
mailto:EHRIncentives@dhw.idaho.gov
http://www.sco.idaho.gov/web/DSADoc.nsf/537A2603FE4B9E198725709800689EDF/$FILE/W9andEFT.pdf
http://www.sco.idaho.gov/web/DSADoc.nsf/537A2603FE4B9E198725709800689EDF/$FILE/W9andEFT.pdf

Pediatricians may qualify to receive the full incentive if they can demonstrate that they meet the
minimum 30 percent Medicaid patient volume requirements. In Idaho, a pediatrician will be considered
any physician whose National Provider Identifier (NPI) is associated with a pediatric taxonomy code,
including specialties, all of which begin with 2080. In addition, any physician who predominantly treats
individuals under 21 years of age and believes the above definition will negatively impact potential
eligibility can contact the program eligibility specialist to discuss verification for pediatric focus.

Note: EPs must reapply to Medicaid each year they wish to receive a payment.

EP payments will be made in alignment with the calendar year and an EP must begin receiving incentive
payments no later than calendar year 2016. EPs can choose to receive the EHR payment or choose to re-
assign the payment to a Medicaid contracted clinic or group to which the EP is associated. This decision
must be made when the EP registers with the CMS EHR Registration and Attestation (R&A) website. The
TIN of the individual or entity receiving the incentive payment is required when registering with CMS
and must be associated to a TIN linked to the individual EP in the IIMS. All EPs who assign payment to
themselves (and not a group or clinic) will be required to provide Idaho Medicaid with updated
information.

Note: If Idaho Medicaid determines monies have been paid inappropriately, incentive funds will be
recouped and refunded to CMS.

Out-of-State Providers

The EHR incentive payments will only be made to Idaho Medicaid providers (EPs with an Idaho Medicaid
Provider Agreement), unless they predominantly practice in an RHC or FQHC.

Program Integrity and Audit

Idaho Medicaid will be conducting regular reviews of attestations and incentive payments. These reviews
will be selected as part of the current audit selection process, including risk assessment, receipt of a
complaint, or incorporation into reviews selected for other objectives. EPs should be sure to keep their
supporting documentation for six years after each payment is received.

Administrative Appeals

EPs can choose to appeal the determination made by the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program about
the incentive payment application. All contested cases are governed by the provisions of IDAPA 16.05.03,
“Rules Governing Contested Case Proceedings and Declaratory Rulings”.

Provider Attestation Process and Validation

It is the policy of Idaho Medicaid that EPs may permit a designated representative to complete the Idaho
application/attestation forms on their behalf. The following is a description of information that will have to
be reported or attested to during the process:

e After registering for the incentive program on the CMS EHR R&A website at
http://www.cms.gov/EHRIncentivePrograms/, Idaho Medicaid will receive notification of
registration from CMS. Idaho Medicaid will do some pre-verification and then contact the EP using the
contact information provided to CMS. The EP will be given the link to the [IMS where the EP can login
to begin the application/attestation process. To log into the IIMS, the EP will need the CMS EHR
Registration ID Number, NPI, and CMS-assigned Registration ID Number.
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e The EP will then be asked to view the information that will be displayed with the pre-populated
data received from the CMS EHR R&A process.

e EPs will then be asked to enter the patient volume characteristics and EHR details.

The EP will be asked to attest to:

e Assigning the incentive payment to a specific TIN, if applicable (the name of the EP and the TIN to
which the payment was assigned will be displayed).

e Not working as a hospital-based professional (this will be verified by Idaho Medicaid through claims
analysis).

e Not applying for an incentive payment from another state or Medicare.
¢ Not applying for an incentive payment under another Idaho Medicaid ID Number.

e Adopting, implementing, or upgrading the certified EHR technology.

Note: For EPs that are ready to demonstrate meaningful use in year 1, the EP will attest to this fact. In
subsequent years, Idaho Medicaid will work with the Idaho HIE to provide a mechanism for EPs to submit
meaningful use data to Idaho Medicaid.

Once the electronic attestation is submitted by a qualifying EP and appropriate documentation
provided, Idaho Medicaid will conduct a review that will include cross-checking for potential duplication
payment requests, checking EP exclusion lists, and verifying supporting documentation.

The attestation itself will be electronic and will require the EP to attest to meeting all requirements defined
in the federal regulations. Some documentation will have to be provided to support specific elements of
attestation. All EPs will be required to submit supporting documentation for patient volume claimed in
the attestation. More information on documentation will be provided in the [IMS.

During the first year of the program, EPs will only be able to attest to adopting, implementing, or
upgrading to certified EHR technology for the Idaho Medicaid EHR Program. Documentation dated any
time before the attestation is acceptable if the system and version of EHR technology has been certified by
the ONC (the Certified Health IT Product List is on the ONC's website at www.healthit.hhs.gov).

