Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans
Español    About Us    Contact Us  

Idaho Child Care Program (ICCP)

At the beginning of each month, parents and their child care provider will receive a "Notice" in the mail explaining how much ICCP expects to cover.  Providers will get a notice for every ICCP family whose children they care for. The information on these notices is important because it will tell parents and providers what the Department anticipates paying child care for the month and what the parent must pay.

Both parents and providers must tell the case case worker who sent the notice if the information on the notices is not correct. Parents and providers can help make sure payments are correct by reporting any changes as soon as they know about them.

Notices providers receive at the beginning of the month will have the following information:

  • The month the payment is being made for;
  • The name of each child in the family being cared for;
  • The amount the provider is charging to care for each child;
  • The amount covered by the ICCP for each child; and
  • The amount the family must pay, the difference between the provider’s charges and the ICCP’s payment (the co-payment).


When the payment is made, providers will receive a detailed explanation about how much was paid for each child. This will be different from a notice because it will list all of the payments made for each child in the provider’s care.The case worker must know certain information from both the parents and the provider to make a correct child care payment.


  • Changes in the rates being charged for each child in an ICCP family; and
  • When a new ICCP child is enrolled or when an ICCP child leaves the provider’s care.

The following changes must be reported to the Child Care Resource and Referral Agency within 10 days of when they know about the changes:

  • Any change in the status of a child care license (if one is needed);
  • Any change in the status of a CPR/First Aid Certificate;
  • A change in the address where child care is being provided;
  • A change in the number of children the provider is caring for and which of those children are related to the provider;
  • When child care occurs in the provider’s home, the provider must report changes in who is living in the home; and
  • Changes in the fees the provider charges.
must report changes to both the Child Care Resource and Referral Agency and the case worker. Providers must report the following changes to the case worker within 10 days of when they know about the changes:


Reporting Requirements



If providers receive more money than they are entitled to because they failed to report a change, they must return it to the Department of Health and Welfare. The following situations may cause the overpayment:

  • Failing to report a change in costs of care;
  • Not caring for the child; or
  • Misrepresenting their charges.

Consequences of Fraud

Fraud occurs when a parent or a provider purposely misrepresents information in order to get payments they are not entitled to receive. When a parent or a provider commits fraud, they must pay back any payment they received. People who commit fraud will not be allowed to participate in ICCP for the following periods of time:

  • 12 months the first time;
  • 24 months the second time; and
  • Permanently disqualified for a third time.

The Department of Health and Welfare also may seek additional civil penalties through the court system.

Provider Qualifications


Information for Providers

Rights and Responsibilities

As a provider, you have the right to:

  • Decide how much to charge for your services so that you can meet your business needs.

You are responsible to:

  • Let parents see their children at any time;
  • Let parents talk to whoever is caring for their children during your regular business hours;
  • Sign the ICCP Provider Agreement;
  • Maintain your child care license or certificate if you are subject to licensing laws or ordinances;
  • Have and maintain a current certificate for Infant Rescue Breathing/CPR and First Aid;
  • Report when a change would disqualify you for ICCP;
  • Report a change that may affect the amount of the ICCP payment; and
  • Charge all families at the same rate for child care services.

You may not charge ICCP families more than you charge families who are not on ICCP. If you charge a higher cost to ICCP families in order to receive a higher payment, you would be committing fraud.

Payment Options


Providers may choose to have ICCP payments deposited directly into a bank account or to receive a paper check from ICCP. Providers should contact the Child Care Resource and Referral Agency to arrange for or stop direct deposit.

Tax Information


Roles and Responsibilities, H&W

The Department is responsible to administer the Idaho Child Care Program in a manner that is helpful for parents and providers. The Department:

  • Accepts applications for ICCP and determines if the family is eligible;
  • Processes child care payments to providers for eligible families;
  • Notifies both parents and providers of the ICCP payment amount; and
  • Processes changes reported by parents and providers in a timely manner.

Roles and Responsibilities, CCRR

Your Child Care Resource and Referral (CCRR) agency can help you to know what to look for when you select a child care provider. They also can help you match your child care needs with providers in your area.

To locate the agency nearest you, contact the Idaho CareLine at 1-800-926-2588 (TDD 208- 332-7205).

CCRR Agencies:

  • Help families locate appropriate child care;
  • Help current and potential ICCP providers meet ICCP and licensing standards;
  • Help providers complete ICCP Registration information and the ICCP Provider agreement;
  • Inform DHW of providers who qualify to receive ICCP payments;
  • Help providers improve the quality of child care programs and their business practices through technical assistance and training;
  • Help providers and their staff participate in training programs; and
  • If requested by either the parent or provider,help resolve problems between parents and providers.
The amount of money DHW pays to the provider will be reported to the IRS and the State Tax Commission on a 1099 form.

Providers should consult their tax preparer or a tax preparation agency to make sure that they are correctly estimating their tax liability and making quarterly payments as required.

Providers who wish to participate in the Idaho Child Care Program must meet the following requirements:
  • Licensure:
    Providers must complete the ICCP Provider Agreement form;
  • Provider Agreement:
    Providers must complete the Health and Safety Self-Declaration that is part of the Provider agreement. Providers must get and maintain a certificate for Infant Rescue Breathing/CPR and First Aid;
  • Health and Safety:
  • Inspections: Providers must have their home or the facilities where child care is provided evaluated for compliance with ICCP Health and Safety Requirements. The provider must comply with the inspector’s recommendations. This does not apply to care provided in the home of the child.
  • Providers must have and maintain a child care license if required by State, local or tribal laws;

    Information After Payment


    Provider Notice