Idaho state law requires the department's Newborn Screening (NBS) Program to test all infants born in Idaho for a number of rare but treatable disorders using a dried blood spot specimen. To make sure newborn screening tests are performed, Idaho Administrative code designates practitioners as the responsible party for specimen collection. The definition of "practitioner" includes physicians, nurses, and midwives who deliver or care for infants in hospitals, birth centers, or homes.
Practitioners are integral to newborn screening in that they are responsible for collection and handling of specimens for every infant in their care, as well as parent education and prompt action on incomplete or abnormal results referred to them. If an infant is affected, the practitioner’s actions and decisions to ensure rapid evaluation and appropriate treatment can have lifelong implications for the infant and the family.
NEWBORN SCREENING PROGRAM IS CHANGING LABORATORIES
The Newborn Screening Program (NBS) is changing our contracted laboratory to improve timeliness of screening and to be more responsive in our newborn screening activities.
What you need to know:
- New laboratory - Washington State Laboratory
- Effective date - April 1, 2021
- Collection kit cost increase ($58.20 for single kit and $116.40 for double or triple (NICU only) kits
- Screening process will remain the same: lance newborn’s heel and place on filter paper
- There will be 5 blood spots instead of 4
- Newborn screening providers will have the option to view newborn screening results through secure remote review (SRV). However, please note: Due to the expected high volume of requests to the SRV, Washington state NBS requests that each facility only assigns one staff member to request access for SRV for April 2021. Once all Idaho facilities have one representative established with SRV access, we can onboard additional users for interested facilities (starting in May). We estimate a two-week turnaround time for processing requests. For more information on registering for SRV, scroll down to “Provider Resources” to find supporting documents.
For newborn screening program related inquiries, call the Idaho Newborn Screening Program: 1-208-334-5962
To get newborn screening results for patients with NO clinical concerns, please send a fax with the following information to 208-334-4946:
- First and last name of the child
- Child’s date of birth
- Mothers first and last name
For Health Care Providers requesting expediated laboratory results for patients WITH clinical concerns (that show as pending on SRV) call: 866-660-9050
The Idaho Newborn Screening Program strongly encourages providers to order newborn screening kits online through Access Idaho.
Please allow 2-3 weeks for the delivery of kit orders.
If you have any questions about your order, contact the Maternal and Child Health Section at 208-334-5962 or email IdahoMCH@dhw.idaho.gov.
NOTE: The State of Idaho mandates two tests. See IDAPA 16.02.12- Newborn Screening for details. Babies can be screened up to 6 months of age. The specimen of a baby older than 6 months will only be accepted by written request from the public health lab.
Washington newborn screening kit options
Washington State Public Health Lab (newborn screening)
1610 NE 150th St
Shoreline, WA 98155
Toll free: 866-660-9050
Lab receiving hours
Monday through Friday: 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday and Holiday (except Thanksgiving): 8 a.m. – noon
Sunday and Thanksgiving: Closed
* Newborn screening specimens received by 10 a.m will be set up for testing the same day.
Click the button below to create and print a shipping label for shipping specimens to the laboratory.
Collect a specimen for the newborn screening test before giving blood to an infant. If there’s a transfusion before the first newborn screening specimen is collected, it can affect results for galactosemia, biotinidase deficiency, and hemoglobinopathies.
Parents who choose to not have newborn screening
- Review refusal form with parent
- Review newborn screening brochures provided by the Idaho Newborn Screening Program
- Have parents sign form stating their intention to refuse screening