Preparing the Documentation Required for Attestation

The following is a description of the documentation that an EP will have to upload to the [IMS
(https://IIMS.dhw.idaho.gov) during attestation:

e Proof of adopting, implementing, or upgrading to certified EHR technology — this must be a document
showing a binding agreement between the EP and the vendor, such as a contract between entities.
Idaho Medicaid only needs the most current documents for proof, not all historical documents
relating to the EHR system.

e Aninvoice showing payment for the certified EHR system (actual numbers may be blacked out).

e Apurchase order.
Note: A vendor letter is not acceptable unless submitted with additional binding documentation. The
documentation submitted must include the exact name of the EHR system including the software
version number.

12
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e A provider roster and PA-led documentation (if applicable).

e A patient volume encounter report - in the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, all EPs are
required to submit a 90-day patient volume report to support their attestation for Medicaid or needy
patient encounters. The report must be from an auditable source and system generated from the
practice’s administrative or clinic care system. The content of the report is intended to provide the
state sufficient information to validate patient encounters reported. The particular format of the
report is not as important as the content; however, it will be important to make the content clear on
the report by using headings and labels. The following are definitions of the content we require on the
report:

(@]

©)

Date: The date the report was generated.

90-Day Period: The start and end date of the 90 calendar days used to determine patient volume.
Please use the most recent completed calendar year (12 month period: January-December) prior
to the year you are completing the application/attestation. We will allow you to use an additional
two months after the calendar year, called the “tail period,” if you need to use this time frame to
meet patient volume requirements.

Name of EP: The name of the individual EP or, if an EP is using a clinic/group proxy calculation, the
name of the clinic/group.

Provider NPI: The NPI for all of the eligible providers included in the report. Every encounter
must have an NPI if it is a service provided by an EP. If the report is to support a group proxy
patient volume calculation, the report will list all encounters of all practitioners. Medicaid
understands that some non-eligible practitioners may not have an NPI.

Clinic NPI: The NPI for the clinic that is connected to this EP or group of EPs, if using the group
proxy approach for establishing patient volume.

Total Medicaid or Needy Encounters: The total number of Medicaid or needy encounters
attributable to the EP or, if using a group proxy calculation, all practitioners at the clinic/group
practice. The report could show daily, weekly, or monthly sub-totals if the EP desires. If the report
includes out-of-state Medicaid/needy encounters, they must be identified and included in both
the numerator and the denominator for the patient volume calculation.

Total Patient Encounters: The total number of patient encounters attributable to the EP or, if
using a group proxy calculation, all practitioners at the clinic/group practice. If the report includes
out-of-state Medicaid/needy encounters, they must be identified and included in both the
numerator and the denominator for the patient volume calculation. Claims that are billed as a
global service are counted as one encounter in the numerator and denominator for all payer
sources.

Note: If providers have out-of-state encounters for the period, they may include them in their encounters
only if this is needed to meet the patient volume threshold. When using out-of-state encounters, include
these numbers in both the “Total Medicaid” or “Needy Encounters” and the “Total Patient Encounters”.
Identify the state and total encounters separately in these totals to provide visibility to these numbers.
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PART Il: STEP-BY-STEP STATE INSTRUCTIONS

Overview

Idaho has implemented a web-based interface, called the Idaho Incentive Management System (IIMS), for
providers to apply and attest at the Idaho state level. To successfully use the IIMS to apply and attest, you
must:

e Be successfully registered on the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website for the
Incentive Management Program.

¢ Have the following information available:
o The National Provider Identifier (NPI) you used to register at the CMS website.

o The CMS Registration Identification Number that is associated with your NPI (provided by CMS
during registration).

o Supporting documentation on patient volume, EHR details, and PA-led clinics (if applicable).

Steps to complete your application/attestation in the IIMS include:
Log into the lIMS.

Review the CMS registration data.

Enter the eligibility details.

Review the incentive payment calculation.

Upload supporting documentation.

o vk w N

Submit the application/attestation.

The log-in process and step-by-step instructions for application, attestation, and information verification
are discussed on the following pages.
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Logging Into the IIMS

Begin the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program application and attestation process by accessing the
[IMS at https://IIMS.dhw.idaho.gov. Once there, the following page is displayed:

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Hospital User Manual

EP User Manual

CMS EHR Site In order to receive EHR incentive payments from Idaho Medicaid, you must first register at the CMS Web Site. After your registration is complete, Idaho
1D Medicaid EHR Site Medicaid will send you an email confirming that you can log in

Send E-mail

Please enter your NPI W
Please enter the CMS Assigned Registration Identifier lu—
Submit
il is.

When this page appears:

1. Enterthe NPl used when registering at the CMS EHR Incentive Program site and the CMS-assigned
Registration ID Number. If the data entered here does not match the NPI or the CMS-assigned
Registration ID Number on file, the message “Invalid NPI/Registration ID combination” will be
displayed.

2. If you do not remember your CMS-assigned Registration Identification Number, you must return to
the CMS EHR Incentive Program Registration and Attestation System to reference it.

