
  

IDAHO MEDICAID ELECTRONIC HEALTH RECORDS (EHR): REGISTRATION AND PAYMENT INCENTIVES 
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS  

 

Question 
 

Answer 
 

1. If my EHR system costs 
more than the incentive 
the government will pay, 
can I get additional funds? 

The Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program does not provide for incentive payments 
beyond the limits established by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act 
(ARRA), regardless of the cost of the EHR systems chosen by eligible professionals 
(EPs) or eligible hospitals (EHs). The purpose of the incentive payments is to 
encourage the adoption and meaningful use of certified EHR technology for improved 
health outcomes, not to act as a reimbursement for the system and support costs. 

2. How is the Idaho Medicaid 
incentive payment 
calculated for a hospital? 

The aggregate hospital incentive payment calculation will be used to determine the 
incentive payment amount for each individual hospital.  The equation, as determined 
by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) rule, includes: 
• Overall EHR Amount = {Sum over 4 year of [(Base Amount plus Discharge 

Related Amount Applicable for Each Year) times Transition Factor Applicable for Each 
Year]}  

• Medicaid Share = (Medicaid inpatient-bed days) ÷ (total inpatient-bed days) x 
(estimated total charges - charity care charges) ÷ (estimated total charges) 

Mathematically, the aggregate hospital incentive payment is the product of the 
Overall EHR Amount multiplied by the Medicaid Share.  The Overall EHR Amount and 
Medicaid Share are described below: 

• The Overall EHR Amount has been determined as the Initial Amount multiplied by 
the Transition Factor. 

• The Initial Amount is calculated in four steps: 
1. The discharge growth factor was compiled using data for a four-year period to 

arrive at a figure for average growth, or negative growth, for each hospital. 
2. For the first payment year, discharges are equal to the number of discharges in 

the last-filed cost-report year; for year two, discharges equal this same number 
multiplied by the discharge growth factor; for year three, discharges equal the 
calculated discharges for year two multiplied, again, by the same discharge 
growth factor; and for year four, discharges equal the calculated discharges for 
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year three multiplied by the discharge growth factor once again.  
3. The discharge-related amount for each year was determined by multiplying the 

number of discharges for each year by $200 as calculated above.  
Note: This means discharge numbers between (but not including) the 1,149th 
and the 23,001st discharge. 

4. Each of these four discharge-related amounts, so derived for each of the four 
years, is added to the $2 million annual base amount. Taken together, these 
four amounts equal the Initial Amount. 

• Transition Factor: 
o The four sums from step four above, are then multiplied by the appropriate 

transition factors (1.0 for year one, .75 for year two, .5 for year three, and .25 
for year four). 

o The sum of these four annual amounts equals the Overall EHR Amount. 
• Medicaid Share is a fraction determined as follows: 

o Numerator 
 The estimated number of inpatient-bed days attributable to Medicaid 

patients plus the estimated number of inpatient-bed days in the same period 
attributable to individuals who are enrolled in a managed care organization 
and a pre-paid inpatient health plan, or a pre-paid ambulatory health plan. 

 Both of these numbers are from the latest certified hospital cost report data.  
o Denominator 

 The estimated total number of inpatient-bed days during the same period, 
multiplied by another fraction involving: 
1.  The numerator - the estimated total amount of the EH’s charges during 

that period, excluding charges attributable to charity care. 
2.  The denominator - the estimated total amount of the EH’s charges during 

the same period. 
3. How will the payments to 

Idaho hospitals be 
distributed across 
participation years? 

Idaho will distribute annual payments over three years according to the following 
percentages: 
• Participation Year 1: 50% of aggregate EHR hospital incentive amount 
• Participation Year 2: 40% of aggregate EHR hospital incentive amount 
• Participation Year 3: 10% of aggregate EHR hospital incentive amount 
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4. How much will EPs and 
EHs receive in incentive 
payments? 

EPs can receive up to $63,750 over the six years that they choose to participate in the 
program. The first year’s payment is $21,250 with payments of $8,500 over the 
remaining five years. An EP who is a pediatrician with a Medicaid patient volume of 
less than 30%, but meets the patient volume requirement of at least 20%, is limited 
to a maximum payment in the first payment year of $14,167 and a maximum 
payment in subsequent years of $5,667. The maximum amount for a pediatrician 
under this limitation shall not exceed $42,500. Pediatricians meeting the 30% patient 
volume threshold will be eligible to receive the maximum incentive payment amount. 
Pediatricians can qualify at either the 20% or 30% Medicaid threshold, but there is no 
sliding scale between 20% and 30%. EHs may receive payments over three years 
with the payment breakout of 50% in the first year; 40% the second year; and 10% 
the third year. 

