Idaho TSE Facility Designations

A TSE designated center is a facility that has voluntarily applied for a TSE designation after meeting criteria in the current TSE Standards Manual set forth by the Idaho Time Sensitive Emergency System Council. A facility is approved for three years and must remain in compliance with the designation criteria and rules of the Idaho TSE System Council. 

Facility Designation Levels
Level I Trauma CenterComprehensive trauma care and partnership with a medical school
Level II Trauma CenterComprehensive trauma care
Level III Trauma CenterEmergent trauma care with basic OR services
Level IV Trauma CenterEmergent trauma care; typically without basic OR services
Level V Trauma centerStabilization and transfer of trauma patients
Level I Stroke CenterComprehensive stroke center
LEVEL II+ STROKE CENTERPrimary stroke care plus mechanical thrombectomy capable
Level II Stroke CenterPrimary stroke care
Level III Stroke centerStabilization and transfer of stroke patients
LEVEL I+ STEMI CENTERComprehensive STEMI care plus cardiogenic shock capable
Level I STEMI CenterComprehensive STEMI care; able to perform PCI
Level ii stemi centerStabilization and transfer of STEMI patients


Map of Idaho with Public Health Districs outlined and TSE Designated Centers noted
TSE Designated Centers
Use our interactive GIS map to explore the various TSE designated centers, air medical stations, and the range between facilities and stations.
TSE Standards Manual 2023-1 Edition
View the current designation criteria.

TSE Designated Centers by Region

Region 1 North
Benewah Community Hospital - Saint Maries   
Bonner General Hospital - SandpointLevel IVLevel IIILevel II
Boundary Community Hospital - Bonners FerryLevel IVLevel IIILevel II
Kootenai Health - Coeur d'AleneLevel IILevel IILevel I
Shoshone Medical Center - Kellogg   
* indicates pending application from facility   
Region 2 North-Central
Clearwater Valley Hospital - Orofino Level IV    
Gritman Medical Center - Moscow Level IV    
St. Joseph Regional Medical Center - Lewiston Level III Level II  
St. Mary's Hospital - Cottonwood Level IV    
Syringa General Hospital - Grangeville Level IV    
* indicates pending application from facility      
Region 3 Southwest
Cascade Medical Center - Cascade   
Saint Alphonsus Eagle Health Plaza - Eagle   
Saint Alphonsus Nampa ER - 12th Ave   
Saint Alphonsus Medical Center - NampaLevel IIILevel IILevel II
Saint Alphonsus Regional Medical Center - BoiseLevel IILevel ILevel I+
St. Luke's Elmore Medical Center - Mountain Home   
St. Luke's Fruitland Medical Plaza - Fruitland  Level II
St. Luke's McCall Medical Center - McCallLevel IV  
St. Luke's Meridian Medical Center - MeridianLevel IVLevel IILevel I
St. Luke's Nampa Medical Center - NampaLevel IV Level II
St. Luke's Regional Medical Center - BoisePeds Level IILevel ILevel I
Valor Health - Emmett   
Weiser Memorial Hospital - Weiser   
West Valley Medical Center - CaldwellLevel IIILevel II 
* indicates pending application from facility   
Region 4 South-Central
Cassia Regional Hospital - Burley Level IV Level III Level II
Minidoka Memorial Hospital - Rupert     Level II
North Canyon Medical Center - Gooding      
St. Luke's Jerome Medical Center - Jerome      
St. Luke's Magic Valley Regional Medical Center - Twin Falls Level III Level II Level I
St. Luke's Wood River Medical Center - Ketchum Level IV    
* indicates pending application from facility      
Region 5 Southeast
Bear Lake Memorial Hospital - MontpelierLevel IV  
Bingham Memorial Hospital - BlackfootLevel IV  
Caribou Memorial Hospital - Soda SpringsLevel IV  
Franklin County Medical Center - Preston   
Nell J. Redfield Memorial Hospital - Malad CityLevel IV  
Portneuf Medical Center - PocatelloLevel IILevel II+Level I
Power County Hospital District - American Falls   
* indicates pending application from facility   
Region 6 East
Challis Area Health Center - Challis      
Eastern Idaho Regional Medical Center - Idaho Falls Level II Level II Level I
Idaho Falls Community Hospital - Idaho Falls Level III Level III Level II
Lost Rivers Medical Center - Arco Level IV    
Madison Health - Rexburg Level IV    
Salmon River Clinic - Stanley      
Steele Memorial Medical Center - Salmon Level IV   Level II
Teton Valley Health Care - Driggs Level IV Level III Level II
* indicates pending application from facility      
TSE Standards Manual

For your convenience, the current TSE Standards Manual has been broken down by subsection of each level's criteria.

Utilize the clarification documents for insight on what may be required/accepted for compliance of designation criteria.

If you have any questions about the criteria and/or clarification documents, contact the TSE program staff at

Level ILevel ILevel I+
Level IILevel II+Level I
Level IIILevel IILevel II
Level IVLevel III 
Level V  
Tables Criteria  


clarification documents
Trauma Clarification Document
Stroke Clarification Document
STEMI Clarification Document



Below are the TSE applications for facility designation. The Idaho TSE System has two ways to apply for a designation:
1. An abbreviated application for a facility with a current accredited body verification for trauma, stroke, or STEMI.
2. A full application for a facility currently NOT designated by another entity.

Refer to the current TSE Standards Manual on pages 7-13 for information on the application process, or reference the application the facility will be applying for. If you have any criteria and/or application questions, contact the TSE program staff at

- If using an accredited body verification (ACS, SCC, DNV, etc.) for any TSE designation level.
- Or, if renewing by state verification for Trauma Level IV-V, Stroke Level I-III, and STEMI Level I-II.
      Use the IGEMS User Guide to assist you through your online application process.
- If you are a first-time applicant, or renewing for Trauma Level II-III.
initial applicationsrenewal applications
Level II Trauma Level I StrokeLevel I+ STEMILevel II Trauma
Level III TraumaLevel II+ StrokeLevel I STEMILevel III Trauma
Level IV TraumaLevel II StrokeLevel II STEMI 
Level V TraumaLevel III Stroke  


Other Resources

Trauma Activation Fee

The resources below were compiled to assist your facility in determining your trauma activation fee (068X.) If you have any trauma activation fee reimbursement questions, contact Program Manager Melissa Ball

Developing a Trauma Activation Fee Trauma Activation Codes FAQ CMS 068X (pg. 12)


PIPS Program

The purpose of a Process Improvement and Patient Safety (PIPS) program is to improve patient outcomes. Use the guide below to develop a PIPS program within your trauma program.

Developing a PIPS Program
Fee Schedule
designation type Designation Fee 3yrs/Annual TSE site survey fee
Level I Trauma $45,000/$15,000 $3,000*
Level II Trauma $36,000/$12,000 $3,000*
Level III Trauma $24,000/$8,000 $3,000*
Level IV Trauma $12,000/$4,000 $1,500*
Level V Trauma $3,000/$1,000 $1,500
Level I & Level II Pediatric Trauma $36,000/$12,000 NA*
Level I Stroke $21,000/$7,000 $3,000*
Level II & Level II+ Stroke $12,000/$4,000 $3,000*
Level III Stroke $1,500/$500 $1,500
Level I & Level I+ STEMI $21,000/$7,000 $3,000*
Level II STEMI $1,500/$500 $1,500
* indicates fee is not applicable if using a national or acceptable state verification.