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2020-21 GUIDE TO IMMUNIZATIONS REQUIRED FOR SCHOOL ENTRY 

Preschool & Grades K-12  

REFERENCE  Section 39-4801, Idaho Code; Idaho Administrative Procedures Act (Administrative Code), IDAPA 
16, Title 02, Chapter 15 “Immunization Requirements for Idaho School Children.”  

 
INSTRUCTIONS  Post this guide on a wall or desktop as a quick reference to help you determine whether children 

seeking admission to your school meet Idaho’s school immunization requirements. If you have 
any questions, contact the Idaho Immunization Program at 208-334-5931 or visit 
www.immunizeidaho.com.  

 
IMMUNIZATION  To enter or transfer into Idaho public or private schools, children in preschool and grades K-12 

must meet minimum immunization documentation requirements below at registration and before 
REQUIREMENTS  attendance. No child shall attend school without documentation of immunization status.  
 

Additional vaccines recommended by the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices are not 
included in these minimum requirements. Parents and guardians should check with their child’s 
medical provider about additional vaccines that may be recommended for their child.  
 

MINIMUM IMMUNIZATION REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL ENTRY BY GRADE 

 Kindergarten1 - 6th 
Grade 

7th Grade - 11th Grade 12th Grade 

Children born after 
September 1, 1999 
through September 
1, 2005 must have 
a minimum of:  

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, and 
Rubella (MMR) 

(3) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, and 
Rubella (MMR) 

(3) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 
(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, 

Pertussis (Tdap) 
(1) Meningococcal 

(MenACWY) 

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, 
and Rubella (MMR) 

(3) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 
(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, 

Pertussis (Tdap) 
(2) Meningococcal 

(MenACWY)5 

Children born after 
September 1, 
20051 must have a 
minimum of:  

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, and 
Rubella (MMR) 

(4) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 
(2) Varicella (Chickenpox)4 
(2) Hepatitis A 

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, and 
Rubella (MMR) 

(4) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 
(2) Varicella 

(Chickenpox)4 
(2) Hepatitis A  
(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, 

Pertussis (Tdap) 
(1) Meningococcal 

(MenACWY) 

(5) Diphtheria, Tetanus, 
Pertussis (DTaP)2 

(2) Measles, Mumps, 
and Rubella (MMR) 

(4) Polio3 
(3) Hepatitis B 
(2) Varicella 

(Chickenpox)4 
(2) Hepatitis A  
(1) Tetanus, Diphtheria, 

Pertussis (Tdap) 
(2) Meningococcal 

(MenACWY) 5 

1. Preschool children need only be age-appropriately immunized with the required vaccines. 
2. DTaP: The 5th dose is not necessary if the 4th dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous 

dose. 
3. Polio: The 4th dose is not necessary if the 3rd dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous 

dose. For children born after 9/1/2005, at least one dose of polio should be given at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months 
after the previous dose.  

4. Varicella: History of chickenpox disease documented by a physician or licensed health care professional meets the requirement. 

http://www.immunizeidaho.com/
http://www.immunizeidaho.com/
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5. Children should have one dose of meningococcal (Men ACWY) vaccine before the 7th grade. A second dose of Men ACWY is 
required prior to admission into the 12th grade. However, if a child received their first Men ACWY vaccine at age 16 years or older, 
no additional MenACWY doses are needed for 12th grade admission.  

 
 

EXEMPTIONS  Idaho law allows parents and guardians to claim an exemption for their child from immunization 
requirements for medical, religious, or other reasons. A medical exemption requires the signature 
of a licensed physician and certification the child has a medical condition which prevents him or 
her from receiving required vaccinations. Exemptions for religious or other reasons can be 
documented on the form provided by the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare available at 
www.immunizeidahoschools.com or parents and guardians may claim a non-medical exemption by 
providing a signed written statement to school officials that includes the vaccines the child is 
exempted from, the child’s name, and the child’s date of birth. Schools should maintain an up-to-
date list of students with exemptions for use in determining exclusions during an outbreak.  

 

CONDITIONAL 
ADMISSION  

The Schedule of Intended Immunizations Form is required to document the intended immunization 
schedule of a child who has not received all required immunizations for school entry. To be eligible 
for conditional admission, a child must have received at least one dose of each required vaccine 
and currently be on schedule for subsequent immunizations following the intervals listed below. 
Failure to receive still-needed doses of required vaccines as indicated on the Schedule of Intended 
Immunizations Form can result in exclusion of the child from school until the child’s record is back 
on schedule.  