5. What should I do if I have 
registered in the CMS 
Registration and 
Attestation (R&A) System 
but can’t access the state 
application? 

Idaho Medicaid will perform a pre-verification after you register at the CMS site. You 
will receive an email either inviting you to begin attestation with the state or asking 
you to resolve an issue. Please contact the Idaho Medicaid EHR Help Desk at (208) 
332-7989 for help resolving access issues.  
 

6. What should I do if I get 
an error when I try and 
access my state 
application or can’t find 
the application link?  

Please contact the Idaho Medicaid EHR Help Desk at (208)332-7989 for help resolving 
log-in issues.  
 

7. I was notified that I have 
been approved to receive 
an incentive payment this 
year. How long will I have 
to wait before I receive 
the payment? 

Once the state has approved an EP or EH to receive an incentive payment, it sends 
the payment information for mandatory review and confirmation by CMS. When CMS 
completes this review and confirms payment, the incentive payment will be prepared 
for disbursement. If the application comes back from CMS with no issues, approved 
applicants should see their payment no later than 45 days from the eligibility 
determination. In order to receive an EHR payment, the entity receiving the payment 
must be enrolled as a vendor with the state of Idaho. If you are already electronic 
fund transfer (EFT) enabled, incentive payments will come to you electronically. If 
you’re not EFT enabled, the system sends a paper check to the payee’s NPI address. 
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8. My practice is applying 
under the group proxy 
method.  Do I submit the 
documentation for the 
practice showing that we 
adopted, implemented, or 
upgraded (AIU) an EHR or 
do I have to provide AIU 
information for each 
applying professional? 

In the interest of minimizing administrative burden, group practices and clinics are 
encouraged to gather the AIU and license documentation once and create a PDF file 
and provide it to all associated EPs so they may each separately upload the file during 
their Idaho application/attestation.   
 

9. After I complete CMS 
registration, when can I 
expect to hear from the 
state? 

CMS will alert the state within 48 hours that you have completed registration. Within 
7 days, the state will send you an email notification signifying it is ready for you to 
begin your application and provide additional instruction. This notification will be sent 
to the contact name and address provided at CMS registration. 

10. Which national provider 
identifiers (NPIs) should 
I be using to register 
with CMS and the state? 

Here are the definitions of each NPI that is in use during the application and 
submission program:  

• Payee NPI – The NPI of the individual or organization to receive the payment. In 
the case of re‐assignment, the EP must be a servicing provider directly associated 
under this NPI. If the EP is not a servicing provider under the payee NPI – the 
process stops until either the payee NPI is changed/or the EP is added as a 
servicing provider under the payee NPI.  

• Organizational NPI – the NPI used to calculate patient volume. This is only entered 
in the state EHR registration, and only when an EP is using the group proxy for the 
purposes of patient volume. All EPs in a group who are using the group proxy must 
use the same organizational NPI. The organizational NPI does not have to be the 
same as the payee NPI.  

• EP NPI – The NPI of the eligible professional. 
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11. Do providers have to 
apply every year for the 
Idaho Medicaid EHR 
Incentive Program? 

Providers must apply every year they wish to receive an Idaho Medicaid EHR incentive 
payment. Providers are only required to register once in CMS’s R&A system, but they 
must apply each year for the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program via the Idaho Incentive 
Management System (IIMS). In addition, providers must successfully demonstrate 
AIU (first participation year) or meaningful use each year in order to receive an 
incentive payment for the corresponding year. Providers seeking the Medicaid 
incentive must re‐attest each year to other program requirements. 

12. Can EPs allow another 
person to register or 
attest for them? 

Yes. A person other than the program participant, such as an office manager, staffer, 
or designated individual, may register or attest on behalf of an EP. This includes 
allowing them to initiate program registration at the CMS website as well as complete 
the state’s EHR incentive program application. 

13. Will providers be allowed 
to use a proxy for 
attestation or will they 
need to do it themselves? 

Providers can allow a third person to attest on their behalf. However, the provider 
maintains full responsibility for the information submitted on their behalf. 

14. Which option do I select 
when registering on 
behalf of an EP in the 
CMS Identity and Access 
(I&A) Management 
System? 