3. Select “Submit” to log in and proceed to the CMS Registration Information page.
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CMS Registration Information (Step 1 of 5)

Upon correct validation of the log in, the following CMS Registration Information page is displayed:
Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

CMS Registration Information (Step 1 of 5)

CMS Registration Information
Eligibility Details

Payments You are currently enrolled in Idaho Medicaid's EHR Incentive Management System
IsSue/CIO"CE"‘ The current status of your application for the first year payment is 'AWAITING PROVIDER ATTESTATION'
Appeals . .
Hospital User Manual Applicant National 1100000000 Name: Jane Nimble
EP User Manual Provider Index (NPD:
CMS EHR Site Applicant TIN: 511111111 Address 1: 1234 West Staywell Ave
ID Medicaid EHR Site B figi i
Eendban ayee National Provider :
Index (NPD: e b
Payee TIN: 52 2 City/State:
Program Option: MEDICAID Zip Code:
Medicaid State: D Phone Number:
Provider Type: Physician Email:
Participation Year: 1 Specialty:

Federal Exclusions: State Rejection Reason:

Have you worked with C No @ Yes State licensed in if not in Idaho:
the Washington and

Idaho Regional

Extension Center

(WIREC)?
I—
Other State License #:
If any of the above information is incorrect, please correct on the CMS EHR Incentive Registration and Attestation System web site.
Next

Privacy | Individuals with Disabilities

Copvriaht € 2012 State of Idaho

Some of the information on this page is for review only, but some information you’ll need to provide.
When this page appears:

1. Review this information carefully. This information is populated directly from your CMS registration
information. You cannot update the existing information on this page. If you need to make updates to
the existing information, return to the CMS website and make your changes. Once you have
completed your update on the CMS website, your information will again be sent to Idaho and this
page will be updated.

Important Note: As you make your changes at the CMS website, make sure you go through the
screens, selecting “Save” and “Continue”, until you get to the “Verify Registration” page and select
“Submit”. Unless you select “Submit”, your updated data will not be sent to Idaho and your
payment will be delayed.

2. Type either “yes” or “no” to answer the question, “Have you worked with WIREC?”
Note: An answer is required.

3. Ifyou're licensed in Idaho, skip to step #4; if you are not licensed in Idaho:
a) Typethe name of the state where you are licensed in the “State licensed in if not in Idaho” field
(if you're not licensed in the state of Idaho, an answer is required).
b) Type the license number in the “Other State License” field (if you’re not licensed in Idaho, an
answer is required).

4. Select “Next” to proceed to the Provider Eligibility Details page.

16



Provider Eligibility Details (Step 2 of 5)

A graphic of the Provider Eligibility Details page is shown below. Use the step-by-step instructions below to
complete this page.

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Provider Eligibility Details (Step 2 of 5)

CMS Registration Information 4l * fields are required fields.

Eligibility Details
Payments Patient Volume: 1. No »
Issue/Concern
Appeals 2. 0
Hospital User Manual ’ :
EP User Manual 3. 'S (mm/dd/yy)
CMS EHR Site o
ID Medicaid EHR Site
Send E-mail 4. riod:
5. Total patient encol during this period

6. Is your patient volume based on needy? " |Please Select 'I What is this? This is a required field.
Please Select VI

EHR Details: 8. Enterthe C HR C tion ID of C Q0000000I0CGMAQ  hat is this?

9. Indicate the status of your EHR * € Adopt € Implement  Upgrade
Previous Next Save Cancel

Patient Volume:

1. Select “yes” or “no” from the drop down menu to indicate if your patient volume was calculated using
the group proxy method.

2. If youanswered “yes”, enter the NPI of the proxy entity (Idaho Medicaid will verify the NPI). If you
entered “no”, skip to question #3.

3. Select the starting date of the 90-day period to calculate the Medicaid/needy patient encounter
volume percentage.
Note: The date must be a valid date within the previous calendar year being attested to (January 1 -
October 2). Dates from October 3 or later will not cover a 90-day period in the previous calendar year.

4. Enter the Medicaid/needy patient encounters during this period.

Note: If using patient volume based only on Medicaid encounters, exclude seven percent for CHIP
encounters. If you are basing patient volume on needy, disregard the exclusion of CHIP encounters.
The following is an example for excluding CHIP encounters for patient volumes based on Medicaid:

e Total Medicaid encounters =120

e (Calculated CHIP amount based on seven percent state average: 8.4 and round to the nearest
whole number 8

e Net Medicaid encounters: 120-8 =112

e Result: use 112 for the Medicaid patient encounters
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Enter the number of total patient encounters during this period.

If you are basing your patient volume on needy encounters, select “yes” from the drop down menu
and answer question 6a when it appears (see graphic below). Only FQHCs or RHCs can be based on
needy; others must use Medicaid.

a. Select “yes” or “no” from the drop down menu to indicate if you practice predominantly at an
FQHC or RHC (see graphic below). If you don’t practice predominantly in an FQHC or RHC, your
payment will be $0.

