Welcome to PREVENT THE SALE! A training resource for Idaho tobacco retailers and their employees.
Here Idaho tobacco retailers and their employees can get valuable education and training support to help comply with all aspects of Idaho's "Prevention of Minors' Access to Tobacco" law.
Idaho businesses that sell tobacco products must comply with Idaho's "Prevention of Minors' Access to Tobacco" law and must train employees about minors and tobacco. By law, any employee who sells tobacco must sign a Department of Health and Welfare form indicating that they understand the state law's requirements.
It is illegal to sell tobacco products to persons under 18 years of age. Tobacco products include, but are not limited to:
- Loose leaf tobacco
- Smokeless tobacco
- Tobacco papers
- It is against the law to sell, distribute or offer tobacco products to a minor. Check photo identification to determine if a person is less than 18 years old.
- If you sell tobacco to someone under age 18, you personally can be fined $100.
- State inspections can occur at any time to ensure compliance with the state law. Inspections occur without warning.
- Unless a store sells only tobacco products, all tobacco sales must be vendor-assisted. This means customers of all ages must ask a clerk to access tobacco products for them. (A store is exempt from the vendor-assisted rule if 75% or more of the store's total merchandise is tobacco products.)
- Cigarettes must be sold only in their original manufacturer’s packaging. Vendors cannot sell open packs, loose cigarettes, or any other promotional pack if it's not packaged for sale by the manufacturer.