Click on “You are requesting to act on behalf of an individual provider.” 

15. If the group practice bore 
the cost of AIU, but each 
physician applies 
individually, who is 
entitled to the incentive 
payment? 

Incentive payments are made to individual EPs; however, the EP may voluntarily 
assign the incentive payment to their practice. The payee NPI and tax identification 
number (TIN) will be needed at registration to indicate to whom the payment will be 
made. 

16. If I am an EP who is 
assigning my incentive 
payment to the entity 
that owns my clinic or 
practice, who will receive 
the 1099 tax document? 

If you have voluntarily agreed to assign payment to the facility, the facility will receive 
the 1099 because the payment was assigned to its TIN. 
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17. Will there be any 
restrictions on how the 
incentive payments can 
be used? 

No, there is not a restriction on how the incentive payment is spent once the payment 
is disbursed to the provider.  However, the intent of the Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive 
Program is to provide financial incentives to EPs for AIU and meaningful use to help 
them offset the cost of acquiring an EHR system.  

18. How does an EP register 
and apply to receive 
incentive payments? 

An EP must begin by registering in the CMS R&A system. In order to successfully 
register with CMS, an EP must have:  

• An active NPI number.  

• A National Plan and Provider Enumeration System (NPPES) web user account.  
The provider will use their NPPES user ID and password to log into the system.  

• A payee TIN (if incentive payments are being reassigned).  

• A payee NPI (if incentive payments are being reassigned).  
 
Within 48 hours after you successfully register with CMS, the IIMS will be notified.  
EPs will be directed to the IIMS application system to continue with their state 
application. At that time, EPs will need their: 

• NPI 

• Tax ID number 

• CMS Registration ID 

• 90-day reporting period for the patient volume calculation 

• Patient volume information to determine if the eligibility requirements are met 

• The CMS EHR certification number provided by the Office of the National 
Coordinator (ONC) for the certified EHR technology 

• Documentation supporting AIU that must be uploaded during the registration 
process 

Note: EPs will be required to register with IIMS each year they seek an incentive 
payment. 

 

http://www.cms.gov/Regulations-and-Guidance/Legislation/EHRIncentivePrograms/RegistrationandAttestation.html
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19. How does an EH register 
and enroll to receive 
incentive payments? 

An EH must begin the registration process by first registering with CMS. In order to 
successfully register with CMS, an EH must have:  

• A CMS I&A management system user ID and password. 

• An active NPI.  

• An enrollment record in the Provider Enrollment, Chain, and Ownership System 
(PECOS). Users working on behalf of an EH must have an I&A system web user 
account and be associated to an organizational NPI.  

• A CMS certification number (CCN).  

• A hospital TIN.  
 
After registering on the CMS R&A system website, the EH must register with the 
Idaho Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. After successfully registering with CMS, EHs 
will be directed to the IIMS application system to continue with registration. All EHs 
will also need: 

• Patient volume information to determine if the hospital meets the eligibility 
requirements. 

• Demographic data needed for the incentive payment calculator. 

• The CMS EHR certification number provided by the ONC for the certified EHR 
technology. 

• Documentation supporting AIU that must be uploaded during the registration 
process. 

Note: EHs will be required to register with IIMS each year they seek an incentive 
payment. 

20. How does the 
application/attestation 
process work? 

1. The provider registers at CMS’s R&A system web page. There is a link on the CMS 
website along with a guide from CMS about how to register. 

2. Once the registration is complete, CMS will verify the information and send the 
registration information to Idaho Medicaid.  
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3. Idaho Medicaid EHR staff then completes preliminary verification.  

4. Once that verification is complete, Idaho Medicaid EHR staff sends an email to the 
person, using the address identified in CMS’s R&A system, letting them know that it 
is time to apply/attest to Idaho Medicaid. A link to the IIMS will be included in that 
email.   

5. The provider completes the application/attestation, attaches the required 
supporting documentation, and submits it.   

6. Idaho Medicaid EHR staff then completes verification of attestation information. 

7. The EHR staff will request approval for payment to CMS and notify providers of 
their eligibility status. 

 
21. How are Idaho Medicaid 

EHR incentive payments 
issued? 

1. In order to receive EHR incentive payments from Medicaid, the entity receiving the 
payment (the provider, clinic, or hospital) must be enrolled as a vendor with the 
state of Idaho.  

2. Payments will be made to the TIN selected at the time of the CMS site registration, 
through the state financial system. 