 ABBREVIATED CATCH-UP IMMUNIZATION SCHEDULE1  
(for full version, visit www.immunizeidaho.com)  

Vaccine  
Minimum  
Age for  
Dose 1  

Minimum Interval Between Doses  

Dose 1 to Dose 2  Dose 2 to Dose 3  Dose 3 to Dose 4  Dose 4 to Dose 5  

Hepatitis B  Birth  4  weeks   8  weeks2    
DTaP  6 wks  4  weeks  4  weeks  6  months  6  months3  
Polio  6 wks  4  weeks  4  weeks  6  months4   
Hepatitis A  12 mo  6  months     
MMR  12 mo  4 weeks     
Varicella  12 mo  3 months     
Meningococcal 
(MenACWY) 

11 yrs 8 weeks5    

1. To enter the 7th grade, students are required to have one dose of Tdap; because a child must have received at least one dose of 
the required vaccine to be eligible for conditional admission, Tdap is not included on the Idaho Conditional Admission to School 
form.  

2. Hepatitis B: Minimum age for the 3rd dose is 24 weeks and at least 16 weeks after first dose. 
3. DTaP: The 5th dose is not necessary if the 4th dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous 

dose. 
4. Polio: The 4th dose is not necessary if the 3rd dose was administered at age 4 years or older and at least 6 months after previous 

dose. Four or more doses of IPV can be administered before age 4 years when a combination vaccine containing IPV is used. 
However, a dose is still recommended at or after age 4 years and at least 6 months after the previous dose.  

5. Children should have one dose of meningococcal (Men ACWY) vaccine before the 7th grade. A second dose of Men ACWY is 
required for admission into the 12th grade. However, if a child received their first Men ACWY vaccine at age 16 years or older, 
no additional MenACWY doses are needed for 12th grade admission. 

 
DOCUMENTATION All children must present a valid immunization record to school officials, unless an exemption is 
claimed.   

What is it? A valid immunization record is an electronic medical health record, an immunization 
registry document, or a written immunization certificate confirmed (signed, stamped, or provided 

https://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Health/IdahoImmunizationProgram/SchoolandChildcare/SchoolRequirements/tabid/3785/Default.aspx
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on official letterhead) by a licensed health care professional which states the month, day, and 
year each immunization a child has received was administered. A record with check marks 
instead of dates or stating only “up-to-date,” “all requirements met,” or “series complete” is 
inadequate and should not be accepted. The record must show that all required vaccine doses 
have been received and minimum ages and intervals have been met. Laboratory proof of 
immunity to a disease for which a vaccine is required is valid and meets the requirement for that 
disease. For the varicella vaccine requirement, a statement by a licensed health care 
professional indicating the child has had chickenpox disease meets the requirement.  

Who must present it? Parents and Guardians of a child in preschool and grades K-12 must 
present documentation of immunization status.   

When must it be presented? Documentation of immunization status should be provided at the 
time of registration and before attendance for a child entering or transferring into preschool and 
grades K-12.  

What do schools do with it? School staff must carefully review immunization documentation to 
ensure all requirements have been met and retain a hardcopy of the documentation on file at 
the school.  
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Online Reporting Instructions 
2020-2021 School Immunization Report (SIR) 

 

 

As a security feature, the online reporting system logs users out after 15 minutes of inactivity.  Therefore, to help ensure 
your information is not lost while you are entering your school immunization report, we recommend that schools: 

1. Complete the report on the enclosed worksheet prior to attempting to submit your report online.   
2. Once you’ve completed the report on the hardcopy, login to the online reporting system and simply enter your 

numbers and submit the report.  
 

Please follow these instructions to submit your 2019-2020 School Immunization Report.   
 

LOGIN 
• Type https://sir.dhw.idaho.gov into your Internet address bar. 

 

• Enter your school’s username and password.  
 

 You CANNOT login with your IRIS username and password. 
 

• Select Login to access the report. 
 

EDIT PROFILE 
• Once you login, you will need to update your contact information and answer the 

school nurse questions. 
 If you are a school nurse dividing your time between multiple schools, 

please indicate the number of hours you work at the school for which you 
are completing the report. 

