Promoting and protecting the health and safety of all Idahoans

Licensing & Certification (Consumers' Page)

                    Licensing and Certification

Welcome to the Division of Licensing & Certification web page.  This Division licenses and inspects healthcare facilities and agencies including hospitals,  nursing homes,  rural health clinics, ambulatory surgery centers, renal dialysis centers, Residential/Assisted Living Facilities, Developmental Disability Agencies, and Residential Habilitation agencies.  Periodic inspections ensure Idaho citizens receive safe, high quality care. The Division manages the certification program for Certified Family Homes. 

These web pages offer information on overviews, application processes, regulatory requirements, best practices, educational resources, and links relating to specific groups of health care providers/suppliers.  The information serves as a means for communicating changes related to the healthcare community.  In most cases, the information centers on operation and management of a facility/agency rather than on a person within that facility/agency.  These pages contain links to find various health care providers and the results of routine, periodic, oversight, and complaint inspections/investigations for the provider types.  There are multiple types of providers with two primary groups:

State & Federal Programs (Federally Certified and/or State Licensed Providers)
- include: ambulatory surgery centers, end stage renal disease centers, home health agencies, hospice agencies, hospitals, intermediate care facilities for individuals with intellectual disabilities, outpatient physical therapy/speech pathology, psychiatric residential treatment facilities,  and rural health clinics.  Certification for these provider types refers to certification by the Centers for Medicare/Medicaid Services (CMS).  Information is provided for locating these provider/agency types as well as the results of facility inspections - also known as surveys.

State-Only Programs (State Licensed/Certified Providers)
- includes: certified family homes, developmental disabilities agencies/Residential Habilitation, and residential care/assisted living facilities.  Certified refers to certification by the state to operate a facility/agency.  Information is provided for locating these provider/agency types as well as the results of facility inspections - also known as surveys.

To help determine if/when elder care may be appropriate, and the type of setting, please visit the Elder Care Checklists web site.


Provider Lists & Survey Results

State Licensed-Only Providers

Federal Certification and State Licensure Providers



Licensing & Certification:
(208) 364-1959
State-Only Programs:    

Certified Family Homes   

(208) 334-0711


(208) 364-1959

Children's Residential Licensing 

(208) 364-1900

Residential Care/Assisted Living

(208) 364-1962

State & Federal Programs:  

Bureau of Facility Standards-Administration
 (208) 334-6626
      Option 5 
Fire Life Safety & Construction
      Option 3
Nursing Homes       Option 2
All Other Provider Types       Option 4
 For all Licensing & Certification Programs:
 Mailing Address:            

<Program title>
PO Box 83720        
Boise, ID 83720-0009

 Physical Address:

3232 Elder Street
Boise ID 83705 


Got feedback about our website? Help us make it better by completing a survey. It'll only take a couple of minutes.