Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans
Español    Idaho.gov    About Us    Contact Us    Careers   
October 18, 2017

Lifestyle Change Program Details

If you have prediabetes, now is the time for action!
An Idaho Diabetes Prevention Program (DPP):

  1. Meets once a week for 16 weeks, and then once a month for eight months to maintain healthy lifestyle changes.
  2. All classes are led by a trained lifestyle coach in a group setting.  
  3. Learn about and practice healthy eating and physical activity habits that have been proven to reduce the risk of developing type 2 diabetes.
  4. Discuss topics such as healthy eating, increasing physical activity, reducing stress, problem solving, and much more.
Learn what to expect when joining a CDC-recognized lifestyle change program to prevent type 2 diabetes. 

http://www.cdc.gov/diabetes/prevention/lifestyle-program/experience/index.html


Find a Diabetes Prevention Program Near You!

Click below to find contact information for a Lifestyle Coach and enroll today.

Collapse All Expand All

Bingham Memorial Hospital

Where: 98 Poplar St. Blackfoot, ID 83221
Contact: Kelli Whiteus,MHE
Phone: 208-782-2937
Email: kwhiteus@binghammemorial.org 
This is a fee based program that provides scholarship opportunities. 

 

Treasure Valley YMCA

Where: Ada and Canyon Counties 
Contact:
 Mary Biddle-Newberry
Phone:
 208-344-5502 ext. 276
Email:
 Mary.biddle@ymcatvidaho.org  
This program is fee-based, but financial assistance and payment plans are available. 

Southwest District Health
Where:
 Adams, Canyon, Gem, Owyhee, Washington and Payette Counties. 
Contact: Juanita Aguilar, Lifestyle Coach
Phone: 208-455-5332 
Email: juanita.aguilar@phd3.idaho.gov 
This class is available in English and Spanish.  

Panhandle Health District

Where: 8500 N. Atlas Rd. Hayden, ID 83835
Contact: Natalie Colla, RDN, LDN, Lifestyle Coach
Email: NColla@phd1.idaho.gov
Phone: 208-415-5293

St. Mary's/Clearwater Valley Hospital & Clinics

Where: Clearwater, Idaho, Lewis and select portions of Nez Perce Counties
Contact:
 Laura Hollingshead, Lifestyle Coach 
Email:
 laura.hollingshead@smh-cvhc.org 
Phone:
 208-476-4555 ext. 8126
This program is free for those living in the service area.

North Canyon Medical Center

Where: Gooding, Lincoln, Jerome, Camas, Elmore, Twin Falls
Contact: Merri Ann King, RN, CDE or Sue Ormond, RD, LD, CDE
Email: merri.king@ncm-c.org or sue.ormond@ncm-c.org
Phone: 208-934-9886
This program costs $100 which includes 1 year of lifestyle training classes (24 in total) and all the handouts. It also includes 1 year membership at North Canyon Medial Center Fitness and Rehabilitation Center. Classes offered in Spanish and English
(North Canyon Medical Center Fitness and Rehabilitation Center fee is normally $300 per year!)

Public Health-Idaho North Central District

Where: Nez Perce and Latah Counties
Contact: Heidi Henson or Ryan Bender
Phone: 208-799-3100
Email: hhenson@phd2.idaho.gov or rbender@phd2.idaho.gov
This program is free for those living the service area.

 

Tri-State Memorial Hospital

Where: Nez Perce County and Clarkston Washington
Contact: Jennifer Raykovich
Phone: 509-751-0229
Email: jraykovich@tsmh.org 
This program is free for those living the service area.

YMCA

Where:  McCall and surrounding areas

Contact: Mary Biddle-Newberry 

Phone: 208-344-5502 ext. 276 

Email: Mary.biddle@ymcatvidaho.org    

This program is fee-based, but financial assistance and payment plans are available.  

Gritman Medical Center

Where: Moscow-Latah County
Contact: Nancy Kure, Lifestyle Coach
Email: dpp@gritman.org
Phone: 208-883-6230

Clearwater Valley Hospital and Clinics

Where: TBD
Contact: Laura Hollingshead, Lifestyle Coach
Email: laura.hollingshead@smh-cvhc.org
Phone: 208-476-4555 ext. 8126
This program is free for those living in the service area.

Shoshone Family Medical Center

Where: Shoshone Family Medical Center at 113 S. Apple St., Shoshone, ID 83352
Contact: Pam Lowder
Email: manager@shoshone.net
Phone: 208-886-2224
This program is a fee-based, but payment plans are available.
 

Where: Fort Hall
Contact: Sunny Stone
Phone: 208-238-5432
Email: sunny.stone@ihs.gov 
Where: 229 S. 7th St. Saint Maries, ID 83861
Contact: Jordon Groce, Lifestyle Coach
Phone: 208-245-7605
Email: jgroce@bchmed.org

Click here to view a map of all Idaho Diabetes Prevention Programs! 

Idaho Prediabetes Infographic