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Provider Eligibility Details (Step 2 of 5)

CMS Registration Information

ity = All * fields are required fields.
Eligibility Details

Payments Patient Volume:| 1. Is your patient volume calculated using the proxy ~

Issue/Concern mé d" B By Yes

Appeals S

Hospital User Manual 2. 1 1212121212

EP User Manual 3. Sel e ,—71’2011 (mmydd/y
CMS EHR Site o b
ID Medicaid EHR Site

Send E-mail 4. Me eriod: 500

5. 1500
6. Yes Tl what s this?
6a. edominantly in an FQHC / RHC? Yes ~
i ent encounter volume percentage: 33.33%
EHR Details: 8. Entertl ertification ID of your EHR: Q000000010CGMAQ  wyhat is this?
9. Indicate the status of your EHR € Adopt © Implement © Upgr:

Previous Next Save Cancel

If you are not basing your patient volume on needy encounters, select “no” from the drop down
menu and answer question 6b (see graphic below) when it appears.

b. Use the drop down menu to indicate if you are not hospital based (see graphic below). If you are
hospital based, your payment will be SO.

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Provider Eligibility Details (Step 2 of 5)

CMS Registration Information All * fields are required fields.

Eligibility Details

Payments. Patient Volume: 1. Is your patient volume calculated using the proxy Yes |
Issue/Concern
Appeals
Hospital User Manual tznzizia
EP User Manual it 71172011 (mm/ddyyy)
CMS EHR Site -
ID Medicaid EHR Site
Send E-mail 500
1500
Mo =] whatisthis?
Not Hospital Based
33.33%
EHR Details: Q000000010CGMAQ  ~ What is this?
X of your EHR: € adopt € Implement € Upgrade
Previous Next save | Cancel

with Disabilities
State of Idaho
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7. Medicaid/needy patient volume percentage (calculated).

Note: When items #4 and #5 are entered and the cursor is moved to the next entry, the patient

volume percentage is displayed.

The following edits with messages apply:

e If the provider specialty is pediatrics and patient volume is based on Medicaid volumes but is
below the 20 percent patient volume threshold, this message will be displayed: "x.xx% - you must
meet the threshold of 20% to get an EHR Incentive Payment".

e For other provider specialties (regardless of how patient volume is based) and those below the 30
percent patient volume threshold, this message will be displayed: "x.xx% - you must meet the
threshold of 30% to get an EHR Incentive Payment".

EHR Details:

8. Thisis your CMS EHR Certification ID, which will be auto-populated from your CMS registration

information, if it was provided there. If not, the EHR Certification ID must be input here.

9. Select the status of your EHR — “Adopt”, “Implement”, or “Upgrade”.

After entering your data, you must select one of the following buttons from the bottom of the screen:

“Previous” - If you have not saved your entries, this will cancel your entries and take you to the
previous page.

“Next” - Will save your entries and take you to the Incentive Payment Calculations page.
“Save”- Will save your current entries on the page and you will remain on that page.

“Cancel” - Will replace any changes you made with data retrieved from the last time you saved
your information. For example, if you never entered anything into the page before selecting
“Cancel”, you will see blank fields.
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Incentive Payment Calculations (Step 3 of 5)
Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Incentive Payment Calculations (Step 3 of 5)

;!irvg,isbﬁi;?g::;vllzn ey Estimated Amount of Medicaid EHR Incentive Payment: | $21,250.00
Payments Previous | Next |

Issue/Concern
Appeals

Hospital User Manual
EP User Manual

CMS EHR Site

ID Medicaid EHR Site
Send E-mail

Privacy | Ind
Copyright
Allr

When this page appears:

e Review the incentive payment amount and contact the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Help
Desk if you have questions.

e Ifyou see a SO payment, you may not have met eligibility requirements; click on the “Previous”
button, which will take you back to the Provider Eligibility Details page, and check the calculated
patient volume thresholds and your answer to question #6, “Is your patient volume based on needy?”

If you are not working at an FQHC or RHC, you must use Medicaid patient encounters, which is not
needy.

e If your payment amount looks correct, select “Next” to go to the Document Upload page.
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Document Upload (Step 4 of 5)
Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Document Upload (Step 4 of 5)

CMS Registration Information
Eligibility Details

Payments

Issue/Concern

Appeals

Hospital User Manual

EP User Manual

CMS EHR Site

D Medicaid EHR Site

Send E-mail

It is required that you attach appropriate support documentation.

Click here for information on what
supporting documentation is required.

Payment Year File Name Description
No uploaded document found.

Upload & riew PDF document: Please select the documentation
type:
l— e ]--Selec! the type of document-- ;]

Upload AU

Patient Encounters

Proxy Calculation

Physician Assistant Led Doc
Miscellaneous

Previous | Next

Privacy | Individuals v s
Copyright © 20
All rights reserved

When this page appears:

e You may not have to do anything. Medicaid should have all the pertinent information to support your
attestation; however, you may be instructed to upload additional documentation.
Note: Only PDF files can be uploaded.

e  You will still be able to upload files even after you have completed your attestation.

e Selecting “Next” will take you to the Attestation page of the IIMS.
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Attestation (Step 5 of 5)

Idaho Medicaid

Required:
1. Enter your initials or name and the provider’s
NPI at the bottom of the screen.

Incentive Program

e This will serve as your electronic signature.

e By entering this information, you attest to
the validity of all data submitted for
consideration by the Idaho Medicaid EHR
Incentive Program.

