Certification and Recertification

On this page, find out how to get paid to care for an adult Medicaid participant who lives with you, and access key resources relating to certification as a Certified Family Home (CFH) provider, along with enrollment as a Medicaid provider, authorization on the resident's plan of service, and recertification.

A multi-step process

There are multiple steps involved in getting started as a provider.


  1.     Complete and submit Application part A. 
  2.     Pay the $150 application fee. 
  3.     Attend a New Provider Orientation session. 
  4.     Clear a DHW criminal history background check. 
  5.     Certify in first aid and adult CPR by demonstrating skills to a live instructor. 
  6.     Complete the "CFH Basic Medication Awareness and Infection Control" course through an Idaho technical college. 
  7.     Undergo required home inspections (see Application part B for details). 
  8.     Complete and submit Application part B.
  9.     Pass an initial certification study to achieve your Certified Family Home Certificate.

Enrollment as a Medicaid provider

Contact Medicaid about the enrollment process. 

Authorization on resident's plan of service

Work with the resident's plan developer to become authorized.

Pay Application or Certification Fees
Call Central Revenue Unit at 208-334-5010
Man with cast on ankle sits on couch next to crutches
Report a Critical Incident
Adult pushing another adult in a wheelchair, looking at a book
Criminal History and Background Check
Apply for your DHW criminal history and background check as part of the certification process
Application forms

Below are links to the applications required to become a Certified Family Home. 

Recertification and renewal tools

You are required to recertify as a Certified Family Home Provider annually.  Below are tools that are required for the annual renewal and a checklist that will assist you in the annual survey when someone from the Department of Health and Welfare will come to your home to review that you meet all requirements to remain certified. 

Community Care Advisory Council

The Council is a forum for stakeholders in Residential Care or Assisted Living Facilities (RALFs) and Certified Family Homes (CFHs).
More information about CFH

Certified Family Homes (CFH) provide a safe, family-style living environment for adults who need some assistance with the activities of daily living, but do not require a more restrictive institutional setting. There are over 2,500 Certified Family Homes in communities across the state. 

Usually there are one or two adult residents in a CFH. Each resident has a tailored care plan designed to meet their individual needs and to ensure they have the opportunity to participate in community activities. The CFH is operated by a provider who has received the appropriate training and demonstrated the knowledge and experience to provide safe and effective services to the residents.