Board of Health & Welfare

The Board of Health and Welfare helps guide the department as it promotes and protects the public health and well-being of Idaho residents.

The board is a rulemaking and advisory body that can adopt, amend, or repeal rules and standards of the department. Executive and administrative powers of the department belong solely to the director of the department.

The board's seven citizen members are appointed by the governor and each represent one of seven geographic regions of the state. They are the voting members of the board. The board also includes the department director, a representative from the governor's office, and the chairs of the Health and Welfare committees in the Idaho Legislature.

Public Comment

Members of the public are invited to comment on proposed rules, which are published in the Administrative Bulletin. Comments are carefully reviewed by board members before they make a final decision on an issue.

All board meetings are open to the public, as stipulated by Idaho's Open Meeting law. Anyone who wants to discuss an issue directly with the board at a regular meeting may request time on the agenda at least 30 days before the meeting.

A distant view of a gorge and waterfall in Idaho
Board of H&W Annual Report
View the annual report for the Board.
Department of Health & Welfare
Pete T. Cenarrusa Building

450 W. State St.
Boise, ID 83720
United States

Board members
Board MembersAddressPhone/FaxRegionAppointedTerm Expires
Tom Stoeser (R)4752 W. Riverbend Ave.
Post Falls, ID 83854
W - 208-773-6745111/01/202202/12/2027
Wendy Jaquet (D), vice-chairPO Box 783
Ketchum, ID 83340
H - 208-726-3100501/31/201301/01/2025
Debbie Hetherington (R)451 N. Alto Via Court
Boise, ID 83712
C - 208-961-3200401/16/202301/16/2027
Timothy Rarick, PhD (R), chair283 Rebecca Ave
Rexburg, ID 83440
W - 208-496-4034
C - 208-206-0004
Chad Henggeler  (R)5675 Sunset Road
Fruitland, ID 83619
H – 208-452-3605
C – 208-412-5076
Dr. Dan Schmidt (D)267 Circle Dr.
Moscow, ID 83843
C: 509-336-1436202/15/2302/15/27
Linda Hatzenbuehler, PHD (D)306 S. 7th Ave.
Pocatello, ID 83201
H - 208-232-6998
C - 208-221-6306
Dean L Cameron, DHW interim director, secretary450 West State St. 10th Floor
Boise, ID 83720-0036
W - 208-334-5500 11/15/2023 
Sen. Julie VanOrden425 S. 1100 W.
Pingree, ID 83262
H - 208-6844052
W - 208-332-1346
District 3012/1/2022 
Rep. John Vander Woude5311 Ridgewood Road
Nampa, ID 83687
H - 208-888-4210
W - 208-332-1037
District 2212/1/2022 
Sara StoverIdaho State Capitol Building
P.O. Box 83720
Boise, ID 83720
W - (208) 334-2100   
Department of Health & Welfare Staff
Lisa Hettinger
Deputy director
Miren Unsworth
Deputy director
Jennifer Palagi
Deputy director

United States

Tom Donovan
Deputy Attorney General
Aj McWhorter
Public Information Officer
Lynn Overman
Liaison to the Board
Meeting information

For 2024: Mar. 26, May 16, Aug. 15, and Nov. 14

Meeting dates are subject to change in accordance with Idaho open meetings law.

Meeting dates are generally set in the November meeting for the next year. 

Meeting AgendasMeeting MinutesOther Board Materials