 

• Select Save after editing your profile to save your changes. 
• You will then be prompted to a brief questionnaire about vaccination rates and 

exemptions.  You will need to fill out the survey and then Save to move onto the 
next steps. 

  

SELECT GRADES OFFERED 
• Indicate which grades are 

offered in your school. 
 

• If a grade level is usually offered 
at your school, but there is no 
enrollment in that grade this 
year, indicate that the grade is 
offered and then enter all zeros when you complete the report for that particular grade. 

ENTER REPORT 
• Select Enter Report to complete the report 

for each grade level offered at your school. 
 
 

• You may login multiple times to work on 
your report. Once you have Submitted for 
all the grades offered, your report will be Submitted. 

 

 

https://sir.dhw.idaho.gov/
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KINDERGARTEN REPORT (example) 

Enter the total number of students who are Adequately Immunized, Conditionally Admitted, Exempted, Incomplete, or have 
No Record. The sum of these five sections must equal the Total Enrollment for that grade level.  
 

A. Adequately Immunized: Enter the total number of students with an immunization record on file at the school 
documenting that all required school immunizations have been received. 
 

B. Conditionally Admitted: Enter the total number of students with a valid Conditional Admission form on file at school.  
Conditionally Admitted students must have received at least one dose of each required vaccine and currently be on 
schedule for subsequent immunizations (meaning that no doses are currently due).  

 

C. Exemptions: Enter the total number of students with a valid Idaho School Immunization Requirements Exemption on 
file at school. 

• If a student has claimed an exemption, do not count the student in the overall total Adequately Immunized 
category - even if the student has received some vaccine doses.  You will be able to indicate the specific 
vaccines the student has exempted from in Sections G through L. 

 

D. Incomplete: Enter the total number of students meeting any one of the following conditions: 
• has received fewer than the required number of doses of a required immunization series and does not have 

the remaining required vaccine doses scheduled per the Conditional Admission process, or 
• has failed to continue to receive immunizations as provided on the Conditional Admission form, or 
• has received one or more doses at less than the minimum interval or less than the minimum age as 

recommended by the ACIP, or 
• has not received any doses of the required immunizations and does not have a valid Idaho School Immunization 

Requirements Exemption on file at school. 
 

E. No Record: Enter the total number of students without an immunization record on file at the school. 
 

F. Total Enrollment: Total number of students enrolled in the grade (Sum of A+B+C1+C3+D+E).  
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For Each Vaccine Type: enter the number of students who are Adequately Immunized, Conditionally Admitted, 
Exempted, Incomplete, or have No Record by each vaccine type. 
For example, if you have two kindergarten students who are Conditionally Admitted (one student for the 2nd dose of 
Varicella and the other student for the 2nd dose of Hepatitis A), here is how you would document this on the report:  

 Enter ‘2’ in Section B, Total Conditionally Admitted (see picture on page 4 of this document). 
 Enter ‘1’ in the Conditionally Admitted Categories in Section K, Varicella and in Section L, Hepatitis A.  

• The sum of each individual section (G, H, I, J, K, L) must equal the Total Enrollment number reported in F for 
Kindergarten. 
 

• The total number of students with No 
Record entered in Section E will need 
to match the number in each Vaccine 
Type’s No Record field. 
 

• Section K: Varicella (Chickenpox) 
 

o As with the other sections, the 
sum of all categories in Section 
K must equal the Total 
Enrollment number reported 
in Section F.  

 

o There are two exemption 
categories for Varicella.  View 
the exemption form for 
children with a Varicella exemption to determine if the exemption was claimed for medical, religious or other 
reasons OR claimed for chickenpox disease history not documented by a physician.  

 

• Select Submit Report once you have completed the report for Kindergarten. 
 

• Note:  Selecting Cancel before submitting will cause your data to be lost. 
 

REPORTING ERRORS 
• If there is an error in any submitted report, the report will re-appear on the screen with errors highlighted in red. 

 

• Correct the errors and select Submit. You will be unable to save the report if any errors remain. 

SUBMITTING THE REPORT 
• Once you have completed the report for each grade offered at your school, your report will be Submitted. 

Congratulations!  We recommend that you print a copy of the completed report for your records.  
 