2. Select “Submit”.
Important: After you select “Submit”, YOU
CANNOT GO BACK AND MAKE ANY CHANGES.

e Once you select “Submit”, it will take you
to the first page of your attestation, “CMS
[ : : Registration Information (Step 1 of 5)”, to
: : review. You can select “Previous” and
“Next” to view the attestation pagesin a
review mode only.

e Selecting “Submit” will notify Idaho
Medicaid that the provider’s attestation is
ready for final eligibility review.

T -
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The attestation text is shown here:

ATTESTATION

FOR PARTICIPATION IN THE

IDAHO MEDICAID EHR INCENTIVE PROGRAM

This Attestation is required for participation in the Idaho Medicaid Electronic Health Record (EHR) Incentive Payment Program
to eligible professionals (EPs) and eligible hospitals who adopt, implement, upgrade (AlIU), or meaningfully use (MU) certified
EHR technology. Participation must be in accordance with the requirements under United States Department of Health and
Human Services, Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services Final Rule regulations 42 CFR 495, “Standards for the Electronic
Health Record Incentive Program”, revised July 28, 2010. These regulations implement the HITECH Act, part of the American
Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 (ARRA) (Public Law 111-5). To comply with the above cited regulations, the Idaho
Department of Health and Welfare (Department) requires that EPs and eligible hospitals submit this Attestation.

This Attestation certifies the following is known and understood:

1. EPsare prohibited from seeking payment from another state or from the Medicare EHR incentive program in this payment
year (applicable to EP only).

2. The Department can review, verify, and/or audit all information provided by the EP or eligible hospital, both prior to and after
payment has been made.

3. The Department can request AlU and/or MU supporting information either at the time of attestation or after, and can review,
verify, and/or audit both prior to and after payment has been made.

4. TheEP or eligible hospital is required to retain the documentation that verifies patient volume calculations, AlU, MU, and any
other information that validates the appropriateness of the EHR incentive payments received, and do so for six years from the
date of payment.

5. The submission of any false information in this agreement or this process may result in the EP or eligible hospital being
declared ineligible to participate in the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.

6. Anyincentive payments paid to the EP or eligible hospital that are later found to have been made based on fraudulent or
inaccurate information or attestation may be recouped by the Department or other appropriate state or federal agency.

7. The EHR incentive payments will be treated like all other income and are subject to federal and state laws regarding income
tax, wage garnishment, and debt recoupment.

This Attestation also certifies that the following is true and accurate:

1. With awareness and informed consent, this EP or eligible hospital is voluntarily participating in the Idaho Medicaid EHR
Incentive Program.

2. The EHR certification number provided is the correct number and accurately represents the certified EHR system or
combination of certified EHR modules adopted and/or in use by this EP, group practice, or eligible hospital.

3. Anyreassignment of an EHR incentive payment is made voluntarily, which assumes informed consent has been given by the
EP, who understands that the party so designated—not the EP—wiill receive the payment (applicable to EPs only).

4. The person completing this electronic attestation is the EP or the assigned representative of the EP, group practice, or eligible

hospital who has been duly authorized to commit the EP or eligible hospital to the statements set forth in this attestation

(applicable to EPs only).

If patient volume threshold is derived using encounter data from multiple practice locations, at least one of those locations

must have a certified EHR (applicable to EPs only).

6. Ifthe EPis a physician assistant, he or she is practicing in a physician assistant led FQHC or RHC.

v

| CERTIFY THAT the information provided in this Attestation and during the registration process, as well as in the documents
submitted in support of registration, are true, accurate, and complete. | hereby agree to retain such records for six years from the
date of payment as are necessary to demonstrate | meet the program requirements, and to furnish those records to the Idaho
Department of Health and Welfare, Division of Medicaid, or contractor acting on their behalf, upon request, before and/or after
payment. | have read and understood this entire Attestation. | understand that any Medicaid EHR incentive payment made, in
part or wholly as a result of this Attestation, will be from federal funds and that falsification or concealment of material facts may
be prosecuted under federal and state laws.
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Other Supporting Pages
The following pages are additional resources the provider may find useful when interacting with the Idaho
Medicaid EHR Incentive Program.

The provider must be logged into the IIMS to see the left side menu items as shown below. The
highlighted links will be described in the following pages.

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

CMS Registration Information

Eligibility Details
Payments
Issue/Concern
Appeals

Hospital User Manual
EP User Manual
CMS EHR Site
ID Medicaid EHR Stt
Send E-mail
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Payments

To access this page, select “Payments” from the left side menu. After payment has been disbursed, the
provider may review payments and any payment adjustments.

Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Payments

Payments Details:

CMS Registration Information
Eligibility Details

Payments

issue/Concern

Appeals Payment Year Payment Amount Payment Date Payment Type
Hospital User Manual
P User Manual No payments found

CMS EHR Site
ID Medicaid EHR Site
send E-mail

Privacy | Individuals with Disabilities
Copyright © 2012 State of Idaho
All rights reserved
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Issue/Concern
Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

Issues/Concerns

If you have any issue with the determination of your incentive payment application including but not limited to Eligibility, Patient volume or Payment Amount, you

CMS Registration Information

Eligibility Details can notify us using the form below. Please be further advised that you also have acccess to a formal appeal process
Payments
Issue/Concern 3 i
Bppeals View Issue Date Entered Issue/Concern Status Issue/Concern Description Issue Category
Hospital User Manual No issues found
EP User Manual
CMS EHR Site
ID Medicaid EHR Site
Send E-mail Enter the issue/Concern below:
Issue
e |~~Se|ect the category belm\w;]
=
Description:

Submit

Privacy | Individuals with Disabilities
Coovriaht @ 2012 State of Idaho

To access this page:

1. Select “Issue/Concern” from the left side menu. You can open an issue/concern to the Idaho Medicaid
EHR Incentive Program Help Desk where they will be regularly monitored.

2. Select one of the following issue categories from the drop down menu in the center of the page:
e Patient Volume
e Payment Amount
e Eligibility

e Other
3. Enter a description with your contact information.
4. Select “Submit”. Your issue/concern will be monitored by our Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

Help Desk for follow up.



Appeals
Idaho Medicaid

Incentive Program

CMS Registration Information
Eligibility Details

dayments

lssue/Concern

Appeals Department of Health and Welfare Rules, IDAPA 16, Title 5, Chapter 3, Sed
Hospital User Manual

EP User Manual

CMS EHR Site

1D Medicaid EHR Site
send E-mail

tion 300, specifies your right to request an administrative review of any
reimbursement calculation. The aforementioned procedures must be followed in order to preserve your appeal rights. The first step in that process is to
request a review by the Administrator of the Division of Medicaid. Such a request should be addressed as follows:

Administrator

Division of Medicaid, Attn: Appeals
Idaho Department of Health and Welfare
P.O. Box
Boise, Idaho

Your written request must be received by this office within twenty-eight (28) days of your receipt of a denial letter to be considered. If you have additional
participant documentation that was available and relevant at the time of the request but not previously provided that you would like the Department to
consider, please enclose it with your request for administrative review.
Privacy | Ind with Disabilities
Copyright © tate of Idaho
reserved.

To access this page:
1. Select “Appeals” from the left side menu.

2. Review the information to ensure any appeals you would like to file are sent to the correct location.
Note: A provider can only submit appeals in writing.
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Send E-mail

ey )\ | i ) ¥
t.:j )
= >/ Message Insert Options Format Text ©
= b 2| R : 3 0@ 0 &~ ;
B, EEEE) 6 &2 |
|
Encrypt | Paste B 7 Ul \ = = =||&= z=|| Address Check ~ Follow | g | Spelling
& Send —l— == Book Names @ yp - -
ZixSelect| | Clipboard Basic Text Names Include Options @ || Proofing
To... |ehrincent»ves@idaho.gov
ce ||
Subject: I[daho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program
&
a
-

To access this page:

1. Select “Send E-mail” from the left side menu to initiate the e-mail application on the provider’s
computer.
Note: This is the same as clicking on the “Send email to: EHRincentives@dhw.idaho.gov” on the Idaho
Medicaid EHR Incentive Program website.

2. Enter the message and send the email.
Note: If you have problems with your email system, please contact your local office’s IT support for
assistance before contacting the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program Help Desk.
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APPENDIX

Resources

Final Rule
The Medicare and Medicaid Programs; Electronic Health Record Incentive Program Final Rule located at
http://edocket.access.gpo.gov/2010/pdf/2010-17207.pdf.

Eligible Professional and Eligible Hospital Attestation Portal
Idaho Incentive Management System (IIMS) located at http://www.MedicaidEHR.dhw.idaho.gov.

Medicare and Medicaid Electronic Health Records (EHR) Incentive Program
The CMS website about EHR located at http://www.cms.gov/EHRIncentivePrograms/, which requires
you to create a login and password to access.

Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC)
Additional information about health information technology is located at
http://healthit.hhs.gov/portal/server.pt/community/healthit_hhs gov_home/.

Regional Extension Centers (RECs)

The Washington Idaho Regional Extension Center (WIREC) is designated to provide technical assistance to
Idaho’s eligible professionals. WIREC provides a full range of assistance related to EHR selection and
training.

Qualis Health Peggy Evans, PhD, CPHIT
PO Box 33400 WIREC Director

Seattle, WA 98133-0400 peggye@qualishealth.org
Phone: (206) 364-9700 (206) 288-2471

Toll-free: (800) 949-7536

Fax: (206) 366-3370 Kristin Johnson
http://www.wirecgh.org/ WIREC Project Coordinator

kristinj@qualishealth.org
(206) 288-2357
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Frequently Asked Questions About Using a Provider Roster

Is using a proxy required?

The Medicaid EHR Incentive Program does not require an EP to use one method of patient volume
calculation over the other. All EPs are free to use an individual patient volume calculation or a group proxy
calculation. All EPs are encouraged to talk with their clinic’s or organization’s administration as they may
have a preference.

What'’s the best way to establish a group approach?

