FEE DETERMINATION SCALE

The amount paid for mental health services is determined using the Department’s “Sliding Fee

Scale.” After the adjusted income is calculated, the client or family percentage of the cost of mental

health services is determined according to household size.

Instructions: Navigate to the appropriate column based on the household size. Then use the

adjusted gross family income to determine which row and corresponding percentage will be client
responsibility.

For families with more than 8 persons in the household, please contact your Health and Welfare
office for the client percentage.
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Based on 2020 Federal Poverty Guidelines
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Source: Idaho Department of Health & Welfare; Mental Health webpage
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44,120
48,532
52,944
57,356
61,768
66,180
70,592
75,004
79,416
83,828
88,240
92,652
97,064

91,172 $ 101,476
95,136 $ 105,888
99,100 $ 110,300

$ 103,064 $ 114,712
$ 107,028 $ 119,124
$ 110,992 $ 123,536
$ 114,956 $ 127,948
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Adult & Children’s Mental Health

For more information, contact your

Regional Office:

REGION 1
Children: 208-769-1406
Adults: 208-769-1406

REGION 2
Children: 208-799-4440
Adults: 208-799-4440

REGION 3
Children: 208-459-0092
Adults: 208-459-0092

REGION 4
Children: 208-334-6800
Adults: 208-334-0894

REGION 5
Children: 208-734-1635
Adults: 208-736-2177

REGION 6
Children: 208-234-7900
Adults: 208-234-7900

REGION 7
Children: 208-528-5700
Adults: 208-528-5700

CENTRAL OFFICE
PHONE: 208-334-6997
FAX: 208-334-5738



FINANCIAL
RESPONSIBILITY
FOR MENTAL
HEALTH SERVICES

The Department of Health and Welfare
(DHW) uses state and federal funds to provide a
variety of mental health services.

The Idaho legislature has authorized DHW to
determine the financial responsibility of adult
clients and the parents of child clients.

Adult clients and parents of child clients are
responsible for providing this information when
filling out a “Fee Determination Form” prior to the
delivery of services.

Financial responsibility is based on income, family
size, and allowable deductions including the
following: court ordered obligations, childcare
necessary for employment, medical expenses,
transportation necessary for travel to work and
other specific destinations, extraordinary
rehabilitative expenses, and state and federal tax
payments.

ESTABLISHED FEES

The following chart provides an example of the
hourly fees for commonly billed services. For a
complete list of services and associated hourly fees,
please contact your local Department of Health and
Welfare office.

Fees for Common Mental Health

Services

Service Fee
Community Based Rehabilitative
Services (1 hour) $54.52
Community Based Group Skill
Training (1 session) $15.00
New Outpatient (1 hour) $146.80
Established Outpatient (1 session) $102.44
Psychotherapy (1 hour) $95.20
Group Psychotherapy (1 session) $22.25
Family Therapy (1 session) $95.20
BH Treatment Plan (1 hour) $45.40
Individual Respite (1 hour) $30.20
Group Respite (1 hour) $15.00
Peer Support (1 hour) $54.52
Case Management (1 hour) $48.36
Injection (each injection) $19.79
Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation (1 $102.00
Assessment)
Psychiatric Diagnostic Evaluation
with Medical Services (1 $125.00
Assessment)

Adult clients or parents of a child client are
responsible for the percentage that is determined
through the sliding fee scale. For example, if a
family of 4 earns $33,000 gross income annually
and they have $3,000 in allowable deductions
annually; the family’s adjusted annual income
would be $30,000. Using the adjusted annual
income on “Fee Determination Scale”, the family
would be responsible for 10% of the fee for
mental health services. If the individual received a
psychiatric diagnostic evaluation, the financial
responsibility would be $10.20.

DHW uses the following guidelines to determine
household income:

= For adults, only the earned and unearned
income of the individual applying for services
and the earned and unearned income of the
individual’s spouse is considered.

 For children, only the earned and unearned
income of the birth or adoptive parents and
the unearned income of the child for whom
services are being requested are considered.

= Income from SSI, SSDI, and adoption subsidy
is not considered in calculating family income.
The individual receiving SSI or SSDI is not
counted in calculating the size of the
household.

« The assets of the adult applying for services
and the assets of the parents of a child, for
whom services are being requested, are not
used in calculating household income.