 



 

STATE OF IDAHO 
SCHOOL IMMUNIZATION REPORT 

 
 

Report Period 
2020 - 2021 

Name of School School District # Type of School 
 
☐ Public 
☐ Private 
☐ Charter 

Date of Report 
/ / 

Name and Title of Person Completing the Report Phone 
(208)  -    

School Address, City State 
ID 

Zip County Email Address 

  
 Kindergarten First Grade Seventh Grade Tw elfth Grade 

A. Total number of ADEQUATELY IMMUNIZED students     

Total number of children with an immunization record on file at the school 
documenting that all school required immunizations have been received 

    

B. Total number of CONDITIONALLY ADMITTED students     

Total number of students that were Conditionally Admitted and are currently on 
schedule for subsequent immunizations 

    

C. Total number of students w ith an EXEMPTION on f ile at the school     

1. Total number of students with MEDICAL exemptions     

2. Of those students with a MEDICAL exemption, how many are exempt from ALL 
immunizations 

    

3. Total number of students with RELIGIOUS/OTHER exemptions     

4. Of those students with a RELIGIOUS/OTHER exemption, how many are exempt 
from ALL 

immunizations 

    

D. Total number of INCOMPLETE students     

Total number of students missing 1+ valid doses of a required vaccine and does 
not have the subsequent doses scheduled or has failed to follow the schedule for 
subsequent immunizations on the Conditional Admission to School: Schedule of 
Intended Immunizations form 

    

E. Total number of students w ith NO RECORD on f ile at the school     

Total number of students who have no immunization record on file at the school     

F. TOTAL ENROLLMENT     

Total number of students enrolled in each of the following grades (Sum of Sections 
A+B+C1+C3+D+E) 

    

G. DIPHTHERIA, TETANUS, PERTUSSIS (DTaP, DTP, DT, Td) 
5 doses required for children born after 9/1/1999 

  

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with DTaP 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
DTaP 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from DTaP     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of DTaP     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section  E) 

    

H. POLIO (IPV, OPV) 
4 doses required for children born after 9/1/1999 

  

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with Polio 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
Polio 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from Polio     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Polio     



 Kindergarten First Grade Seventh Grade Tw elfth Grade 

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    

I. MEASLES, MUMPS, RUBELLA (MMR, MMRV) 
2 doses required if born after 9/1/1999, otherwise 1 dose is required 

    

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with MMR 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
MMR 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from MMR     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of MMR     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    

J. HEPATITIS B 
3 doses required for all children 

    

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with Hep B 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
Hep B 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from Hep B     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Hep B     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    

K. VARICELLA (CHICKENPOX) 
                    2 doses required if born after 9/1/2005, otherwise zero doses are required 

    

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with Varicella 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
Varicella 

    

• Exempt – Exemption claimed for medical, religious or other reasons     

• Exempt – Exemption claimed for chickenpox disease HISTORY not documented 
by physician 

    

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Varicella     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    

L. HEPATITIS A 
                   2 doses required if born after 9/1/2005, otherwise zero doses are required 

    

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with Hep A 

    

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students conditionally admitted for 
Hep A 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from Hep A     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Hep A     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    

M. TETANUS, DIPHTHERIA, PERTUSSIS BOOSTER (Tdap) – Please note: Td does NOT meet this requirement 
                   1 dose is required for 7th grade – Conditional Admission is not available for Tdap as only 1 dose is required 

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately immunized 
with Tdap 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from Tdap     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Tdap     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 

    



 
1. This report is required by IDAPA 16.02.15. Idaho Administrative Code, Department of Health and  Welfare. 
2. The school should retain a copy of this report for its records. 

 
 

IMPORTANT NOTE 

School immunization reports MUST be submitted online at https://sir.dhw.idaho.gov. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

09/2020 

 

 Kindergarten First Grade Seventh Grade Tw elfth Grade 

N. MENINGOCOCCAL (MenACWY) 
1 dose is required for 7th grade – Conditional Admission is not available for Meningococcal as only 1 dose is required 
2 doses are required for 12th grade 

  

• Adequately Immunized – Total number of students adequately     
immunized with Meningococcal 

  
 

 
 

 

• Conditionally Admitted – Total number of students   conditionally 
admitted for Meningococcal 

    

• Exempt – Total number of students exempted from Meningococcal     

• Incomplete – Total number of students missing 1+ doses of Meningococcal     

• No Record – Total number of students with no immunization record (must match 
Section E) 
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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 
 
 

 
 

1. What are the minimum immunization requirements for school entry Kindergarten through 6th grade? 
To enroll  in or attend a public, private, or parochial school in Idaho, children born after Sept. 1, 2005 must receive the 
following immunizations: 5 doses of DTaP, 4 Polio, 2 MMR, 3 Hepatitis B, 2 Hepatitis A, and 2 Varicella. Visit 
ImmunizeIdahoSchools.com for the school immunization requirements for children born on or before Sept. 1, 2005. 

