Lead poisoning can still be a problem for Idaho’s children. There is evidence that children eligible for Medicaid may be at higher risk for lead exposure. Elevated blood lead levels have been linked to developmental disabilities and other serious conditions in children, including reduced IQ, hyperactivity, nervous system, and kidney damage. Children under the age of six are at highest risk.
The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid (CMS) mandates that all Medicaid eligible children be tested for lead at 12 and 24 months, or between 24 months and 21 years of age if they have not been previously tested. If a child has a blood lead test with a result of 5 µg/dL or greater, providers are required, under Idaho law, to report the case to the Idaho Department of Health and Welfare, Office of Epidemiology and Food Protection, or their local health district.
Idaho Medicaid providers can be reimbursed for lead testing by a venous blood draw or capillary test.
- Lead Test CPT: 83655
- Routine Capillary Collection CPT: 36416
The Department of Health and Welfare (DHW) will provide a LeadCare Analyzer machine to providers at no cost. This machine tests for lead by a simple capillary test ("finger prick"). The results are available immediately.
If you are a provider and have questions about the program or would like to request a LeadCare Analyzer, call 208-364-1835.