3. A single consolidated annual incentive payment will be made to an EP or their 
designated payee.  

4. Incentive payments are treated like all other income.  

5. Payments will be made as soon as the state has verified and confirmed that the EP 
or EH has met the required criteria for AIU (for the first payment year) or has 
demonstrated meaningful use (for subsequent payment years) for the applicable 
EHR reporting periods (90 days for the first year or a full calendar year for EPs and 
fiscal year for EHs for subsequent years).  

6. Payments are made using EFT.  
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22. Can an EP reassign 
payments? 

An EP may reassign incentive payments to an employer or entity with which the EP 
has a valid contractual arrangement allowing the employer or entity to bill and receive 
payment for the EP’s covered professional services. An EP may not reassign an 
incentive payment to more than one employer or entity. In cases where EPs are 
associated with more than one practice, the EP must select one TIN to receive any 
applicable EHR incentive payment. Partial reassignment of payments is not permitted.  
During the application process, applicants will attest to this relationship and that the 
assignment is voluntary. Election to reassign payment must be made at the time of 
CMS registration and requires a payee TIN and NPI. 
 
 

23. If a critical access 
hospital does not have 
more than 1,149 
discharges, does that 
mean they are not 
eligible for payments? 

 

It means they would not get the discharge allowance. All EHs start at a $2 million 
base per year and adjust according to their Medicaid share.  
 

24. I participate in Medicaid 
programs from two 
states; can I receive an 
EHR incentive payment 
from both states? 

 
 

No, EPs and EHs can only receive an EHR incentive payment from one state in a 
program year. Providers can change the state they choose to participate with from 
year to year.  

25. May a hospital apply for 
Medicaid incentive 
payments from multiple 
states? 

 

An EH may receive a Medicaid incentive payment from only one state in a program 
year. 
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26. If we hire a provider in 
mid-2011 and this 
provider has already 
received an EHR 
incentive payment 
through a previous 
group, can we still 
receive an incentive 
payment for this 
provider? 

The new provider cannot receive an additional incentive payment in 2012. Each EP 
may be eligible to receive an incentive payment once per year for the duration of the 
program. An EP may retain the payment or assign the incentive payment to the 
group.  
 
 

27. How do we ensure that 
the previous group does 
not get the incentive 
payment for this provider 
in 2012? 

Once the provider starts working at a new practice, the provider’s information needs 
to be update in CMS’s R&A system to reflect the new practice before the 2012 
attestation. All EPs are required to validate and attest to EHR program criteria every 
year. Payments are tracked by CMS to ensure that duplicate payments are not made. 

28. Where can I find the 
cost-report numbers that 
I am responsible for 
entering in my Idaho 
Medicaid EHR Incentive 
Program application? 

The cost-report numbers are listed on the IIMS screen that asks you for the 
information. 

29. I am an EH registering 
for both the Medicare and 
Idaho Medicaid EHR 
Incentive Programs, do I 
have to attest to 
meaningful use in the 
first payment year? 

Not necessarily. If your hospital has registered AND attested to meaningful use under 
the Medicare EHR Incentive Program, in order to receive a payment, your hospital is 
deemed a meaningful user and it is not necessary to attest to meaningful use or AIU 
for the first year payment for Medicaid EHR. If you have not yet attested to 
meaningful use for Medicare, you may attest to AIU regardless of the fact that you 
may attest to meaningful use for the Medicare EHR Incentive Program in future 
payment years. 

30. Can I continue to 
participate if I’ve joined 
a new practice? 

Payment schedules are tied to the individual EP and not the practice. Therefore, if an 
EP leaves or arrives at a facility, the EP may still participate as long as eligibility 
criteria are still met. This also applies to all EPs who are transferring over state lines. 
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31. If a practice hires a 
provider in 2011, is 2012 
the first year in which 
payment can be received 
for this provider? 

A provider who joins a practice in 2011 is eligible for an incentive payment in 2011 if 
the group proxy is used to meet the patient volume requirements. 

32. Can an EP enroll in both 
the Idaho Medicaid EHR 
Incentive Program and 
the Medicare EHR 
Incentive Program? 

No. EPs must select either the Medicare or Medicaid incentive program. No EP may 
participate in both. 
 

33. Can an EP switch 
between the Medicare 
and Medicaid EHR 
Incentive Programs? 

All EPs may change their EHR incentive program election once, but such change in 
election must occur before the end of calendar year 2014. 
 