 

2. What are the 7th grade immunization requirements? 
Children admitted to the 7th through 12th grade must meet the following minimum immunization requirements in 
addition to school entry requirements: 

(1) Meningococcal vaccine (MenACWY) 
(2) Tetanus, Diphtheria, Pertussis (Tdap) booster 
 

3. What are the 12th grade immunization requirements?  
Children admitted to the 12th grade must meet the following minimum immunization requirements in addition to school entry 
requirements:  

 (2)  Meningococcal (MenACWY)  
However, if a child received their first MenACWY vaccine at age 16 years or older, a second MenACWY dose is not 
needed for 12th grade admission.  

 
4. What must an immunization record include to be considered valid? 
A valid immunization record must include the following information: 

a) the name of each required vaccine; 
b) the date (month/day/year) of each dose received; 
c) confirmation of all  doses by a l icensed health care professional (this could include records that are signed, 

stamped, on official letterhead or printed from an immunization registry such as IRIS). 
 

5. How can a student be conditionally admitted to school? 
To be eligible for conditional attendance, a child must have received at least one dose of each required vaccine and 
currently be on schedule for subsequent immunizations following the ACIP Catch-Up Immunization Schedule. 

 
6. Why isn’t Tdap and Meningococcal on the School Conditional Admission form for 7th grade? 
To enter the 7th grade, students are required to have one dose of Tdap and one dose of Meningococcal vaccine; because a 
child must have received at least one dose of each required vaccine to be eligible for conditional admission, Tdap and 
Meningococcal are not included on the Idaho Conditional Admission to School form for 7th grade. 

 
7. Are transfer students required to provide immunization documentation before being admitted into a new school? Yes. 
Before entry, all  children transferring from one Idaho school to another or from schools outside Idaho to an Idaho school are 
required to provide the new school with the appropriate immunization information. 

 
8. What about homeless students? 
Homeless students are l ike any other student in your school. They are also required to have immunization records. The 
McKinney-Vento Homeless Assistance Act (re-authorized Dec. 2001) offers guidelines to assist you. 

a) The school selected shall immediately enroll the child/youth in school, even if the child or youth lacks records 
normally required for enrollment, such as previous academic records, medical records, proof of residency or other 
documentation [Sec. 722 (g)(3)(C)(i)]. 

b) If a child or youth lacks immunizations or immunization records, the enroll ing school must refer the parent/guardian 
to the l iaison who shall help obtain necessary immunizations or immunization records [Sec. 722 (g)(3)(C)(i i i)]. 

ADMISSION/ENTRY 

http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Health/IdahoImmunizationProgram/SchoolandChildcare/SchoolRequirements/tabid/3785/Default.aspx
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/catchup.html
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1. What is IRIS? 
IRIS (Idaho’s Immunization Reminder Information System) is a statewide system designed to help families and 
healthcare providers keep track of immunization records. Schools can save time by using IRIS to look up and print copies 
of children’s vaccination records. 

 
2. How can I enroll in IRIS? 
You can enroll in IRIS by completing the online enrollment form. To locate the form, please visit 
ImmunizeIdahoSchools.com and complete the following: 

a) Select the IRIS Access link under Quick Links on the right side of the webpage. 
b) Click the Request an IRIS Account form for school staff in the center of the screen. 
c) Fill out all required fields marked with an asterisk (*) and click Submit. 
d) Your request will be processed within 5 calendar days. 

 
3. What should I do if I can’t log into IRIS? I’ve tried logging in and I’m getting a Validation Error that says, “Your 
account is not active at this time. Please contact your administrator.” 
IRIS now has a password reset feature, allowing you to reset your own password. To reset your password, click on the 
“Forgot Password?” button in the left-hand menu when you go to the IRIS login screen. For additional assistance with 
logging into IRIS, e-mail the IRIS Help Desk at iris@dhw.idaho.gov. 