All EPs enrolling in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program from a clinic/organization must use the same
approach for any given calendar year to meet patient volume requirements. The first provider approved
for payment will set the approach for the clinic/organization. For example:

o If the first provider enrolling from a clinic/organization attests to individual patient volumes (and is
approved for payment), all providers subsequently enrolling for that calendar year from that
clinic/organization will be required to attest to individual patient volumes and are not allowed to use a
proxy at either the organization or clinic level.

e If thefirst provider enrolling from a clinic/organization attests to the group proxy calculation for the
clinic/organization, subsequent providers associated with that clinic/organization will be required to
attest to the same overall patient volumes using the same group proxy worksheet. They will not be
given the opportunity to use individual patient volumes.

Is there an example of a group proxy calculation?
The following excerpt from the CMS FAQ# 10362 illustrates how the group proxy calculation is to be
applied:

If an eligible professional in the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program wants to leverage a clinic or group
practice’s patient volume as a proxy for the individual eligible professional (EP), how should a clinic or group
practice account for EPs practicing with us part-time and/or applying for the incentive through a different
location (e.g., where an EP is practicing both inside and outside the clinic/group practice, such as part-time
in two clinics)?

EPs may use a clinic or group practice’s patient volume as a proxy for their own under three conditions:

1. The clinic or group practice’s patient volume is appropriate as a patient volume methodology
calculation for the EP (for example, if an EP only sees Medicare, commerecial, or self-pay patients, this is
not an appropriate calculation);

2. Thereis an auditable data source to support the clinic’s patient volume determination; and

3. Solong as the practice and EPs decide to use one methodology in each year (in other words, clinics
could not have some of the EPs using their individual patient volume for patients seen at the clinic,
while others use the clinic-level data).

The clinic or practice must use the entire practice’s patient volume and not limit it in any way. EPs may
attest to patient volume under the individual calculation or the group/clinic proxy in any participation year.
Furthermore, if the EP works in both the clinic and outside the clinic (or with and outside a group practice),
then the clinic/practice level determination includes only those encounters associated with the
clinic/practice. In order to provide examples of this answer, please refer to Clinics A and B, and assume
that these clinics are legally separate entities.
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If Clinic A uses the clinic's patient volume as a proxy for all eligible professionals practicing in Clinic A, this
would not preclude the part-time eligible professional from using the patient volume associated with Clinic
B and claiming the incentive for the work performed in Clinic B. In other words, such an eligible
professional would not be required to use the patient volume of Clinic A simply because Clinic A chose to
invoke the option to use the group proxy calculation patient volume. However, such eligible professional's
Clinic A patient encounters are still counted in Clinic A's overall patient volume calculation. In addition, the
eligible professional could not use his or her patient encounters from clinic A in calculating his or her
individual patient volume. The intent of the flexibility for the proxy volume (requiring all eligible
professionals in the group practice or clinic to use the same methodology for the payment year) was to
ensure against eligible professionals within the same clinic/group practice measuring patient volume from
that same clinic/group practice in different ways. The intent of these conditions was to prevent high
Medicaid volume eligible professionals from applying using their individual patient volume, where the
lower Medicaid patient volume eligible professionals then use the clinic volume, which would of course be
inflated for these lower-volume eligible professionals.

CLINIC A (with a fictional eligible professional and provider type)
e EP#1 (physician): individually had 40 percent Medicaid encounters (80/200 encounters)
e EP#2 (nurse practitioner): individually had 50 percent Medicaid encounters (50/100 encounters)

e Practitioner at the clinic, but not an EP (registered nurse): individually had 75 percent Medicaid
encounters (150/200)

e Practitioner at the clinic, but not an EP (pharmacist): individually had 80 percent Medicaid encounters
(80/100)

e EP #3 (physician): individually had 10 percent Medicaid encounters (30/300)
e EP #4 (dentist): individually had 5 percent Medicaid encounters (5/100)
e EP#5 (dentist): individually had 10 percent Medicaid encounters (20/200)

In this scenario, there are 1200 encounters in the selected 90-day period for Clinic A. There are 415
encounters attributable to Medicaid, which is 35 percent of the clinic's volume. This means that five of the
seven professionals would meet the Medicaid patient volume criteria under the rules for the EHR
Incentive Program (two of the professionals are not eligible for the program on their own, but their clinical
encounters at Clinic A should be included). The purpose of these rules is to prevent duplication of
encounters. For example, if the two highest volume Medicaid EPs in this clinic (EPs #1 and #2) were to
apply on their own (they have enough Medicaid patients to do that), the clinic's 35 percent Medicaid
patient volume is no longer an appropriate proxy for the low-volume providers (e.g., EPs #4 and #5). If EP
#2 is practicing part-time at both Clinic A, and another clinic, Clinic B, and both Clinics are using the clinic
level proxy option, each such clinic would use the encounters associated with the respective clinics when
developing a proxy value for the entire clinic. EP #2 could then apply for an incentive using data from one
clinic or the other.

Similarly, if EP #4 is practicing both at Clinic A, and has her own practice, EP # 4 could choose to use the
proxy level Clinic A patient volume data, or the patient volume associated with her individual practice. She
could not, however, include the Clinic A patient encounters in determining her individual practice's
Medicaid patient volume. In addition, her Clinic A patient encounters would be included in determining
such clinic's overall Medicaid patient volume.
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Related Frequently Asked Questions From CMS’s Website
Regarding Getting EHR Certification

How do | know if my EHR system is certified? How can | get my EHR system certified?