34. Over how many years 
will an EP receive 
payments? 

Medicaid EPs may participate for a total of six years and may not begin receiving first 
year payments any later than the end of calendar year 2015. 

35. Is my practice eligible to 
receive Medicaid 
incentive payments? 

Incentive payments are not made to practices, but to individual EPs who meet all 
program eligibility and requirement criteria. 

36. Can I receive the 
maximum allowable 
incentive payments if 
they total more than the 
cost of purchasing my 
EHR system? 

Yes. The incentives are not based on the cost of purchasing EHR technology. As long 
as you meet all necessary requirements for qualifying for incentive payments, you 
may receive the maximum allowed amount regardless of what your EHR technology or 
implementation costs were. 

37. Do I have to register with 
CMS before I can enroll 
with Medicaid? 

Yes. Everyone needs to register with CMS first and select the state from which they 
wish to receive their Medicaid incentive payment.  EPs can select to participate in 
either Medicaid or Medicare, not both. 
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38. If I have a group 
practice, how will I 
register and enroll the 
physicians in the group? 

When setting up a group, the following guidelines apply:  

• All participating members must agree to attest to patient volume as a group 
when they complete their individual enrollment process.  

• All providers that are to be part of the group must be registered with CMS for the 
EHR incentive program.  

• All practitioners in the group/clinic must have some Medicaid encounters during 
the period of time being attested to.  

• If your group will be using the group patient volume methodology as a proxy for 
the EPs in the group, all Medicaid encounters can be used, even encounters with 
non-eligible providers.  

• If an EP chooses not to participate in the group/clinic, the encounters generated 
by that EP are still used in the calculation for that particular group/clinic. The EP 
cannot use those encounters for calculating volumes for another practice or 
individually.  

 
The group will need to appoint one person to act as the designated lead who will 
enroll the group and its members at the state level. Then the individuals will attest to 
the group volumes and other criteria to complete the process. 

39. I am a dually eligible 
hospital and have already 
received a Year 1 
payment from Medicare. 
Can I still do AIU for 
Medicaid? 

Yes. Once you have received a payment from Medicare attesting to meaningful use, 
you are “deemed” a meaningful user and are automatically eligible to receive a first 
year AIU payment from Medicaid as well. Medicare meaningful use payment 
information will be transferred to Medicaid to verify that meaningful use has been 
met. All EHs will still be required to report Medicaid volume each payment year in the 
Medicaid program. In subsequent years, attesting to meaningful use in Medicare will 
suffice to meet the meaningful use requirements for Medicaid EHR incentives. 

40. Can I receive more than 
one incentive payment 
each year? 

Only one incentive payment is allowed each payment year but it is possible that an EP 
may qualify for two payment years within the same calendar year between AIU and 
the first meaningful use period. If an EP is applying for a 2012 payment during the 
specified grace period (Jan-March 1, 2013) and using volume from 2011, then one 
payment can be received in 2013. Then the EP can apply for their first meaningful use 
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payment in 2013 using any 90-day period within 2012 (using the EHR system for 
meaningful use) and using patient volume from 2012.  

41. Do EPs have to 
participate in the Idaho 
Medicaid EHR Incentive 
Program in consecutive 
years to qualify for 
incentive payments? 

EPs do not have to participate consecutive years to qualify for the maximum Medicaid 
incentive payments; however, they must start by 2016 in order to participate. The 
last payment year for Medicaid is 2021.  
 

42. How will EPs know if they 
are chosen for an audit? 

EPs will be notified with a letter from the Department indicating they were chosen for 
an audit. 

43. How do you decide who 
will be audited? 

Providers who are selected for audit meet certain risk categories that flag them for 
audit. 

44. Are EHR incentive 
payments subject to 
audit after the payment 
has been received? 

Yes. All payments are potentially subject to audit. 
 

45. Who is subject to EHR 
incentive payment 
audits? 

Any EP or EH that has received an EHR incentive payment is subject to being audited.  
 

46. What will be reviewed 
during an audit? 

You or a representative will be required to supply the documentation used to complete 
your application for AIU and/or meaningful use payments. 

47. What happens after an 
on-site audit is 
conducted? 

The Department will give the provider a summary of findings and, if necessary, direct 
the provider to pay back any incentive payments. 
 

48. If I disagree with the 
audit findings, what 
should I do and who 
should I contact? 

You will receive an audit results letter that will give you information about appeal 
rights and an explanation about who to contact.  
 

 