 

4. I heard the Idaho Immunization Program will enter student immunization records into IRIS at no cost to my school 
– is this true? 
Yes. Schools may send student immunization records to the Idaho Immunization Program (IIP) to have the record 
entered into IRIS. Basic demographic information is needed to add students that are not already in IRIS. NOTE: It can 
take up to 28 days for healthcare providers to enter shot records into IRIS. Therefore, the IIP cannot update records for 
children who received their shots within the past 28 days. For records sent to the IIP, please allow 45 days for entry. 

 
5. I am using IRIS to figure out which students have already gotten a dose of the Tdap booster and Meningococcal 
vaccine. Some parents have told me their children received Tdap, but I don’t see this listed in IRIS. What do I do? 
In IRIS, Tdap is listed separately as Td and Pertussis (which likely explains why you couldn’t find Tdap on the child’s 
record). When using IRIS to determine whether a student has received Tdap, look to see if a dose of Pertussis is listed in 
the History section of the IRIS record. Remember, Td alone does not meet the 7th grade Tdap requirement. 

 

 

 
 

1. A parent has a partial record and/or statement signed by a physician stating, “All doses received,” “Complete,” “Up 
To Date,” “Primary series complete,” or other similar statements. Can this be accepted as proof of immunization? 
No. Statements regarding immunizations which do not contain complete dates for all doses received are NOT adequate 
for attendance. The parent should contact their health care provider and request a new record documenting all 
vaccinations and dates administered. 

 
2. What criteria are used to determine if a student is in compliance with Idaho’s school immunization requirements? 
In order to determine if a child meets the Idaho school immunization requirements, the following must be considered: 

a) the student’s age; 
b) whether the student’s immunization history indicates: 

i. verification by a medical provider (healthcare provider signature, health clinic stamp, IRIS record). 
ii. month, day, and year each vaccine was administered. 
iii. sufficient spacing intervals between doses. 

IRIS & CONSENT 

IMMUNIZATION RECORD REVIEW 

http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Health/IdahoImmunizationProgram/SchoolandChildcare/SchoolRequirements/tabid/3785/Default.aspx
mailto:iris@dhw.idaho.gov
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These variables make it difficult to describe all possible situations which a school might encounter in its efforts to 
maintain compliance with the regulations and limit the spread of vaccine-preventable diseases. If you have specific 
questions which cannot be answered by this guide, please contact the Idaho Immunization Program at (208) 334-6520. 

 
3. A parent is adamant that his/her child has been vaccinated, but cannot provide written documentation. Can the 
child be admitted into school? 
No. Children without immunization records cannot be admitted. It is the parent/guardian’s responsibility to have 
written documentation of each child’s immunization status. If the record cannot be located by the parent (or after 
checking IRIS), the child should be vaccinated in an age-appropriate manner with one dose of each required vaccine. 
The child may be “conditionally admitted” and the facility has the responsibility to follow up to ensure that written 
records or additional vaccines are received according to schedule. 

 
4. If a student already had 5 doses of DTaP before the age of 7 years, does he still need the Tdap booster required for 
7th grade? 
Yes, all students entering the 7th grade must receive the Tdap booster. It is a common misconception that adolescents 
don’t need the Tdap booster if they received a 5th dose of DTaP before turning 7 years old. 

 
5. What if a student already received a dose of Td, does s/he still need to receive the Tdap booster to meet the 7th 
grade requirement? 
Yes, the student must still receive the Tdap booster. Td vaccine, invented before Tdap, protects persons 7 years and 
older against tetanus and diphtheria. Td vaccine does not protect against pertussis and so does not meet the 7th grade 
school Tdap requirement. 

 
6. What if a child received a pertussis shot (Tdap or DTaP) before their 7th birthday? 
Immunization before the 7th birthday does not fulfill the 7th grade school requirement for Tdap, even if given 
immediately before the 7th birthday. 

 
7. Does the vaccine abbreviation or trade name on the student's record meet the Tdap requirement? 

 

Meets 7th Grade Requirement Vaccine When given? 
 

YES, meets the requirement. 

Tdap 
Adacel 
Boostrix 
DTaP or DTP* 

Given on or after the 7th birthday 

* DTaP or DTP licensed and recommended 
for children younger than 7 years of age. 