Published 08/16/2010 05:02 PM | Updated 06/21/201102:00PM | CMS Answer ID 10094

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs require the use of certified EHR technology, as
established by a new set of standards and certification criteria. Existing EHR technology needs to be
certified by an ONC-Authorized Testing and Certification Body (ONC-ATCB) to meet these new criteria in
order to qualify for the incentive payments. The Certified Health IT Product List (CHPL) is available at
http://www.healthit.hhs.gov/CHPL. This is a list of complete EHRs and EHR modules that have been
certified for the purposes of this program.

Through the temporary certification program, new certification bodies have been established to test and
certify EHR technology. Vendors can submit their EHR products to the certifying bodies to be tested and
certified. Hospitals and practices who have developed their own EHR systems or products can also seek to
have their existing systems or products tested and certified. Complete EHRs may be certified as well as
EHR modules that meet at least one of the certification criteria. Once a product is certified, the name of
the product will be published on the ONC's website at http://www.healthit.hhs.gov/CHPL. For more
information, please visit the ONC's website at healthit.hhs.gov/certification.

Must providers have their EHR technology certified prior to beginning the EHR reporting period in order
to demonstrate meaningful use under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs?

Published 09/27/2010 05:50 PM | Updated 03/24/201111:11AM | CMS Answer ID 10157

EPs may begin the EHR reporting period for demonstrating meaningful use before their EHR technology is
certified. Certification need only be obtained prior to the end of the EHR reporting period. However,
meaningful use must be completed using the capabilities and standards outlined in the ONC Standards
and Certification Regulation for certified EHR technology. Any changes to the EHR technology after the
beginning of the EHR reporting period that are made in order to get the EHR technology certified would be
evidence the EP was not using the capabilities and standards necessary to accomplish meaningful use
because those capabilities and standards would not have been available, and thus, any such change (even
minimal) would disqualify the EP from being a meaningful EHR user. If EPs begin the EHR reporting period
prior to certification of their EHR technology, they are taking the risk that their EHR technology will not
require any changes for certification. Any changes made to gain certification must be done prior to
beginning the EHR reporting period during which meaningful use will be demonstrated. This does not
apply to changes made to EHR technology that were not necessary for certification.

My EHR system is CCHIT certified, does that mean it is certified for the EHR Incentive Programs?
Published 06/22/2009 03:52 PM | Updated 06/21/201102:00 PM | CMS Answer ID 9809

No. All EHR systems and technology must be certified specifically for this program. The Certified Health IT
Product List is available at http://www.healthit.nhs.gov/CHPL. This is a list of all complete EHRs and EHR
modules that have been certified for the purposes of this program.

The Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive Programs require the use of certified EHR technology, as
established by a new set of standards and certification criteria. Existing EHR technology needs to be
certified by an ONC-Authorized Testing and Certification Body (ONC-ATCB) to meet these new criteria in
order to qualify for the incentive payments.
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Through the temporary certification program, new certification bodies have been established to test and
certify EHR technology. Vendors can submit their EHR products to the certifying bodies to be tested and
certified. Hospitals and practices who have developed their own EHR systems or products can also seek to
have their existing systems or products tested and certified. Complete EHRs may be certified as well as
EHR modules that meet at least one of the certification criteria. Once a product is certified, the name of
the product will be published on the ONC'’s website at http://www.healthit.hhs.gov/CHPL.

If a provider purchases a certified complete EHR or has a combination of certified EHR modules that
collectively satisfy the definition of certified EHR technology, but opts to use a different, uncertified EHR
technology to meet certain meaningful use core or menu set objectives and measures, will that provider
be able to successfully demonstrate meaningful use under the Medicare and Medicaid EHR Incentive
Programs?

Published 04/22/2011 02:03 PM | Updated 04/26/201105:48PM | CMS Answer ID 10590

No, the EP would not be able to successfully demonstrate meaningful use. To successfully demonstrate
meaningful use, a provider must do three things:

1. Have certified EHR technology capable of demonstrating meaningful use, either through a complete
certified EHR or a combination of certified EHR modules;

2. Meet the measures or exclusions for 20 meaningful use objectives (19 objectives for eligible hospitals
and Critical Access Hospitals (CAHs)); and

3. Meet those measures using the capabilities and standards that were certified to accomplish each
objective.

An EP using uncertified EHR technology to meet one or more of the core or menu set measures would not
be using the capabilities and standards that were certified to accomplish each objective. Please note that
this does not apply to the use of uncertified EHR technology and/or paper-based records for purposes of
reporting on certain meaningful use measures (i.e., measures other than clinical quality measures), which
is addressed in FAQ #10589.

Additional Information
If you have guestions or issues concerning the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program, please visit
www.MedicaidEHR.dhw.idaho.gov. There you will find an “Ask the Program” feature that will allow you to

send questions to program staff. You can also e-mail questions to EHRincentives@dhw.idaho.gov or call
(208) 332-7989.
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