 
NO, does not meet requirement. 

Td 
DT 
DTaP or DTP given before the 7th birthday (usual age limit) 

 
8. What is the four–day grace period? 
This time frame allows schools reviewing student records to apply a four-day grace period for a student who received 
doses of a vaccine too early. Four days is the limit – vaccine doses given up to four days before the minimum interval or 
age can be counted as valid. Doses given five days or earlier should not be counted as valid and should be repeated. 
The four-day grace period is not to be used to schedule future doses of vaccine. It is to be used with discretion and may 
not apply to certain school immunizations. 

 
9. When should immunization records be reviewed to determine those students who are not in compliance? 
The time to first assess a child’s immunization status is upon entry into a school. At that time, a “log” could be 
established to serve as a reminder about children needing additional doses of vaccine at a later date. This would 
provide the facility with an easy method to determine those students “not-in-compliance” based on their own system. 
IRIS also provides reports of those who need immunizations. 
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10. Why must vaccines be repeated if received before the minimum age or interval? 
Children who receive vaccines before the minimum age or interval may not develop an adequate antibody response to 
the immunization. Therefore, even though a child physically received a “shot,” it may have been ineffective in 
protecting the child against disease. By consistently maintaining the minimum age and interval requirements for all 
vaccines, children are more likely to develop adequate immunity. 

 
11. What if a vaccine dose is considered invalid but the parent or healthcare provider insists the child is up-to-date? 
Check IRIS to confirm that the dose is considered invalid. If so, schools may use the Notification of Invalid Vaccination 
form to notify parents that doses are invalid. This form gives healthcare providers the option to: 

a) revaccinate the child; 
b) provide laboratory proof of immunity; or 
c) sign a waiver that according to the physician’s medical judgment, the invalid doses do not need to be repeated. 

If this option is selected, the form must be signed by a physician and include a medical license number. 

If any of these options are selected, the child may be considered adequately immunized for the invalid vaccine dose if a 
physician has completed and signed the Notification of Invalid Vaccination form. Maintain the completed form with the 
child’s immunization record. 

 
12. How does Idaho determine the required immunization schedule? 
Idaho’s school immunization requirements are based upon the “Recommended Immunization Schedule for Children and 
 Adolescents Aged 18 Years or Younger” published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). This 
schedule is developed from the recommendations of the Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices (ACIP). The 
ACIP includes representatives from both the public health and the private medical sectors, including the American 
Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) and the American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP). 

 
13. Where can I order blue student health folders? 
The Idaho Immunization Program supplies the blue student health folders at no cost to all schools. You may place a 
resource order online by visiting ImmunizeIdahoSchools.com and following these steps: 

a) On the right side of page, click on the link titled Resource Order Form. 
b) Select School & Childcare Resources and indicate the quantity of blue student folders you would like to order. 
c) Click Next. Complete the IIP Shipping Information form and click Submit. 

 
 

 
 

1. Are there any allowable exemptions? 
Yes, Idaho Code allows an immunization exemption to be claimed for medical, religious or other reasons. Medical 
exemptions will require a signature from a licensed physician and certification the child has a medical condition which 
prevents him or her from receiving required vaccinations. Optional exemption forms are available on the School 
Immunizations page of the IIP’s website: ImmunizeIdahoSchools.com. Religious/other exemptions can be in a signed 
statement by the parent. 

 
2. What happens to exempted or incomplete children in the event of a disease outbreak? 
In the event of a disease outbreak, unimmunized children are excluded from school until the outbreak is over, both for 
their own protection and for the protection of others. No exceptions are made during an outbreak, regardless of 
circumstances. 

 
 

 

EXEMPTIONS 

Contact the Idaho Immunization Program at (208) 334-6520 or visit ImmunizeIdahoSchools.com. 

https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html
https://www.cdc.gov/vaccines/schedules/hcp/imz/child-adolescent.html
http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Health/IdahoImmunizationProgram/SchoolandChildcare/SchoolRequirements/tabid/3785/Default.aspx
http://www.immunizeidahoschools.com/
http://www.immunizeidahoschools.com/
http://www.immunizeidahoschools.com/
http://healthandwelfare.idaho.gov/Health/IdahoImmunizationProgram/SchoolandChildcare/SchoolRequirements/tabid/3785/Default.aspx
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